We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akropolis Restaurant & Bar

Akropolis Restaurant & Bar
Laganas, Greece
26950 51595
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 63 Restaurants in Laganas
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

If your fed up with the NORMAL holiday food go to the Akropolis, its fantastic. It is great Greek food and drink...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    19
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Akropolis Restaurant Laganas”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

this restaurant s food is really quite good, unfortunately the service and staff attitude is terrible.
we arrived and decided to order the Greek dishes described only as Mezedes a selection of Greek starters and main courses. About 15 mins after we arrived and had already ordered 3 young women arrived and sat at the table beside us. we had ordered a bottle of water and one of wine which arrived. about a third of the water was poured into each glass. we then noticed that one glass had a crack in it. the waiter removed it and replaced it with an empty glass so straight away we lost some of the water with no replacement. Next thing the young women got their starter and there was still no sign of ours. When we asked about it we had two different excuses , first was that everyone arrived at the same time.then we were told there was lots to cook for our starter. This was rubbish as we had 4 dips ,stuffed vine leaves, spinach filo , etc which would have already been pre made. Eventually after 45 mins the starters arrived ,but no explanation of what was on the plate. the same happened with the main course, so we don't know what it was. The ladies sitting next to us had 2 courses and paid and left before our main course was served. Would recommend you steer clear of this restaurant despite the fact that the food is quite good, (but not the best in
Laganas)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We visited the Akropolis based on its Trip Advisor rating as #1 restaurant in Zakynthos. Please note - the map on TA was wrong! So.... after half an hour looking for it(and nearly giving up!), we finally got there, and we were not disappointed.
Calamari starter was excellent and nicely presented with a garlic mayo, it is so easy to do Calamari badly, but it was not rubbery at all! Mains of moussaka and zakynthian chicken followed. You get the option of veg or salad, and roast potato, jacket, chips or rice. Both meals were delicious, and always a good sign - the veg were not your typical overcooked, bunged in the microwave mush job, it was all fresh & again very nicely presented. Service was prompt, attentive but without being intrusive. The bill came to €23 including a half a litre of house wine - If the bill had been €33 it still would have been exceptional value! To top it off, we were offered a lift back to our hotel, we declined as we were heading out to the strip, but what a nice touch! I have a feeling I'll be eating here most nights...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Fantastic food, lovely surroundings, even get picked up and dropped back off after your meal. Very friendly.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Worth a look in”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Me and my girlfriend came to Akropolis on the strength of good reviews we'd read on trip advisor and we weren't disappointed. The setting was pleasant, the menu was varied, but with it's own personality, and the staff we're attentive. I had breaded garlic mushrooms as a starter which they managed to present with some finesse despite it being a relatively simple dish which is a good sign, and it tasted great. For my main I had the Sole Special which seemed unique to Akropolis and was excellent.

Although not particularly unique or different, Akropolis take the traditional Greek resort restaurant format and do it very very well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akropolis Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Laganas, Zakynthos
 
Laganas, Zakynthos
 

Been to Akropolis Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akropolis Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.