We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, lovely family!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aegean View Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aegean View Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aegean View Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   On the way to Ancient Thira, Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 75 hotels in Kamari
Darlington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, lovely family!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Me and my wife have just returned home from our stay at the Aegean view, and how we miss this hotel.
We have never experienced a family run hotel before, and have always chose to stay in the bigger ones, buy our eyes have now been well and truly opened.
Tasos and his family are so lovely, and they treated us like members of their family. Panos on the bar, and the crazy Alexis in reception, make this hotel what it is. Add to this, great rooms, lovely food and views to die for, and it is a must for your holiday.
We have made great new friends, and will definitely return.
Tasos, you are a very bad man!!
Alexis, keep practicing the cocktail making!!
Maria, happy 16th birthday on Friday!!
Dave & Lorraine


Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    28
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place is set back from the resort up a small hillside. This could be off putting for some but we quite liked it and it's only a 10 minute walk if you're generally fit and well. Plus you great views over the Aegean!
We didn't get the room we expected on arrival but the staff were great and weren't happy until we were, which was refreshing. This place reminds me of Greek holidays years ago, family run, really friendly and helpful (ordering our chinese take away when we were too tired to go out for example) but generally simple in style. The room was a great size for 3 sharing, air con did the job and we enjoyed our drinks each evening on the balcony.
My only tip for them to make it an 'excellent' rather than 'very good' Would be free WiFi and a small evening menu for when you don't feel like going down the hill. Excellent value, will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped in the Aegean view for a week & thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel is in a beautiful secluded spot, however it is only a 15 minute walk to the beach and the shops & restaurants. The staff are very attentive, polite & friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them, they really did make our holiday a pleasant stay. We had a beautiful spacious room with a jacuzzi which was so relaxing. The hotel is spotlessly clean & the maids cleaned our room every day. The breakfast was lovey with plenty of choice. We had our lunch at the hotel on a couple of occasions & that was lovely too. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel & although we do like to try different places I would definitely go back to this hotel. Santorini is a beautiful island.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, West Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is an amazing hotel set on the hillside overlooking the resort of Kokkari. We had a large, clean room with a terrace overlooking the pool and the sea. A fantastic spot to enjoy a cold beer while watching the sunset.
A good pool, we never had any problems getting a sun lounger and often ate lunch at the snack bar.
The resort itself (along with long pebbly beach) is ten minutes walk down the hill. Be warned - the climb back up after a meal and a few glasses of wine can be hard work!
If you are looking for a relaxing location with great views then this is the place.
In Kamari we found the tavernas away from the main beachfront strip (including Taverna Danas) were better value but you pay for the view!
A trip to the capital, Fira, is easily done by bus but if you want to visit Oia for the 'famous' sunset then an organised trip would probably be better than the scrum on the local buses (you have to change at Fira and it's very chaotic!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Second visit to this hotel and will be back again. Lovely family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble. Everything spotless with rooms cleaned every day. Beautiful location with sea views. Lovely pool and reasonably price drinks and snacks from bar. The BBQ is absolutely amazing and should not be missed. Can't wait for next year.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its our third time at the hotel and tomorrow i will be booking to go back next year .Such a lovely family .Rooms very clean and lots of room .A must is the Greek night lovely food and lots of dancing.

A tip... try and go to the open air cinema its great .

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice and all have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

What a beautiful place to have stayed! The views! The name of the hotel tells it all. On one side we had this mountain which was awesome. There is not another building in front of the Aegean so one looks out and sees this amazing sea! We would have been content to just sit in our balcony to look at the sea. And at night, the starry sky was heavenly. Spotless large rooms with kitchenette. One has breakfast poolside and the food was delicious and plentiful. We walked to the beach (about 15 minutes), and at night when Kamari was lit up, we enjoyed ourselves by taking in the night life. My husband and I are active people so walking is not a problem; however, when we were leaving we did ask the owners if they could take us to the bus depot which would have been an easy 10 minute walk were we not pulling luggage. They did at no extra charge. The owners were very friendly and kind and it is obvious they take great pride in their property. This is an ideal place for an extended stay. There are markets all over so one can take full advantage of the kitchenette. Don't look any further for a room. This is an excellent place to stay!

Room Tip: I don't think I a mistaken when I say there is not a room without a sea view, but ask for it any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aegean View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegean View Hotel

Address: On the way to Ancient Thira, Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#14 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegean View Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Aegean View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aegean View
Aegean View Kamari
Aegean View Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegean View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.