We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hippocampus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Hippocampus to your Saves list
Hotel Hippocampus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value and experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Me and my friends loved staying at this hotel. The pictures we saw on their site didn't really do it justice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us great advice on where to visit and eat. The place was a nice balance between charming and modern. We were very comfortable. Great place to stay for families. Quick walk to the beach. We fell in love with Kamari! Incredible value for the money!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
61
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Myself and four friends spent five very enjoyable nights at Hippocampus. A very pretty white building with a lovely pool and only 3 mins walk from the beach. The pool was great and we never had any trouble getting a sun bed.
I stayed in a triple room which was a good size, very clean, with a lovely bathroom and a balcony. However a couple of my friends had a room in the older part of the hotel, where the rooms were not as new and the bathroom a little out dated.
The breakfast buffet was decent and the greek yoghurt delicious. The owners were lovely, but only spoke a little English. My only negative comment is that we had arranged an airport transfer over email which never arrived, when we called to them they instructed us to get a cab. This wasn’t a big deal. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orebro, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Very good hotel with a perfect location. Resturants and beach just around the corner. Nice and clean rooms. Beautiful pool-area. But , best of all ! Maria and her fantastic family who always take care of you. Hope really I will se you again !

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

My boyfriend and I recently stayed at the Hippocampus Hotel for nice nights. Its a family run business, each and every member were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is literally a two minute walk from the beach, shops and restaurants.

The rooms are spacious, bright and clean. The beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms were just as high a standard. The pool was big and quiet in the day, plenty of loungers for everyone. The hotel is really pretty and its clear that a lot of love has gone into it by its owners.

I would most certainly here again if I returned to Santorini.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

Me and my wife had been looking for visiting Santorini for a long time and i think i managed to pick the most suitable hotel for us.
Very clean, quiet, relaxing with friendly atmosphere, we managed to chill by the (big) pool beside all those beautiful flowers and trees.
Also, the sea is so close that you walk to it, the people that run the Hippocampus are very cool and friendly and finally there was free wifi internet connection. :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Cambridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

l stayed at this hotel with my daughter and grandaughter for my other daughters wedding on 16.05.10. We had a wonderful time the rooms had recently been refurbished bathrooms were good, looked like a spa. The pool is quite large and cleaned every day. Lots of shrubs and plants, plenty of sun loungers very relaxed atmosphere great for chilling out. l would certainly like to come back again. All of the hotel staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. Breakfast was o.k. certainly plenty for me. No problems with mosquitos or any other insects. Some others in our party stayed in Perissa and were bitten quite badly. l would say this hotel is good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

May in Santorini!!!

The best period.We were excited with our reservation to Hippocampus!Renovated, good spot!
Our double room was very clean, nice decorated (wallpaintings),perfect big beds,modern bathrooms with hot water all the time!!!
The breakfast was really good, in the yard,friendly and helpfull staff.
Huge , clean pool with lots of trees and flowers surrounded lying there all day.... Only two min walk to the beach.Lots of restaurants and shops.
Kamari is the best place to stay,close to everything.Thank you Toula and Tasos.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hippocampus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hippocampus

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#17 Family Hotel in Kamari
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hippocampus 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kamari, 50m away from one of the most beautiful beaches on the island of Santorini lies our hotel. Rooms tastefully-decorated, fully-equipped (a/c, fridge, safebox, hair dryer), buffet breakfast, big pool, garden, private parking, internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hippocampus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hippocampus Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hippocampus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.