We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation, not so great accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zephyros

Save Saved
You added Hotel Zephyros to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zephyros
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damoteiou, Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 75 hotels in Kamari
Constanta, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great vacation, not so great accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Zephyros Hotel in Kamari during the last week of August 2012. We decided to book this hotel based on comments found on this site and on others in the same category. And we were quite excited about it and believed it will be one of the best choices, considering the fact that it was going to be our fifth Greek "experience". We only had breakfast at the hotel because we wanted to be able to experience the delicious food at the taverns. And that was the perfect decision!
Our room was on the first floor, just above the reception desk, facing the main street of the resort. And for this reason, it was really uncomfortable. No matter the time of day or night, it was noisy due to the traffic. We tried keeping the balcony door closed. It didn’t make any difference because the joinery was made of wood and didn’t offer too much noise tightness. Also, the air in the room would get quite hot. The air conditioner was oriented towards the bed and our effort to redirect the wings wasn’t of any help. We also tried sleeping with the bathroom door open, but a rather unpleasant smell came out and the water from the toiled kept on flowing. So, in terms of possibility to rest, we were unhappy with it.
The room was spacious, cleaned daily, towels changed daily, too. Bed linen changed once. Nothing to comment from this point of view. Unfortunately, our radio didn’t work. We reported this to the front desk, we were told that it will be checked, but nothing changed. Last year we stayed at Mediteranee Hotel, in Zakynthos (Tsilivi), we had a radio and it was super. The tv channels were not a better choice either. Only 4 Greek channels, one French and BBC World. Internet access was available only in the lobby via wi-fi or a hotel laptop.
As for the breakfast, it was ordinary for a 3-star hotel. There were some meats for sandwiches, feta cheese, vegetables, ever-present and delicious olives, hard boiled eggs, omelette, which was made on the spot with ingredients chosen by us, by a nice lady. And pancakes with 6-7 types of jams of which I recommend the pomegranate one. Exceptional! Of course there were cereals, milk, coffee and tea. And let's not forget the white bread. Phenomenal!!! The breakfast garden was pleasant, in the shade of trees specific to Greece and its climate. But a little bit untidy, with dried plants...
The beach, the sea, resort animation, taverns, shops... all at their best! The evening walks were our delight!
So, we returned with mixed opinions about the accommodation. Maybe we won’t go back to this hotel, but we most definitely would go back to visit Santorini, Kamari, Fira, Oia... Gorgeous island!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
37
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Manos & George thank you again for wonderful stay.We had room #1 as usual for our stay.Service by all was the very best.Rooms were allways very clean and down in bar number 1. Would not hesitate in recommending We travel to Santorini each year from AUSTRALIA and ONLY stay here.Boys Ya So from Theo & Robin-- Sydney, Australia.

Room Tip: Room #1 front room on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voluntari, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed there for 7 nights in July it was wonderful it is a family business and everyone is very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very home-like every room has AC. The breakfast was excellent, and the Owner of the hotel gave us some hints where to eat in Kamari during our stay there and where to go and what to do so that our stay in Santorini be one of the most pleasant, do not hesitate to ask and don't doubt the advice given.The rooms were cleaned daily and they changed towels etc. The swimming pool is a very nice place to spend those afternoons when is is too hot by the seaside and the restaurant is very good and does not have big prices.When i will return to Santorini deffenetly this is the place where i will find accommodation. Thant you very much Zephyros !!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel don't have sunshine all day long, so it wont be that hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I found this hotel through the travel agency and couldn't be more happy with it.
The room was very clean (it was cleaned daily and the towels changed every 2 days), the staff friendly, the owners always with a smile on their faces.
The food (breakfast) was good and plenty (especially the pancakes were a daily delight)
The pool is nice and the hotel is quite near to the beach (somewhere around 300 m).

Room Tip: they only have a few rooms with see-side view but you can also settle with a room facing the pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just return from our honeymoon in Santorini (yesterday). We stayed at Zephyros hotel and we enjoyed every minutes there (few, we were busy visiting). The personal was very nice, the view was impressive. The room was cleaned every day, the food was very good and plenty. It was a good choice for staying there and I must say the recommendations found on the internet helped us to make this choice. So I return this service to future visitors. We have been in all the trips that were organized and we loved it. Everything was impressive: the mountain, the streets and houses, the views, the water!!! I very much regret we weren't to Ancient Thira (and it was soooo closed), because I forgot that Mondays is closed. So it is for the next time!

Room Tip: Rooms at the street are nosy, but with wonderful view!!! Every morning started with a breathless pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Nice hotel. Rooms are clean and very picturesque. The room that we stayed (upper floor) was really big and nice, with huge balcony and nice view on the pool.
Good pool area. Rich and delicious breakfast with homemade pancakes and fresh fruits
The owners were so nice and kind people!

Close to the beach (like 5-7 minutes walk) and to all the restaurants, cafes ets on Kamari beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulcea, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed at Zephiros from 24th July 2012 till 31 July 2012. The hotel was exactly what we expected. Very good location, very clean rooms with A/C and Refrigerator, courteous and friendly staff. Breakfast was OK for a *** Hotel, cereal, yogurt, sausage, cheese, coffee, etc.
An excellent Quality/Price ratio.
Valeriu & Elena Furtunov

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Zephyros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zephyros

Address: Damoteiou, Kamari 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Zephyros 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zephyros is traditionally designed - Cycladic architecture, with spacious rooms, a welcoming atmosphere, a great location and very reasonable rates. The hotel is a complex of buildings and provides fully equipped rooms with air condition, fridge, hair dryer, satellite TV,direct dial phone, private shower, balcony, safe box and radio. In the hotel there is swimming pool and jaccuzi, in the middle surrounded by a beautiful flower garden. You can have free Internet access and free Wi-Fi connection at the lobby! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Hotel Zephyros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zephyros Hotel Kamari
Hotel Zephyros Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zephyros, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.