We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most pleasant surprise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Santellini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Santellini to your Saves list
Hotel Santellini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kamari, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A most pleasant surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

A small sign saying Santellini Hotel on a lamp-post directs you to what seems to be a narrow alley making me think "What am I going into here"? In fact I/we went into one of the best run hotels we have ever been in. The "alley" opens up, passing the reception on the left to overlook the lovely pool area, as other reviews have stated, spotlessly clean, the rooms too are spotless. Yianni, his delightful wife Martha and Leah could not do enough for you. You are not a guest here you are treated as a dear friend. The buffet breakfast is just what you need to start a great day in this special island. Two wonderful weeks here, especially the Santellini Hotel, I did not want to come home. As "Arnie" says "I'LL BE BACK", just go and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are not just clean but also quiet at night but I can see this hotel getting more and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
121
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Martha and her staff spend very long days looking after their guests every need. The standard of cleanliness is second to none and the little touches make everything rather special - my nightdress beautifully arranged on my bed.! Martha's homemade jams are delicious but her bitter orange marmalade is fantastic . The hotel is tucked away behind some shops and appears as a little jewel when you go through the gates. Wonderful peace and quiet. Santorini is a place to forget your problems, relax and enjoy but I still have a conscience about riding on a donkey all the way up the steps at Fira in the intense heat. Martha we hope you all have a great time in Edinburgh in November but I think you'll have to change your wardrobe - it's going to be cold! Thank you for a great week - it wasn't long enough BUT we'll be back. Mandy and Margareta

Room Tip: Any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

What an Amazing Place, absolutely beautiful in it's simplicity.My first visit, but will definately be returning. Beautifully clean, Martha hotelier amazing, really friendly, cannot do enough for you to ensure you have a wonderful stay.
Great maid service, they never stop working and are all really friendly. Fantastic pool area that is meticulously cleaned everyday.
Lovely breakfast, and Martha bakes her own breakfast dessert. Try her orange pie it's fabulous.
I have done a couple of Greek Islands Kos and Rhodes, but this holiday was just the best, did not want to come home. Kamari the perfect place. Oia absoutely beautiful, I recommend you take the Sunset Cruise. Fabulous! Now back in Yorkshire and guess what rain.
Liz and Mick Lloyd North Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Ask for the studio appartment on ground floor a little bigger than than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks in Santorini, staying in the Santellini, been to many Greek hotels and this must be one of the very best.
Owner Martha so nice and friendly and couldn't do enough to make the stay special.
Cleaniest hotel in Greece! Even the sunbeds were scrubbed - yes, scrubbed everyday!
Breakfast was well presented, with fresh fried eggs on a Saturday.
Lovely pool area, a real oasis, very peaceful and quiet.
Roll on next year.......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I'm not going to rattle on I'll be quite quick. Just spent my third visit to this hotel and stayed a week.

1. Loving, spotlessly clean family run hotel.
2. Helpful, attentive and caring.
3. Lovely clean rooms, with lovely breakfast.
4. Clean resort, amazing friendly island, lovely places to visit and see all around by bus or car.

ANY NEGATIVE REVIEWS ABOUT THIS HOTEL FOR ANY REASON I WOULDN'T BELIEVE AT ALL.

If you want a wonderful holiday or honeymoon you can expect both here. All my visits to Greece over the years, mainland and island you will never expect a more reasonable, first class run hotel.

I will be back most certainly for a fourth visit soon.

Thank you Martha and Giannis and all staff for a most memorable and wonderful stay yet again.

xxxx

Room Tip: 301 if honeymooners, they can advise you on family rooms, couples for just two or three. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Introduction
We stayed at this hotel from 10th July – 24th July 2012
Much has been said about this excellent hotel & therefore this review largely tries to go beyond many of the similar comments already made.
We have visited many Greek islands and Santorini stands out for the following reasons:
• Outstanding views (making it a popular wedding destination).
• Pretty cobbled street main town of Fira (with its lovely sunsets).
• A reliable, reasonably priced, air conditioned good standard bus service.
• Mosquito repellent was not required
If your top priority is not fine sandy beaches and pretty coves then this island should go to the top of your Greek island list of places to visit.

Hotel
As mentioned by other reviewers expect this hotel to be well located in the resort with guest happiness and cleanliness being a top priority. The owners Martha and Yianni are very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient and will make your stay a memorable one for all the right reasons. The beds are firm but we had no trouble sleeping and extra pillows were provided immediately on request. There is as far as I am aware a television and hair dryer in every room. The rooms overlooking the pool on the second and third floors have the best views but no one we spoke to was disappointed with the room they had been allocated.
Air conditioning was not an added extra to our bill but the safe will cost 1.5 euro per day. The hotel can provide sun bed towels at a very reasonable low cost (check direct with hotel for further details). This could save weight and create extra space in your case.
Don’t expect an adult only pool area as occasionally children and young teens disrupt the ‘oasis of calm’ that largely exists in this area.
As previous reviewers have said an excellent continental breakfast is provided that can be eaten indoors or outside by the pool.
Overall we highly recommend this hotel.

Resort
Kamari is a well located resort with a long stretch of black pebble/shingle beach. Expect to find a beach umbrella and two sunbeds costing usually 6 or 7 euro for the day. The long stretch of beach is backed by a pedestrian only road that has a wide selection of shops, bars, tavernas/restaurants, supermarkets. Most of the best meals we had were however in the back streets of the resort with two of our favourites being the Koralli and Lolos restaurants. The best Greek salad we had was on the beach front at Kings restaurant. I can also recommend a 40 mins (40 euro) back and leg massage by the lady who has a bed located right next to the Kings restaurant. Walk past the Kings restaurant to the end of the beach road and walk a further 100 metres along the beach and you come to a very pleasant bar/cafe with its own small pool that can be used by customers. Next to this bar/café is a large hotel (with a large pool) where we found it nice to escape the main beach promenade area for a quite cocktail on an evening.

A few things we enjoyed!
If you feel energetic walk up the zig zag road to the top of the mountain behind Kamari and visit the site of ancient Thira (2 Euro per person entry). There was a refreshment van at the top and great views + good information provided on boards around the historic site.
Walk from Fira along the edge of the old volcano to Firestefani and further to Imerovigli for fantastic views. Fira is the main town of Santarini and has nice shops, restaurants, bars etc set close to spectacular views and often located in narrow cobbled streets. Not so famous as the town as Oia for its sunsets but still very impressive.
Hire a quad bike (15 – 25 euro per day) to explore the local area around Kamari e.g the old village of Mesagonia is only a few kilometres outside of Kamari).
Have a nice holiday!
Ivan & Carol

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pargas, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Is this perfect or not? Must be. This was our second family vacation at Santellini. Our neighbor was there for the 8th time in a row. And similar stories keep piling up at the pool.
The owner couple Giannis & Martha and the staff take good care of you, they are friendly and the rooms are in top notch condition 7 days a week (my personal favorite service item).
Breakfast is standard and keeps you fit for a healthy lunch later on in the seaside restaurants nearby.

We dormed at the poolside family mansionetta (with a loft bed), quite and especially suitable for families.

This is place where you don't say Goddbye's, it's more of See you again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Santellini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santellini

Address: Kamari, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#18 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santellini 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Santellini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santellini Hotel Kamari
Hotel Santellini Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Santellini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.