We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgettable Moments in Venus Kamari Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Venus Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kamari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Venus Beach
Save
You added Venus Beach to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“unforgettable Moments in Venus Kamari Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

i was there in 24 th of september 2010 , the truth is that i can't forget the place , actually it became a habit to check reviews of the places i had ben .
i decided to add a review for this amazing spot .
my room was on the top floor in the Main building where the lobby and restaurant.
Actually i booked this Hotel based on Good rates and the H.board Basis to save Money .as
most of kamari hotels seemed to be the same from pictures and i wasn't interested in t.advisor.

The Food was greart , became addicted to the mashed greek olive salad and the beach was amazing with direct access from the Hotel , the front Boardwalk over kamari beach with its unique shops and bars was really memorable and very romantic .

this is the place that i wish to go Many Times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    15
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Santorini is one of those place where much has been written and likewise with the Venus Spa Hotel. We choose September to avoid the high season which was a good choice. Also the temperature late in September is still hot in the day but the evenings and nights are cool. So let's start with the Venus. Very clean, very tidy and the staff are very helpful. It's a good place to stay and Kamari is a great village for a relaxing time. The pictures actually on the web do not in fact do it justice. Its a well designed Hotel and for a Thompson venue is better than most. There has been lots of notes written on problems with rooms and mix ups. We found out that if you book Thompson, they have a different agreement with the Hotel than the information they provide on booking. But, ignoring Thompson who are not a very good tour operator, the Venus is a good Hotel. We have already written a note on one of the restaurant called Salado which is a real gem of a place is you like good basic Greek Cooking. Alexander's is another good choice. We got a bit fed up with being hassled to come into some of the restaurants and learnt those who did not push you were in fact the better ones. We stayed clear of the seafront food as it was a little more expensive and the food was not as good as in the town. We travelled around using the local buses which were all on time though a bit chaotic. Price wise for a few Euros you can go anywhere on the island. Fira is a good place to visit especially the view of the bay by the Cathedral. Fira is very much a tourist destination - there are some backstreets and art galleries which are good if you head up to the top of the town. Oia is a must as it's the village seen in most of the pictures you see of Santorini. From Fira just catch the bus which again is very cheap and runs every 20 mins or so. We also avoided the vehicle hire, one due to price and the second due to the tight roads. The bus service was fine.
Top Tip, choose your restaurant carefully and don't be hassled.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the hotel Venus Beach for one week in September 2012 having been invited by friends for their wedding. If you are expecting a 4 star hotel then you will be very dissapointed as this is more of a 2 star hotel!!! The overall impression of the hotel was good but there was little to convince me to return. We stayed in room 332 which had a good sea view and was kept clean and tidy throughout our stay however, there were no standard extras which you would expect from this standard of hotel. There was no kettle, iron or ironing board and we had to ask for more pillows as well as clean beach towels which were not changed daily!!! The hotel advertises satelite TV in the rooms but this was not the case as they only had one english channel which was the BBC World Service. The staff in the bars and restaurant were friendly but the reception staff were quite frosty which was not a good impression as front of house. We stayed half board so had plenty of opportunity to test the food which was ok but repetitive and there was no air conditioning or fan to keep you cool so the room became very hot and uncomfortable. The beach was ok but not good for children or pensioners as it is quite windy and the drop from the beach helped to create quite a big swell which crashed quite heavily onto the beach and making it difficult to get back out.

Room Tip: Ask for a high level room and sea view as many of the rooms overlook the pool or face onto a brick w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lancashire.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stayed 2 weeks 28 Aug / 11 Sept 2012. Bed and Breakfast.
Loved Santorini, beautiful island, good public bus services, and amazing places. Have been to many Greek Islands and love them all, but this island is very special!
Kamari very good,the hotel is sited right in the middle on the front, it has lovely bar on the sea front, with a nice restaurent opposite, the young lady who serves in the bar at night, is charming, very friendly and a good worker, sorry do not remember her name but a great asset to the hotel.
Cash machine next to bar, also office for booking trips, very handy, with car / quad rental near front entrance.
Hotel beach opposite has good sunbeds with mats and shade plus a girl to serve drinks etc, as stated beaches are stony, pebbles, black etc but not as bad as we thought, i.e. better than Teneriffe. Beach Guards and flag system etc, No cost if in the Hotel.
Kamari front is very nice, with numerous restaurents and bars along the full length of the front.
The Blackstone Restaurent just back from the front, near the small bus station, was our best eating place, great food, family run, live music and dancing some nights, but nice people as well.
The Sky Bar on the front, run by Alex was really nice for cocktails, very upmarket but friendly place.
The Hotel was good but few silly negatives, we were in room 325 and were a bit surprised at how small it was with minimal hanging or storage space, we went to reception to move rooms but the reception desk were very frosty, bit surprised, as I had e-mailed prior to ask for a good room etc,so we left it.
We were bed and breakfast, and found no gripes with the breakfast, on par for greece, so o.k.
Pool area very nice, clean and good pool bar, always got beds o.k.
Same thing on beach, no problem with beds.
Clean towels each day, also beach towels provided. The cleaners in this hotel are very good, they clean and wipe everything in sight, I know as I watched them every day working very hard.
Bed was very comfortable, we asked and got extra pillows, plus air con was very good, extract fan in bathroom as well.
Tip! take ear plugs for night time,makes a big difference, due to strange door handles you HAVE to slam the door when going out to get it to close!
The Thompson Rep, John was very good, one of the best !

Room Tip: Make sure you know the size! some are bigger than others, but the small are short on storage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

we stayed in this hotel for 1 week in august 2012. It is a very clean hotel. The receptionists are friendly and helpfull. The room we stayed in had a sea view and next doors pool view. breakfast was just about passible. the one downside as we have children is the amount of steps. when you have a pushchair. its a pain in the bum. we counted 60 steps we had to use from our room to the pool. so not a good hotel for pushchair users or disabled people.there is no lift. also the childrens pool advetised is not a childrens pool. its a jet pool with a big sitting area all inside of the pool. our daughter is 3 and it was to deep for her and dangerous with the step inside of it. we used next doors pool instead at kamari beach. there are not enough beds around the pool and there is no breeze around it. kamari beach is facing the beach. so you can feel a breeze. the shower in room gives you alot of cold showers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed for a week at this hotel.Although the hotel site itself is OK.It is clean, and matches the photos, overall we were disappointed for the following reasons:
On arrival the reception was 'frosty'- not the typical friendly Greek reception at all. We were initially given a room with a view of a concrete wall, and it was only through our persistence that we were eventually given a slightly better room.Again, the response was 'frosty' and unhelpful to say the least.The bed was very hard, so I slept badly.
We stayed half board, and the food was poor - bland and repetitive.There was no air con or fan in the restaurant so it was very uncomfortable in the July heat, and the ambiance was that of a transport cafe! We would have been better off going B&B and eating at the restaurants along the sea front, which were reasonably priced and offered good Greek cuisine.
The pool area is far too small for the numbers of guests, and the beds were always all 'reserved' with towels by 6:00 a.m.
Kamari as a resort is pleasant, not over commercialised,and at night the bars and restaurants are great.The beach is a type of shingle. The sea depth drops steeply so not suitable for young children.
Before you book this hotel, my advice would be to look at the many other apartments and hotels at this resort , which mostly looked pretty good,and stay B&B!

Room Tip: Be VERYspecific about what you want from your room, especially if you want a balcony, as not all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here with a party of over 30 people out for a wedding in Santorini.
I could not praise the staff enough for their service and kindness. The rooms are spotless and perfect. But watch out for the statement "all of our double rooms have a pool or sea view". The don't. Ours had a view of the road at the back of the hotel.

Food is a different matter - breakfasts were weird, with tinned carrots making an appearance one morning, but hey, this is Greece and maybe they eat carrots for breakfast here. We chance the hotel's restaurant on the edge of the beach in front of the hotel for lunch one day, ordering gyros. They were horrible, greasy things I couldn't recommend to anyone.

The star staff member was the girl who works the bar in the evenings, with a beautiful smiling face and terrific manner - I don't remember her name, but the owners will know who she is - giver her a raise in salary!!!

One final point - why do they close the pool at 6pm each evening, with hours of hot sunchine left???

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Venus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Beach

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Venus Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Venus Beach Hotel Kamari
Venus Beach Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Venus Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.