We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cruickshanks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hermes Hotel to your Saves list
Hermes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ermis Street, Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“cruickshanks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had a really amazing holiday at the Hermes. Staff were helpful and friendly and the environment peaceful and beautiful. The rooms were very clean and spacious with a lovely view from the balcony. Food was amazing and there was a good selection on the menu. Pools were clean and well maintained. Looking forward to another relaxing holiday there soon!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    71
    22
    2
    3
See reviews for
33
98
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Gate One put us here. I would not come back unless I could be sure I was not getting a room like the one(s) we had, and all we use our rooms for is sleeping.
T Our first room was tiny and smelled of mildew. We asked for another and it was an improvement - larger, cleaner but not really clean. There was black mold around the bath tub, the bathroom sink didn't work properly, and when i picked up the hairdryer, it broke into three pieces. The beds were hard, more like sleeping on box springs than mattresses.

Contrast this with two lovely pool areas and attractive plantings throughout. Both rooms we saw were in the original hotel. There were other buildings around and I'm guessing they were nicer. Maybe they are renovating and we got rooms on the "to-do" list. I don't know. But based upon our experience, I can't recommend Hermes.

Room Tip: Based on other, positive, reviews, I have to believe that room quality varies wildly - make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

we have just returned from a week stay at this hotel and we really didnt want to leave. it was spotless in all areas with lovely pretty well kept gardens.the staff actually do make this hotel and we have to mention Effie and Vascilis (spelling maybe dodgy) but we nick named him jonny red due to his whiskey choice - Effie is so helpful and friendly and really cant do enough for you. All of the staff were just as lovely though so a big thanks to them all for making our stay special. We arrived back from the volcanic trip late and didnt have the energy to walk out for food and even though the chef was about to leave the barman said he would ask if he would stay late so we could eat round the pool, He obliged and we were fed some very tasty food ! The breakfast buffet was more than adequate , tasty soft fresh bread , eggs both scrambled and hard boiled, cold meats and cheese,dried and fresh fruit , yoghurt, and a variety of spreads. The house wine was very nice too and cheaper to buy in carafes rather than per glass. I could write much more about this hotel which we loved and really cant find fault with anything. We would love to return but the next 2 years for our holiday party is tied up with weddings abroad so unfortunately cant return soon but cant recommend this hotel or even the resort highly enough!

Room Tip: we were in room 207 which was ground floor and very little balcony but as we spent very little time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were greeted by Effie and immediately fell in love with this charming Greek treasure of a hotel. Travelled with our 16 yr old son and he as well regretted leaving for our ferry ride to Mykonos. Our room was spacious with a great size bathroom that included a tub and a Karen terrace looking toward the larger pool. We notice some rooms actually had hot tubs on their terrace....something for us to inquire about on our next visit . There are 2 pools on either side of the entrance. The hotel was walking distance from the beach where there is sort of a boardwalk with many restaurants, bars, shops, art galleries and convenience stores adjacent to the beach. A lively place to walk at nite and see the different vendors. Effie was able to arrange for a car, tour whatever we hade in mind. I can honestly Santorini. I have to say if all hotel's had an Effie all our traveling experiences would be memorable. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If interested inquire about the rooms with the big hot tub on the terrace. Looked like a fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We are a group of six friends and have just got back from staying at the Hermes hotel. We had a wonderful time there and would recommend the hotel to anybody. All the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful - like other reviews we think Effie is the star! Nothing is too much trouble - she ordered taxis for us, gave us great advice on things to do, even got a pair of shoes taken to another town and mended for us! and she makes you feel so welcome. She is a special lady.

The hotel is very pretty - set back about 3 minutes walk from the beach. There are two pools - in separate areas - both have plenty of shade around them if you want to get out of the sun. One has a jacuzzi built in at one end - neither were at all crowded. Everywhere is spotlessly clean. We had three rooms on the top floor - each had a small balcony with chairs and a table. . Each room had a safe in the room (charge of 2 Euros per day), mini bar and a decent hairdryer in the bathroom. The bathrooms were all spotlessly clean, soap, shampoo and shower gels provided- with fresh towels every day. The hotel also provides a pool towel for your holiday (ask at the bar or reception for these) which you can also take down to the beach (1 euro charge if you change for a fresh towel). An iron and ironing board is available if you want one - ask at reception.

Breakfast is simple but adequate - a self service buffet- fresh breads, ham, cheeses, boiled eggs, cereals, yoghurt and fruits, with a good selection of teas and coffee but avoid the fruit juice which isn't pleasant- though it is possible to get freshly squeezed orange juice at an extra charge.

We ate dinner in the hotel twice - you can choose to eat inside or al fresco by the main pool which is very pleasant. There is a good selection on the menu - and we all had lovely meals. If you like them - the gigantes beans and the fava were the best we tasted in Kamari. Certainly if you decide to go to the open air cinema whilst you are there (and we would recommend the experience - Effie & Julia can tell you more) then eating at the hotel is most convenient - and we were offered a couple of free extra dishes to sample with our meal. The hotel house wine is also very good.

We loved our stay at the Hermes and if we ever go back to Santorini will most definitley choose to stay there again - it is the staff that make it so special. PS - a special thanks to the barman who put up with us popping in for a nightcap every night just as he was closing - a sweet and patient man.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week as a package with Olympic Travel as we were attending a wedding during the stay. The Hermes is quietly located yet near to all Kamari ameneties. We had room 114 which is quite large, air conditioned and on the first floor and has a sit out balcony that overlooks the pool. The room has a safe that can be hired for 2 Euros a day which is cheap to ensure peace of mind. The only downside to the 4 star rating is the B&B breakfast; orange squash not orange juice and debateable coffee in an urn. After 08:30, and busy, has staff running about to fulfill needs eg no bowls, spoons etc. Breakfast is all cold table, self service and an improvement here could be made. All seafront cafes in walking distance do a very good choice "all day" breakfast for a very cheap rate. The hotel can improve in this area to make a significant difference. The evening meals are good with a good choice, so it is a pity the B&B breakfast is not so. That said all the supportive earlier posts here we fully agree with and would not hesitate to return to the Hermes for the goodwill of the staff, the ameneties and cleanliness. Seafront cafes, shops, restaurants etc all in easy walking distance. Kamari is a very friendly place, August very hot with a cool breeze at times. This was our first visit to anywhere in Greece and Kamari and the Hermes were a delight beckoning us to return.

Room Tip: Room 114, first floor overlooks the pool is air conditioned and has a distant seaview. The balcony h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in Kamari, Santorini at Hotel Hermes for 11 nights in July. Very nice and friendly hotel. Ephie in the reception was very nice and helpful and the atmosphere of the hotel was very nice. We are a family with two children, 9 and 6 years and we were a lot by the nice pool. There was never a problem with chairs by the pool. You did not need to get up early to reserve them and that was nice. There is a big pool and a small pool.

Our room was a triple but we fit all four in it. Nice bathroom and room. It was nice to sit on the balcony in the evening. The room was spotlessly cleaned by the nice girl that did our room.

The breakfast was simple but ok. It included bread, one kind of cheese and two kinds of ham, fruit, yogurt, eggs, scrambled eggs and some cereal. The breakfast you could eat outside by the big pool which was nice but too hot. But very nice.

We are really happy with our stay here in Santorini and we loved the hotel except that the night before the last night two rooms got robbed in the middle of the night. The robbed rooms were on the first floor overlooking the small pool and the entrance. The people left their balconies open and the thieves climbed in and robbed them. In both cases the people lost about 400 euros. There is a safe in the room but it costs 2 euro a day. We had it but we also slept with the door open to the balcony. Our room faced the inside of the hotel and the big pool which seems safer.

We also heard that the manager reacted in a not proper way. He said to the second room that got robbed “ you too” and he did not want to call the police and said that they would not do anything and that the people has to go to the policestation themselves in the next village. That I thought was really bad. Ephie showed some sympathy but I would expect more from a 4 star hotel.

Kamari is a nice resort – not too big but it has a promenade by the sea with a lot of taverns and coffeshops. Good greek food is served at most places. We especially liked the Boat House with good food and nice service or excellent!!! On Sundaynight they have a greek danceshow where you in the end are allowed to through plates at the dancer =)… not at the dancer but on the ground.

We did not like the café Mango where the people were rude. We tried a lot of restaurants and they were good. Cafe Classico is good for a coffe and icecream.

The sea in Kamari is really nice although it is hard to walk on the stones but once in you are in a clean and nice sea. Showers on the beach!

We rented a car one day and drove around the island – south to north. One day is enough. We spent a lot of time in Fira and had dinner in Oia (Ia).Both beautiful cities! Dinner in Oia we had at Strogili on the roof overlooking the sea and the other islands and the sunset. It was so wonderful that we went back an an other night but this time we booked the best table closest to the sunset.

We also did the sunset cruise. It was nice to see the sunset from the sea. Food was good and it was a nice trip.

Our Santorini trip was very nice although the robbery was a bit unpleasant to be around. The last night we closed all the doors and blocked the doors. Perhaps overdone but we were a bit unpleasant.

There is a house called the Golden Girls on the way to the sea and close to the shop. It is a strange place that opens at 22,30 till 6 am. Sometimes you could see a light on but mostly it was dark. In the day there were one or two black girl sitting and talking on the phone. Someone said that it is a brothel . It looks suspicious and it is bad to have this close to the hotel. On the road to the beach is also a 5 star hotel and a place like this should not be next to nice hotels like this.

Nice trip and a wonderful Island!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Ermis Street, Kamari 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#23 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#26 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermes Hotel, is located in Kamari Village, in a pleasant walking distance of 200 meters from the most cosmopolitan and black sandy beach of the island. Ηospitality and personal care for every guest is a must. The Hotel, built with the traditional and unique Cycladic architecture, was renovated in 2008 and elegantly equipped to meet all your needs. It consists of two buildings with nice gardens between them. A stunning outdoor pool, a pool bar and a restaurant besides the pool are the hotel's everyday meeting points. Karamolegkos family, a local Santorinean family, which runs the Hotel, can assure you of best quality food, prepared in our restaurant's kitchen, using local products, and superior wines, produced in our own winery.Relax under the shadow of the palm trees, surrounding the jacuzzi pool, on the other side of the garden, feeling a warm and homelike atmosphere. A cozy lounge area is available all day long for moments of socialization, surfing the internet, or watching your favorite TV program. In case you feel the need to exercise, the equipped fitness area will be at your disposal, all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.