We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice but take care which room you get allocated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maria Preka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maria Preka to your Saves list
Hotel Maria Preka
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kamari Beach, Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really nice but take care which room you get allocated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid September and were allocated to Rm 14--very nice and spacious. However, some of the other guests were not as complimentary about their rooms. Hotel has a small pool but is very close to the beach --2 minutes walk and is close by all shops , bars and restaurants
Perfectly located and most enjoyable overall

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    21
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
54
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This hotel was fantastic, not a huge hotel but it was really clean and tidy. fantastic pool and 5 mins walk to the baech and all the shops. Staff were very nice and helpful. Cleaned our room everyday. Would go back again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

Taking account of the price this is an excellent hotel in kamari. It is well located, close to beach, supermarket and bus stop, and not noisy. The rooms are kept very clean and are comfortable. The shower is basic but adequate for a beach holiday. My main tip is to either drive round or take a boat round the whole of santorini on the first day so you can get a quick view of all that it has to offer and decide what you wish to focus on. Unless you have experience of driving a scooter up a steep hill while turning a sharp corner I would recommend the quad bike or a car. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at the Maria Preka for a week in August 2011. When we arrived the owner was waiting outside to greet us and show us to the room.

We had a studio room with a double bed, separate kitchen area, bathroom and balcony (above which was a beautiful tree covered in bright pink flowers). The room had everything i'd expect in self catering accomodation. Air conditioning is available for an extra charge - we found it well worth paying for in August.

The hotel has its own swimming pool. It's a fairly small pool, but fine for cooling off in the hot Santorini sun! It also had plenty of sunloungers - we never had any problem getting one. You are also only 2 minutes walk away from the beach in Kamari (but take flip flops / shoes to swim in as the black sand gets very hot in the sun).

The room and communal hotel areas were kept very, very clean. The room was cleaned every day.

Santorini itself is a great place to visit, lots to see and do and the weather was hot and sunny every day. A boat trip round the caldera, with a walk up the volcano and a swim in the hot springs was a highlight of our trip. Sunsets from Fira and Oia also a must. Art Space winery just putside Kamari is a good place to visit. for 2.5 Euros the owner showed us round the old winery and art gallery, and the modern winery before we tasted a selection of his wines. Buses round the island are easy to use (if a bit crowded).

If a friend was visiting Santorini, I would definitely recomend the Maria Preka.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

If you like being shouted at then go to the Maria Preka. You can tell when the owners are out because it quiet and the guests are talking to each other. The last thing Maria seems to want is for people to be enjoying them selves. She rants at guests as if she is scolding a naughty child. The UK people are treated like 2nd class citizens too. We are the only nationality that are not offered the chance of B&B and have to go self catering even though the rules state you can not take your own food into the hotel. Not a nice hotel, we wont be going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

we stayed here as a group of 13 including children, Maria was very friendly and her daughter was very helpful. Great location down a quiet cul-de-sac. Apartments and pool area were very clean. Although there is no pool bar you can order drinks from the sister hotel across the road and they will bring the drinks back to you and are a resonably priced. We got married in Santorini and Maria and her daughter were very helpful and came to see me in my room on the day. I would definatly stay at Maria Preka again and would reccomend it to those looking to stay in Kamari.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed at this hotel as we got a very good price through Thomson - I wasn't expecting a lot from the hotel, but I have to say it was far better than expected.

It is a small, typical, greek hotel, with a smallish pool - all areas from the rooms to the pool to the outside areas are spottlessly clean and the cleaner works extremely hard to maintain the levels of cleanliness.

The room was a decent size, with a balcony, fridge in room (which was a god send) and air con and safe which are both payable locally - remember to budget this into the cost when booking your holiday otherwise it may come as a shock!! I personally don't think the costs are out of order - we only paid £400 each for the week and I don't suppose that thomson pay them a huge amount of that!!
The location was excellent - 2 minutes to the beach, 1 minute to two supermarkets and the bus stop to Fira and the closest restaurant in 30 seconds.
I would definitely recommend this accomodation, however you mustn't go there expecting a big hotel or any luxuries or have big expectations, it really is typical greek basic accomodation. If you are looking for a higher standard hotel, with bigger pool etc - go to the Agean Plaza and pay the extra it costs to stay there.

Room Tip: If you want a double bed and not twin beds ask as its not guaranteed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maria Preka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Preka

Address: Kamari Beach, Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kamari
#32 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Maria Preka 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maria Preka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Preka Hotel
Maria Preka Kamari
Hotel Maria Preka Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maria Preka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.