We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greatest stuff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Orion Star Hotel

Save Saved
You added Orion Star Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orion Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 75 hotels in Kamari
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Greatest stuff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Yes the bathroom is terrible, also the interior is very very poor. But the location is ok, because hotel is located up on the hill, so the view is good. The greatest thing about this hotel is stuff. Very helpful, nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    17
    13
    7
See reviews for
9
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

it's terrible.. bathroom is without shower curtain so when you take a shower the whole bathroom is wet, and everything is very old, broken and rusty.. sometimes, when it wasnt windy we took shower near pool, it was unfortunately nicer there.. rooms are also very old,hotel need renovation asap.. Breakfast is poor.. otherwise location of hotel is great, pool is very nice.. but you can find better hotel with same location and price! do not recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was with my wife in Orion last week and we were very unsatisfied with this hotel. Location of the hotel is great, and the view from our room (looked at the see) is also great.
I don't mind the old style interior, but I can not stand that kind of bathroom. There is no showercabin in the bathroom and when you shower, the whole bathroom is showered as well.
Breakfast was very poor. Always the same salami and cheese.
Service crew is friendly, specially the one of those two guys. The other one, that usually served the breakfast, did not changed his t-shirt for 7 days!!!! That's very biohazard!
I'm very angry of my agency that booked this hotel for us, because I know that I could get much better hotel for the same money they took from me. A friend of mine paid the same amount for the hotel "Astro" (very close to Orion) and his room was 3 times better than ours. I definitely do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the view at the see (for ex. room 105)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We knew this place would be basic, given the price, and we were prepared for that. I am happy to stay in a basic hotel as long as it's clean. Unfortunately this place wasn't. There was a stain on the bed sheet - the sheet was obviously clean but the stain hadn't washed out. The bottom pillows on the bed didn't have pillow cases and were stained with orange rings - yuck. The water in the bathroom was salt water which meant that even after a shower I didn't feel completely clean. You obviously can't clean your teeth with salt water so you'll need to get some bottled water in the room. I didn't unpack my clothes because the drawer was full of dust. Overall the cleanliness was very poor.

On a plus note, the location was fantastic and the pool was great (the only part of the hotel that was cleaned daily and properly!) Kamari is a great area and the Orion is situated perfectly (quiet, yet a stone's throw from the beach and restaurants).

We ended up checking out of the Orion 2 days early because we were given the opportunity to stay somewhere clean. I would not recommend the Orion to friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

My wife and I arrived in the early afternoon after an airport transfer with Kamari Tours. Our room was ready and staff were on hand to take the cases. This hotel has 40+ rooms spread out around the property and main building.

A 5-minute stroll sees you at the beach front with a multitude of restaurants, bars and mini-markets. (Be prepared to 'run the gauntlet' of all the well-meaning restaurant staff extolling the virtues of their food. This is somewhat irritating after a while, but not intimidating). Our recommendation is to visit a beach-front cafe called Reflections who provided excellent food at very reasonable prices with unrivalled service.

Our room (#137) was in an annexe without a sea view but had a pleasant patio which got the sun from early morning to mid-afternoon and is close to the pool. Inside were twin beds, a small TV (which was mounted in a somewhat high position), and a small fridge plus various other chairs and a table. The bathroom was quite well equipped with WC, basin and a shower. The shower has a tray but no curtain or visible means of locating the shower head, designed, I'm guessing, that way to save water (i.e. you need both hands to shower and therefore can't just stand under it for ages !!). Careful use reduces the amount of water flooding the drained marble floor. (Typical fare in the Med.) It should be noted that the water supplied is mildly salty, so not great for teeth cleaning, but lathers quite well with decent soap (we had Dove). No shortage of hot water but depending on the time of day we sometimes had to wait a few minutes for the full effect. No problem really. Towels were a little thin but clean and plentiful. Overall the room/bathroom was adequate and clean. The cleaner attended every day, and sheets and towels could be changed daily if indicated by leaving a card on the bed. Very good !!
If I was being picky I would comment that there weren't enough pillows (one each) and they were cheap and thin. Also the supplied blankets smelt old and musty.

The room is air-conditioned which was a God-send as the temperature rarely dropped below 25 deg.C overnight !! Not the best aircon performance, but again adequate. The only adverse 'incident' we experienced was when the aircon water-vent bottle (outside, next to the main door), overflowed during the night, and water seeped under the door. I accept partial responsibility for this as we had run the aircon for the entire night without checking the vent bottle level !!

The pool is excellently maintained and cleaned daily with plenty of sun-beds/ parasols and a small bar which was open virtually 24/7. It should be noted that sandals are a pre-requisite when using the pool as the ground surrounding it is pebble-dashed and gets extremely hot during the day. Be warned !!

It appeared that B&B is the standard offering, and the breakfast was reasonable. Standard fare was a buffet of fresh bread, preserves, cheese slices, ham, cereal and Greek yoghurt. Tea, coffee and orange juice (reconstituted) was plentiful, although the tea was not up to Tetley standards and generally avoided by most. The coffee was excellent though. A 'full English' is available at many of the beach-side cafe's and restaurants, albeit at a price. I sought one at 'Navy's' but was put off by the high cost and the apathetic service. (Their tea however was very good.) Not recommended.

It's worth mentioning that the hotel have a notice placed on the external bar requesting residents NOT to bring their own food onto the premises, as these items were available 'on-site'. We were not aware of any food, barring breakfast, being available. in fairness everyone seemed to be bringing back snack-food, fresh fruit and drinks and consuming it in their rooms, as you do, and there was never any problem from the staff.

In summary The Orion is a well run establishment maintained by courteous and helpful staff, and provides clean, 'no-frills' accommodation which represents great value-for-money in times where cost is a major consideration. Security was good, and further enhanced by righteous patrols of the site by 'Thiros' the dog who was both diligent and non-invasive in his duties. We felt that some of the hotel's services, such as laundry, might have been better publicised but perhaps we didn't receive full guidance from our tour Operator (SunMasters).

Overall we had a very relaxing holiday in Kamari and would definitely go back to The Orion. It's always a little daunting booking an hotel sight unseen, but the reviews here proved very accurate and we have attempted to give a similar authentic report on our experience. Book here and you won't be sorry !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed here as a couple, even though we were early we were welcomed by the owners and shown to the outdoor bar as a room wasnt ready. The room was clean and appointed as expected - basic but with all the facilities. Tip - If you can stay in the main part of the hotel do so as our room was right by the road and noisy in the evenings. Breakfast is again basic and the same everyday, but the price reflects that. All in all an excellent stay and would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

Booked a 2 night stay here at short notice when extending a pre existing holiday in Fira Town.

The hotel is in a good location, about a 5-10 minute downhill walk to the shops, restaurants and beachfront. The hotel is on a slight hill.

The reception/lobby area feels like someone's home and is quite small & relaxed, which is nice.

Our room was basic but it was clean and was cleaned on a daily basis. We had a fridge in the room which came in useful.

The hotel pool is a good size with a bar and music played during the day, it was nice and relaxing.

Breakfast was basic but nice, tea & coffee, juice, cereal, greek yogurt, bread, cheese & ham.

The staff are friendly and laid back.

Overall we were pleased with our stay especially for the cost. Good location and a laid back atmosphere. If I was on a budget I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Orion Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orion Star Hotel

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 75 hotels in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Orion Star Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Orion Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Hotel Kamari
Orion Star Hotel Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orion Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.