We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bringing a Touch of Class to Kamari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elia

Elia
Kamari 84 700, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 100 restaurants in Kamari
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Radlett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Bringing a Touch of Class to Kamari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Kamari does suffer somewhat from an inferiority complex when compared to its more glamourous sisters on the caldera side of the island. It is basically a strip with a few restuarants & shops brought to a grand halt by the massif of Mesa Vouno.
With a few exceptions, many of the tavernas which line the strip have the usual 'lookie lookie' men trying to entice you in.One of the exceptions is Elia, part of Bellonias Villas. A lot of thought has gone into using local ingredients in a novel way.We went for lunch by the pool, away from the hustle & bustle of the beach & dinner by the beach. On both occasions we were beautifully served lovely food. Try the dessert of chocolate balls which were incredible!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    62
    15
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is really Nice, its clean, amazing inventory.
The location is The best, with The sea right in front of You. The presentatiton and The food is amazing. The wine tasting was very interesting, extremley good food and wine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wine tasting night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We are staying in the hotel and had heard some great things about the wine tasting night so thought we would give it a try after a lovely lunch earlier in the week. Our wine tasting expert was informative and very accommodating. The wine itself was enjoyable, varied and plentiful. The food was a higher standard than anything we have eaten on the island. Modern, yet true to its Greek roots. Service - with a smile and friendly chatter. Setting of the restaurant is perfect. Will be back to experience Greek night for sure which we hear is just as good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went here for their Friday night Greek meze night.
The food was amazing, the atmosphere great and the staff very helpfull.
It was a set meal but with so many different dishes it wouldn't matter if you didn't like it all, we did love it all though.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“wonderful out of the ordinary place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We loved this place and had one of the best meals of our trip. From the attentive service to the small olives from their own trees, the food and the atmosphere is a huge cut above the other "strip" restaurants on Kamari beach. Its location at the far end of the beach makes it a bit quieter than others. The food is imaginative and beautifully presented - not just the run of the mill fare available at most other places here. Some of our family ate here twice and we wish we all did. It is not the cheapest place to eat but certainly in our opinion the most outstanding food and service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elia also viewed

 
Kamari, Santorini
Kamari, Santorini
 

Been to Elia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.