We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sideris Sunflower Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sideris Sunflower Villa to your Saves list
Sideris Sunflower Villa
Vassileos Thira, Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
surrey, england
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Smashing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a week's holiday at the Sideris Sunflower Villa. Our apartment was clean, light and roomy and a really comfy bed. Gregory made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for him. This was the last week for UK flights and we noticed over the week restaurans and shops began closing down for the winter. Our fav restaurants were the Poseidon Hotel and Academy Crepe, both offering good quality wholesome home cooked food. The local wine was cheap and cheerful, you can fill up an empty 2 litre water bottle with white, rose or red wine for just over 2 euro's in the supermarkets! Do take a trip to Oia for the fabulous sunset and Fira - both these beautiful villages are a must-see! Please note, Old Thira is closed on Monday's. Our accommodation was well located and the local buses stop just a few yards away to take you all over the island.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    30
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
82
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Stayed at the Sideris Sunflower apartments for our son's wedding with 24 family and friends of the bride and groom. We had a fantastic time and Gregory and Sideris (brothers who own the apartments) and their wives couldn't do enough for us. They arranged a pre-wedding party two days before the big day with food, drink and music. They even decorated the taverna with white lace netting and balloons. On the day of the wedding Sideris was on had to take photos and later presented Vicki and Gareth with a CD. The rooms were basic but very clean and comfortable and the pool area had a relaxed atmosphere with plenty of sunbeds. There was a small bar for drinks which worked an 'honesty' system when Gregory or Sideris wasn't there, the bar area also had a flat screen showing British football games. Although set back from the main seafront there were plenty of shops, supermarkets and restaurants close by and only a few minutes walk to the beach. Getting around was easy by local bus with cheap fares (1euro 40 to Thira). We are planning to go back early next year and would recommend the apartments to anyone. If you are thinking of booking don't hesitate, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

8 friends and I have just returned from Sideris Sunflower Villa, it was amazing the best holiday ever would recommend it to any one travelling too Kamari.
Gregory & Rita and family were just amazing they were so friendly and treated us like their family. Rita made us Greek food and would leave it in our apartments.
The location was perfect the bus stop was just five minutes up the road to go Thira which is fantastic (tropical bar, cafe del mar, koo club) and the square for pizza and pasta before you go out.
Would highly recomend these apparments and to get special treatment mention to Gregory and Rita you no me Anthony Ha Ha

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We both love Greece because of the people, it’s food and its culture, the hotel owners (two Brothers) and family were always very helpful and welcoming so they didn’t let us down, great location away from the busy front, be patient with the dog across the road he’s such a softy, so if you have any spare food he will welcome it with open paws, the rooms were very clean we made our own breakfast and sometimes lunch. We ate at restaurants that didn’t constantly try to drag us in the BEST one we found was on the main road going out of Kamari, as you come out of the hotel turn left its about a 10 minute walk and it called BACCHUS TAVERN fantastic fresh Greek food, we didn’t try any of the popular places like NO NAME as I didn’t like there approach the resort reminded us of Turkey with it’s Pushy restaurateur trying to grab your custom pretending to be interested in you unfortunately they let the place down.

The best place to hire a car is from LOIZOS Rent a car, as you come out of the hotel turn right and follow the road down hill for about ten minutes keeping to the left as the road splits and he’s on the left, (you’ll find him), Stefanos the owner and his wife are a pleasure to do business with, you’ll get Full Insurance and he won’t rip you off unlike most of the other car hire firms I went to. The supermarket next door to him is the best one for your daily needs and the gift shop (Kamari Arts) and bakery opposite the supermarket are very good too, nice genuine Greeks. We will return one day wearing our tee shirts that say, I DON’T WANT TO LOOK AT YOUR MENU!!!.
Have a great time it is a nice place to be, Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was a return trip for our sons wedding, 16 guests in total stayed in the hotel. We stayed here September 2009 so we knew what to expect. Everyone at the hotel contributed to a very happy stay, I would like to thank Gregory, Margarita, Sideris and Maria for all thier effort especially on the day of the wedding. We requested champagne to be delivered to our rooms in the morning and also we had asked for champagne and snacks to be available for 45 peopl when we returned from the ceremony at 1pm. We were treated to some outstanding home produced typical Greek food followed by chilled champagne, all was excellent. Sideris was on hand with his camera and presented Bride and Groom with a CD of first class photographs. Sideris would a few days later provide his photographic skills free of charge again as he took the bride and groom off on a shoot with stunning results, again providing a cd of excellent photos.
Once again everyone at the hotel proved that nothing was too much trouble, they are very knowledgeable about Santorini and provide excellent advice on where to visit and where to eat. As before the hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the pool was maintained to a very high standard.
The small bar at the poolside is another attraction and is the focal point at the start and end of the evening, when people gather around before and after eating out.
We look forward to a return trip, hopefully soon!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

I stayed here in June with my boyfriend. I knew we would get greta service before we even arrived as Gregory (the wonderful owner) answered all my emails promptly and was always helpful with requests and information.

We were picked up free of charge by Gregory from the airport. He recommended restaurants, showed us some lovely pictures of the island and dropped us off at the port on our last day. He was always very relaxed and always made sure that we had everything we needed.

I use a wheelchair so access is very important for me. The apartments have a side entrance with a steep step to get in. If you have someone with you who can get you you over steps like these then it's not a problem but if you have a heavy electical wheelchair or no assistance it does pose a barrier. There was also a very steep ramp to get down to our room so help will be needed to control the descent but at least they have one!

The studio itself was basic but very clean and had pretty much all we needed. The 'double' bed is really two singles pushed together but we put a blanket along the join and it was fine. The cooking area is quite basic and dated but it works fine. You get two hobs, a kettle, a sink and cooking utensils. It's fine for cooking basic stuff (pasta, eggs etc) but not much more than that. The bathroom was fine, simple, clean and basic. I had a plastic chair put in the shower for me. The floor can get a bit wet as there is no shower curtain but there is a drain so it's not too bad. The room had air conditioning which was a life saver. It doesn't have a tv though so if you're coming, don't expect one! Gregory offers free though wifi which is always handy.
We also had our own little patio area with table and chairs which he could sit out on and eat/play cards/relax. Ours looked directly onto the swimming pool area which was lovely.

The hotel is conveniently located just a 5 minute walk to the beach/main shops/restaurants. Kamari itself is lovely, chilled out atmosphere, nice restaurant, a few cool bars, friendly people, things to keep you busy and very family friendly. We never really ventured onto the beach as it was down a steep inclince but looked nice enough from the beach from bars! We'd recommend Alexandra restaurant and Byzantio restuarant. Tempo and ethnic were cool bars too.

It's well worth taking the tour of the traditional villages and sunset at Oia. You get a real feel for the island and some absolutely stunning views.

Thoroughly enjoyed our time here and would definitely come again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Where do I start? Every aspect of my stay was amazing :)

I stayed at the Sideris Sunflower for one week in June 2010 (I have only just returned and still buzzing from my time in Santorini)

The staff are so friendly from the cleaners to the Manager Gregory and his friendly brother. Gregory gives excellent guest service and will attend to all your needs, he gives great local travel information and all the best places on the island to visit. The staff are always busy mixing with the guests and ensuring everything is clean and tidy.

There is a good size swimming pool to cool off, a nice cozy outdoor bar area with flatscreen TV and plenty of shaded areas, chairs/tables and sun loungers. The whole place is surrounded by flowers and trees - so beautiful. The rooms are cleaned each day and the views are to die for! Pool views, sea views or garden views.....you wont be disappointed at all.

The villa is only 5 minutes short stroll to the the beach front and bars and beautiful views! This is not a party place which is great and not what I wanted, if you want quiet and to chill out, awesome friendly staff, good clean rooms and value for money then I would recommend this place 100%...I will go back there again for sure!

Thanks Gregory for a wonderful stay and say hi to your brother and wife for me!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sideris Sunflower Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sideris Sunflower Villa

Address: Vassileos Thira, Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kamari
#19 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#28 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sideris Sunflower is a family-owned hotel run by Gregory and Sideris who are at your service from the very first moment. It is very well-known for its true hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sideris Sunflower Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sideris Sunflower Villa Hotel Kamari
Sideris Sunflower Hotel
Hotel Sideris Sunflower
Sideris Sunflower Villa Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sideris Sunflower Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.