We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot understand why so many many enthuse - it is basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sideris Sunflower Villa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sideris Sunflower Villa to your Saves list
Sideris Sunflower Villa
Vassileos Thira, Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cannot understand why so many many enthuse - it is basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Sideris offers very basic accommodation. The kitchen equipment is so basic that you feel that the string is missing off the cutlery. Tidy rather than extremely clean - rough hard towels are changed regularly and also bed linen. I cannot understand why aircon costs €7 per day and a safe is €20 for two weeks (total cost for 2 weeks is €118 euros - an unforeseen extra expense on top of holiday costs). The location is on a road that can be noisy - that is if Gregory does not keep you awake at night with an impromptu poolside soiree with loud guests. The major attribute of this establishment is its pool which is pleasant and there are always beds available. The water quality is good and the pool is maintained well on a daily basis and the pool area is kept clean and tidy. The resort of Kamari is well served with some excellent restaurants and in two weeks we never had anything other than good food - we found that eating establishments offer value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GFytros, Owner at Sideris Sunflower Villa, responded to this review, August 1, 2009
Dear traveler,

We are sad to read that your experience was not what you desired. We would like to use this review so that such an unfortunate situation does not reoccur.

It is absolutely normal that not every product is suitable for every person. That is why we try to present, as clearly as possible, the specific characteristics of our services in order to match them with their appropriate demand. To that end, our website and your reviews are very helpful.

What we try to offer is affordable, comfortable accommodation blended with our personal hospitality, if you desire it. That is why this positioning is expressed in newly restored rooms and furniture, cleaned daily; an enjoyable swimmingpool; basically equipped kitchen (as described in detail at our website) and our personal service at a price from 30 to 55 euros/night air-con included. The Villa is near the mountain, 10 minutes walk from the beach (Kamari city map at our website). We hope it is clear for everyone so that travelers can choose and find what they like.

If we are your match we promise to do our best to maintain you as a loyal customer.

PragmaticBerkshire we hope you find what you are looking for in the future.

Kind regards

SiderisSunflower Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    29
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
81
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

we paid 220 euros for a weeks stay here which in my opinion is very good value. the hotel owner collected us free from the airport asnd also dropped us back off for our return trip home which was very kind. we were on a bottom floor room as we requested because we have a 2 year old. we had a travel cot in the room for him to sleep in which was also very handy. you have to pay an extra 6 euros per day for air con. the balcony was a good size but there were alot of plants and trees surrounding it so this attracted alot of bugs and flies which wasnt good for me as im a bit sqeamish! the rooms are cleaned daily. if you ask for an iron you will get one but no hairdryer!! it is uphill to this hotel so it would be no good for the elderly or disabled, and at 45 degree's it is the last thing you want! the pool area is smallish but nice and pretty and clean. there is a small pool bar which is cheap. it is a very expensive resort though- 3.50-5 euros a beer, 6-10 euros for a spirit and mixer/cocktail and meals can be expensive too. for a full english brekkie you are looking at 8 euros at least. it i a truley gorgeous place though. make sure you take a trip to santo winery as the views are breathtaking. there is only 30 taxis on the whole island aswell so you could get the water taxi or bus if required.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

My Sister and I stayed at Sideris Sunflower Villa for 1 week in July. The appartments are well located in Kamari with less than 10 min walk to Beach and all the beach front bars and restaruants, 5 min walk to Super Market or Bakery. The apratments are clean, well presented and basic. Plenty of sun beds and umbrellas around the clean good pool. Fridge with honour system allows you to take your drinks and leave money on bar taking your change from the bowl provided. Beds are made daily with sheets and towels changed weekly. Toilet roll is provided and replaced when needed. Air conditioning was needed in July at a cost of 7Euros per day. Late check out on room is available for 15 euros. Sunbeds on the beach are 7euros for two beds and an umbrella. I would certainly recommend these appartments. We had a room at the back and were undisturned however other guest did say that the noise of the road at the front did disturb them a little.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

Just back from a great 3 week vacation to Greece, including 4 nights at Sunflower Villa. Couldn't be happier we chose this hotel. We had 2 rooms, one for my wife and myself, and another for our 3 teenage daughters. The rooms are simple, very clean, and were perfect for us. Gregory gave us a great rate for both rooms. Gregory and Sideris are fantastic hosts, and even picked us up and dropped us off in 2 cars at the port ! The rock beach at Kamari is one of the best we've ever been to, and got a huge thumbs up from our girls.
We were first considering staying in Oia, but we all agreed although Oia was great to visit, Kamari was the perfect place to stay. We miss it already !

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scubatony21
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

We have just returned from Santorini Sunflower Apartments . Myself and my wife did not have the easy time on holiday due to me having a diving accident the second day but i would like to say that the owners Gregory and Sideris did everything to help us relax after the accident . The villas are well maintained daily by Elizabeth who is lovely. Both Greogory and Sideris are amazing people who have all the time in the world for you and will do anything for you and we miss our new friends .We cannot wait to go back next year by far the only place to stop on Santorini is at Sunflower Sideris apartments where you will made to feel welcome more than anywhere i know. The pool is well kept and clean every morning by Gregory and is lovely to swim in.At night after you have been for a meal its great to have a drink with Gregory at the pool bar and he has many things to say about the island truly a good conversationalist and a great laugh. These to people make your holiday relaxing and stress free and would recommend the sunflower sideris to anyone cant wait till next year to go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

Subject: Sideris Sunflower Villa

Location: Kamari, Santorini, Cyclades, Greece, Europe

Title: Great week in Santorini

ID#: 20123307

My husband and i stayed at the Sideris Sunflower appartments for a weeks break.The island of Santorini is beautiful,even though the island is so small you can find lots of things to do.
Gregory and Sideris were our hosts and nothing was to much trouble for them no matter what time of the day.The rooms were basic but very clean,and with the complex being small everyone got to know each other.There are plenty of places to eat within easy walking distance all of whom would like you to sample their dishes we ate in different places each night and enjoyed everything we had.We both can understand why people want to go back year after year and are hoping to go back next year.
Gregory is the best frappe maker in Santorini
Dawn + Nick Hague

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

My husband and I have just stayed for one week at Sideris and what a great week that was. Gregory and Sideris were fantastic hosts, nothing is too much bother for them. The apartments are basic but are cleaned every day except Sunday by a hard working young lady. The grounds are kept immaculate and the pool is nice with plenty of comfortable beds. it is about 5 minutes walk to the beach and there are plenty of shops within easy walking distance. We climbed up to Ancient Thira early one morning, it took us about 40 minutes but it was worth it. Comfortable shoes or trainers are a must if you go on the volcano trip, which was really good.

  • Liked — Friendly attitude
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sideris Sunflower Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sideris Sunflower Villa

Address: Vassileos Thira, Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kamari
#18 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
#27 Family Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sideris Sunflower is a family-owned hotel run by Gregory and Sideris who are at your service from the very first moment. It is very well-known for its true hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sideris Sunflower Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sideris Sunflower Villa Hotel Kamari
Sideris Sunflower Hotel
Hotel Sideris Sunflower
Sideris Sunflower Villa Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sideris Sunflower Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.