We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kamari Beach | Santorini, Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We just arrived from a wonderful week in Kamari, Santorini. The hotel is perfectly located near the beach and restaurants, and our room had a nice sea view. However, there's not much positive to be said about the room itself or the noise from the neighbouring athmosphere restaurant's kitchen (which is a great restaurant by the way). We could litterarily see eveything in the athmosphere's kitchen from our balcony which was only seperated from that kitchen by a aprox. 10 cm thick and 180 cm high wall. It was unbelievable. We tried to change room, but the only awailble did not have a balcony. Our room did not have a fridge, just a box with a cooling element and the room was the smallest hotel room I've ever lived in. We noticed also that our neigbours changed their room the 2nd day (or hotel, cause we met them again at the bus to the airport) which probably meant that they weren't too pleased either.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    113
    59
    22
    15
See reviews for
57
163
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here, the hotel is clean, bright, and in a fantastic location. Our hotel room had a sea view, it was quite small but had everything we needed and was cleaned each day. The breakfast was buffet style with pleanty of choice from continental to hot food, the beach and free sun loungers was also an great bonus (but get down there early to get a spot).

We will certainly return :)

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Hotel is in the perfect location, situated right on the beach and in the heart of Kamari centre. Rooms just the right size, very comfortable double bed, efficient working air con and fridge/freezer, room cleaned everyday with clean bed linen and towels. Beach towels were also provided. Bathroom was a wet room, with large shower area, and this was also cleaned daily. Slight smell of sewerage from the drains, but nothing at all that would affect your stay.
Hotel staff were brilliant, couldn't be more welcoming and were always there to give advice on good restaurants and places to visit. The hotel bar at night was a lovely location to enjoy a cocktail overlooking the sea.
Pool area in the day is lovely and clean, only concern is that the pool area is slightly small for the size of the hotel and there aren't enough sunbeds. We found ourselves having to wake around 7am to reserve a bed around the pool, otherwise there was no chance after 9am.
The beach area had many sunbeds that were free to hotel residents, yet these also got reserved early and most were unavailable after 10am. Brilliant beach service however, food and drink can be ordered directly from the sunbed so you can relax all day!
Kamari is a wonderful resort in Santorini and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Afroditi hotel. We will definitely be returning to Santorini and this hotel soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool, with brilliant views of the mountain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The hotel is situated on the beach on the Kamari promenade with bars, restaurants and pubs. We asked for a more private room as the first one they gave us, had the balcony right in front of the restaurant and the pool was 5 m away. You couldn't do anything in the room or stay in the balcony without other people watching and from 9 am to 6 pm there were a lot o noise coming from the pool area.
The room we got was facing the front of the hotel and the mountain, it was quieter untill 7 30 in the morning when a nearby car-moto rental shop ( Moto Sellada) started to wash their cars with pressure hose waking you up .
The room was a reasonable size, very basic decor and with a heavy smell of cigarettes and sewerage. We were not told that was a smoking room. The bathroom was in a very poor condition : no glass door at the shower with water coming in the room, walls with mold, and water from the shower not draining as the tub shower was not right made/built.
There were 2 red blankets on the beds that looked as if they were coming from the war ( see foto). We didn't use it as it was very hot, but for a 4 star hotel it's a shame to have it in the room.
AC was very good, refrigerator also. WI FI working very well.
Food on HB was very good, plenty of choices and very well presented.
Pool area was very crowded since 9 in the morning ( no sunbeds available at that moment), but since we were beach people that didn't bother us.
Beach is right in front of the hotel having a beach girl, Ana, taking care of everything a guest needed ( sunbeds, refreshments, snacks, food). A lot of guest were smoking on the beach, they had no ashtray to put their cigarettes and they were throwing its on the beach, making it very dirty. I met one of the 3 brothers that own the hotel and told him ( guy with black beard, long hair wearing sunglasses) about that, and he said the beach was cleaned twice a day, but it's hard to believe that as 6 days we were there on the beach and saw none cleaning it.
In my opinion this was a 4 star hotel, owners must invest some money to keep it at that level because now is a 3 star. It is a lovely hotel very well situated but nothing too special.
Santorini is wonderful and we had nice holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The hotel could not be better situated, right on the beach and in the thick of the seafront promenade with all its restaurants and bars. We asked for a poolview room but did not get one but it was nice and quiet at the back (mountain view). The room was a reasonable size and the decor was clean but basic. We were in the afroditi block of the hotel but do not understand why it has 2 different names as it is really just one hotel. All the guests use the same pool which is too small for the number of guests in the busy season, never any sunbeds unless you are up by 7.30. You are able to get beds on the beach though if you are there by 9 a.m. and we preferred it there, lovely breeze. Guests also use the same dining room .Food on half board was average, it became repetitive after a few nights but there was plenty available. Overall, there was nothing really wrong with the hotel but nothing special about it either. The staff were all friendly and could not be faulted. We loved Santorini and had an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Recently returned from staying at the Afroditi Venus Hotel for 1 week and absolutely love Santorini! The hotel staff were great! The first day we arrived at the hotel it was my birthday - the staff contacted their "host" restaurant called Mythos and provided my boyfriend and I a complimentary dinner at no charge. With this being said, the location of the hotel is fantastic as there are so many restaurants, cafes, and bars to choose from. I highly recommend the restaurant called "No Name" it is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and it's a lot of fun! There was traditional plate smashing, great food and live entertainment. The food at the hotel was good. We only had the breakfast option but there was so much choice. The yogurt and honey was amazing :) Kamari beach was beautiful - beach is black peddle and right behind the hotel. Great cliffs near by - a lot of locals were cliff jumping it was fun to watch. There is also an excursion office right behind the hotel so it was easy to make reservations for day trips.

The trip was amazing and so was the hotel. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of traveling to beautiful Santorini.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Just return from a weeks holiday at the afrodite venus hotel,it was our first time to santorini what a fab week we had.It was my birthday when we arrive and we had the best room with the sea view, thanks to the staff for that (room 202).We went to the beach most days,the pool area was full not enough sun beds but this did not matter to us because we are beach people.rooms clean and fresh towels every day.we were on a bed and breakfast basis the food was ok it needed to be hotter some mornings only luke warm.we ate out every evening i would recommend petrinos down the road from the hotel on the corner,janis and nico make you feel very welcome the food is fab.thira and oia are a must views are breathtaking,mama mia restaurant was fab food went one evening to watch the sunset from thira.i would recommend this hotel and resort we will return one day.tissy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Kamari Beach | Santorini, Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#28 Family Hotel in Kamari
#29 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa is a resort located in Kamari village of one of the most beautiful islands of Greece, Santorini. The hotel offers beach access and majestic view of the Ancient Thira hills. Exclusive hotel restaurant featuring local and international cuisine is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Relaxing private spa. Multiple swimming pools & sundecks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel Kamari
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel And Spa
Afroditi Venus Beach Kamari
Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Afroditi Venus Beach Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.