We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - in most respects” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santorini Kastelli Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Santorini Kastelli Resort to your Saves list
Santorini Kastelli Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Kamari
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent - in most respects”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Agree with many of the comments below - first impressions were excellent with personal guided tour by manager and very impressive public areas. Not only was there always pool beds available but the choice of the large more crowded pool with music, or 3 smaller quiet pools, was ideal. We found that sitting by the smaller pools but moving to the larger pool for a swim worked well.

As mentioned, the public areas are kept spotlessly clean. The gym is small but we enjoyed trying to work off some calories each morning. We didn't use the spa but the lighting and setting looked very tempting. Location is ideal, away from the bars on the front but barely a couple of minutes walk to the beach, via the back door. Also only two minutes from the Big supermarket, (bizarrely on 3 floors with goods stacked in the lift) and 50 metres from the bus stop to Thira and the rest of the island - we found the bus service excellent.

Rooms generally do not quite match the standards of the public space. We didn't find the hard beds uncomfortable, although the tendency to stub toes against the concrete base is painful. Bathrooms are not impressive with poor lighting and appear dated, but most rooms had either a balcony or terrace with a pretty view.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel and this was good and plentiful and was open from 8 to midday so suits both early risers and those having a lay in. Don't get too excited by reference to champagne - it was slightly bubbly spumante and not very good, perhaps better mixed with orange juice.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here but would give one word of warning. As the hotel is promoting itself as a wedding venue, this can lead to an uneasy mix of couples wanting a quiet break and large extended family groups taking up space around the pool and engaging in long and loud conversations.

I have to report that our sleep was disturbed on most of our 7 nights by wedding groups in high spirits when returning from the bars of Kamari in the early hours. Also that the disturbances was caused by Brits, not Germans as others found below. Not sure what management could have done about this and although we did not complain, I understand that others did.

Kastelli is a good location for a Kamari holiday, and overall would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    86
    23
    16
    12
See reviews for
58
302
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in May for our wedding. First impressions are lovely, the personal welcome from the manager was very special along with the tour of the hotel and grounds. The rooms are wonderfully decorated and very clean. The views are breathtaking! Breakfast is really nice and the chef always makes an appearance, loved the champagne in the morning also!! There is no need to reserve sunbeds as there is plenty to go around, the staff always making sure fresh towels are available. The pools are lovely and fresh! ;-). The whole holiday / wedding / honeymoon was amazing, and obviously very special to us. The resort of Kamari is beautiful, could have easily stayed there another 2 weeks! One thing for sure is that you will have a lovely experience if you choose to go here. Thanks also to the wonderful hotel staff, including the friendly maids,bellboy, reception and waiters/ess.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Just returned from spending a week this was fantastic so relaxed but managed to cram so much in. The hotel I would definitely recommend the staff 7 Manager are so friendly & could not do enough for you, it is spotless & so much choice for breakfast. We are planning another week as due to last minute our friends could not attend & i need to take them as I know they would love it as much as we did & we would definitely stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Recently stayed in a Junior Suite which was better than the up-graded offer of an executive junior suite, rooms more basic than boutique, the bathroom had very poor lighting and was more 3* than 5*.

The hotel facilities:
food was excellent
bed base is concrete which makes for an uncomfortable nights sleep!
staff are fantastic and extremely friendly
pool areas are very clean and well kept
a beautifully calming environment to be in (untill the German's arrived, who were old enough to know better and were very loud and disruptive!)

Overall, the stay was very pleasant and restful in beautiful surroundings. Kamari town is similar to many tourist resorts fighting for your trade and offering very average food (& wine!)

Room Tip: ask for the 'purple area' as the areas are designated by colour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Have just spent a very nice relaxing week in Kamari staying at the Kastelli Resort. We had an Executive Junior Suite which was a large room with a separate living area and a private patio area. The pool adjoining the suite was chilly but very refreshing. Loved the way you could always find an empty sunbed at any time of day and the quieter areas available around the hotel. The Manager and staff were all really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Being so close to Kamari's restaurants and beach was nice but glad we hired a car as other parts of the Island are so lovely you wouldn't want to miss them. Recommend Fira for good value food and sunset watching.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Have just arrived back after spending one week at kastelli resort and wish it could have been longer !! Staff all very helpfull and friendly,rooms spotless as were all areas of the hotel and grounds.My only gripe was the bed was a bit hard !! Hotel in lovely postion just a short distance from beach and lots of resturants but in a very quiet spot .Would recomend this hotel to anyone !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

We just returned (May 2012) from the most amazing stay at the Kastelli Resort. I highly recommend you stay here if you are coming to Santorini and want to stay near a beach. The service is outstanding! Anything you wish, the staff will accommodate. (And we had a lot of request due to traveling with a two year old.) We booked our rooms through slh.com and were upgraded upon arrival. We were given a junior executive suite which was perfect since we had our child with us. We were able to close off the living room area and still have our bedroom and access to the outside area which included a private pool. Amazing!! We could not have asked for a better situation! This really made for a super enjoyable stay. The rooms were basic but had everything we could need since most of the time was spent outdoors. The public areas were lovely. Very well kept and beautiful. The hotel manager, Adonis, is incredible. Friendly and sincere in wanting to make sure we are enjoying our trip. And he has hired an equally incredible staff. One of our favorites it the female waiter, Atheana. Every morning at breakfast she would stop by with the coffee and chat with us and our baby. And we always had a high chair ready for us. The entire serving staff is fantastic. Nick, the restaurant manager, runs a great restaurant. We managed to escape to dinner twice sans baby (the hotel helped us to find a babysitter for two nights) and thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience. The food was very good but it was the staff that made it exceptional. You were treated with such respect as if the staff truly cared about your visit. I can't say enough great things about the staff!! I would go back just to see them. And they even have a manicure/pedicurist that comes to the hotel and I highly recommend her. Hands down, one of the very best pedicures ever! The masseuse is equally incredible at her job and we recommend a treatment or two during your stay. The hotel is a very short walk to the beach and main strip of restaurants. This is a huge selling point if you are staying for more than a few nights. You will want to go out and explore the local restaurants. If you have little kids or a stroller, Kamari Beach is the only area in Santorini we would recommend because it is flat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santorini Kastelli Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santorini Kastelli Resort

Address: Kamari 84700, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kamari
#2 Spa Hotel in Kamari
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kamari
#8 Family Hotel in Kamari
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Santorini Kastelli Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Santorini Kastelli Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santorini Kastelli Hotel Kamari
Santorini Kastelli Kamari
Kastelli Resort Santorini
Santorini Kastelli Resort Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santorini Kastelli Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.