We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we chose matin a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Matina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Matina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Matina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kamari Beach | Kamari P.O.Box 5213, Kamari 84700, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #15 of 75 hotels in Kamari
liverpool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So glad we chose matin a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

We have just returned from having our wedding in santorini and we stayed in matina hotel with our family and friends.We want to say a very big THANKYOU to ALL the staff who all made our stay and wedding so special!! What lovely people they all are. We could not fault our weeks stay there and we will DEFINATELY look forward to coming back next year. All Our Love Paula and John from Liverpool xx

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    42
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
80
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011 via mobile

Stunning beautiful and friendly the owner is called vangellis he knows everyone and everything about the whole place he'll even organise a trip for you

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a basic three star family run hotel. My room was a twin, pretty small coupled with small beds. If you're after classy decor skip this place; rooms very dated. My room overlooked some waste ground. When I arrived the plastic balcony furniture was in the room - I carried it out - barely enough room for them. The shower would not hold a constant temperature - alternating between hot and cold and there was a random jet of water going off in another direction. The hotel is not on the beach front which is probably a good thing in that it's a strip and the Greek equivalent to Benidorm. The pool area looked pretty nice - I didn't use it though - too busy. Note that the sun disappears behind the mountain circa 5pm. Breakfast was average. The hotel is fine but I don't really get the "glowing" reports below. I paid €69 per night for the room.
Kamari beach is what it is - the black gravel "beach" resembles a temporary car park surface, difficult to actually get into the sea - you have to wear water shoes to avoid cutting your feet and pretty dirty. The shops/restaurants with a few exceptions were the height of tackiness. I only stayed for a few days; Fira and Oia are spectacularly set and these towns are Santorini. They are however so overrun with tourist droves, with visiting cruise ships massively adding to the numbers, that on the one hand it's nice to actually escape back to the beach. If you are only spending a couple of nights in Santorini I would recommend staying in Oia in one of the hotels built into the cliff. You will pay for it though but on balance it would be worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Cute little hotel, verry cozy, rooms were verry clean. The location was perfect for us, 2 minutes walk from kamari beach and the main street with the restaurants and bars. Kamari is the best place to stay in santorini because it is close to beach. Also the bus stop to go fira is right at the corner of the hotel and is only a 15 minutes ride. Vasso the manager of the hotel was verry nice and helpfull. She gave us great recommendations and booked a tour for us. Only negative thing i have to say is that the shower was really small but overall verry nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bethpage, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our stay at Hotel Matina was nice. First of all, the staff was warm and welcoming! They were nothing but friendly and helpful. Soon after we checked in, Vasso asked us if we wanted to move into a slightly larger room because someone else had cancelled. She had the staff move our luggage to a new room (first floor down from the lobby) which was spotless and a very spacious for the three of us. There are two buildings….I definitely preferred staying in the main building because you walk in from the front and pass the lobby. The other building has a back entrance without a lobby.
Internet in the lobby was available (1euro for 14 minutes)
Breakfast was very good--- a nice selection of yogurt, fresh fruits, pastries, and even eggs. Just make a left out of the hotel and it was a short walk to the bus stop and the beach. Pool was nice too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merano, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had a great time at hotel Matina, our kids were playing all time next to the clear swimming pool, and we had a very nice time at Kamari! Strongly reccommended for families with kids and dogs...
Breakfast is excellent, with lots of many home-made cakes (thanks Matina! for a different cake every day).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Matina is a small family-run hotel that is friendly and relaxed. There is a pleasant veranda looking over the pool where you can eat breakfast. The pool area has lots of comfy chairs and beds with umbrellas and a small bar that is open from 10 am until late for drinks and snacks. There are plants and greenery everywhere and the hotel has a cool boutique feel to it.

Our room was quite large and airy by Greek standards and well furnished with it's own little balcony with a table and chairs - looking out onto yet more creepers and plants.

No wifi but many cafes and bars have it. The hotel has a laptop in reception that costs 1 euro per 15 mins.

The breakfast is buffet style with plenty of fruit, dried fruits, cereals, ham, bread and cheese, eggs etc.. Very good tea and coffee in unlimited quantities.

The beach is only a 5 minute stroll away. The hotels that say they are on the beach are in fact amongst the cafes and bars and there is a road between them and the beach. Passersby all look in to view the bathers around the pool and it must be like being an exhibit at the zoo.

There is a very good family-run restaurant just around the corner from the Matika (The Sedaras or something like that) that is half the price of most others with better food.

All in all a lovely hotel that is good value and in a good location. The only negative I would mention is that the entrance is on a dangerous bend and the traffic on the narrow roads goes very fast. It might be difficult to negotiate prams and small children or elderly people safely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Matina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matina

Address: Kamari Beach | Kamari P.O.Box 5213, Kamari 84700, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kamari
#10 Family Hotel in Kamari
#17 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matina 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Matina is in a quiet flower garden with swimming pool & pool bar, only 2 minutes walk to the beach, in a nice central location of Kamari next to shops, restaurants & bus stop. Feel at "home away from home" according to our repeating visitors & enjoy our fresh buffet breakfast overlooking to pool. There is 24-hours reception, Internet service. Transfers from airport/port on request. Tastefully decorated combining traditional & modern style in elegance! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Matina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matina Hotel Kamari
Hotel Matina Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Matina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.