We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Family Taverna

Family Taverna
Kamari 847 00, Kamari, Greece
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 99 Restaurants in Kamari
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: alternative website www.syrtaki-santorini-gr
Sor-Trondelag, Norway
2 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants I know of in Kamari. Stayed inkamari last year and went to this place several times, and the same this year. The service is great, welcoming people, and very good food. Feels like coming home in this restaurant. Will probably go there next year as well.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    15
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very sketchy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I didn't read the reviews before dining at the cafe but I felt very uncomfortable with the staff. I agree with other contributors, no receipt for the bill. Although the food was exceptionally good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The owner is a Rogue and needs to be banned”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

The owner overcharged on the bill and threatened to assault us when we questioned same. I am taking this matter up with the police and also the authorities in Santorini. Don't ever go to this place. The good reviews are bogus.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“This owner is a crook”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Don't ever visit this place. The owner is a crook. At first the waiter tried to charge us without a bill . When we asked for a bill it had a charge for something we never ordered. When we checked the waiters didn't answer and said to ask the owner. The owner claimed that it was a government tax. As it was printed in Greek we didn't understand. Told him that we have been here 4 days and never been charged a tax . Went back to the hotel and had the bill translated to see he had billed us for a garlic and butter entree we never had. When I went back to the restaurant to question he started to be violent when he knew he had cheated us. He threatened assault us! This guy is con artist and should be taken to task by the authorities. Never visit this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Family Welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were a party of 12 and used this restaurant a few times during our 14 night stay.
The food was good and the prices reasonable (much the same as its neighbours).
Demitri has a knack of getting people into the restaurant, no matter how many of you there is.

After your meal he will insist on sharing several shots of Raki which is great if you like drinking neat meths.

All said. I would recommend the family restaurant for at least one visit if your in KAmari.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Family Taverna also viewed

 
Kamari, Santorini
Kamari, Santorini
 

Been to Family Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Family Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.