We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and a little dishonest” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Skaramagas

Skaramagas
Kamari Beach, Kamari, Greece
+30 22860 32771
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 99 Restaurants in Kamari
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: At the center of Kamari, the most popular beach of Santorini, a blue-white restaurant, Skaramagas, one of the oldest in the area, offers you the tastiest hospitality. The green yard in the shadow, the tables at the waterfront, the traditional Greek tablecloths, the blue chairs, the clean and friendly environment, and the quick and helpful service add to your pleasure. The recipes are light and the vegetarians find many dishes to choose from.Inspired traditional Greek cuisine with special emphasis on the appetizers, "mezedes", is what makes the restaurant different. Here you can taste Santorinian dishes made of local products, like fava beans, cherry tomatoes, caper and kaltsounia. Don't miss the fresh fish, the Mediterranean lobster and the delicious seashell stuffed with spinach and seafood gratin. The filets are special and the wine list includes the best Santorinian and Greek wines.You are invited to enjoy your meal by the sea, from noon overlooking Anafi Island, till midnight under the summer moonlight.
Witney, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Overpriced and a little dishonest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our most disappointing eating experience in Kamari. It looked good and had a good display of fish. We asked what size a particular fish was 700g was the answer. The waiter suggested that this wouldn't be enough to share, so we added a fresh squid. To be fair the food was good, but we had been talked into ordering too much. When we got the bill it was over 100 Euro, where most of our meals were between 50-70. Our 700g fish had turned into 900g on the bill... This left a bad taste. We couldn't be bothered to argue and just paid up and left without a tip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasxalis Z, Manager at Skaramagas, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
The order was including fish 900gr, lobster, king oysters, shrimbs and grayfish, and 2 bottles of special wine! We think that the price was very fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    18
    13
    13
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent choice of dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As stated in the review title, an excellent choice of dishes available, both meat and fish. Served in an unhurried manner, and washed down with an excellent local wine. The staff at front of house (Anna in particular) were very friendly, even on those occasions we declined to go into the restaurant.....although they tried harder the following evening!!

The meal was served in an unhurried fashion, and we were made to feel that we were special customers....not just another tourist wanting fast food. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
1 review
“Fresh Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Have been eating at this restaurant for 5 years. The seafood is fresh, beautifully cooked and very reasonable in price. There are excellent Greek specialities including the best fava beans in Greece. Meat dishes are also provided including the lamb in lemon sauce which we had today & was brilliant as was the kalamari. This is one of the best restaurants in Kamari. The service has always been very good and never rushed. I cannot vouch for the pizza which is not on the menu, but why come to Greece for pizza?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fisher men's restaurant.full of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

If you're expecting deluxe service forget it. However if you're looking for a real taverna with fresh food cooked by a family run business this is a great place.
We went at lunchtime right after a swim at the beach across the road. It is a great place to sample the real Greek atmosphere and food. Much better than all the posh restaurants in kamari or in the main towns in the island of santorini. You need to drive to monolithos beach to find it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zermatt, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just horrible!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Don't make our same mistake, we went to this "restaurant" (in our opinion we shouldn't call it restaurant) because the place looked nice and we were very hungry. The waitress seemed friendly and after having a quick look at the menu we took a seat.
When we were seated we were wondering why the place was that empty and so we asked for the WIFI to have a look about the comments on tripadvisor. Shock!!! As we had already ordered we couldn't leave so we decided to not think about it and just wait to see what comes! Hopeless... The pizza was for a child of 4 years on size and rubbish on tast! It was the worse we ever had! The spaghettis were that disgusting that the plate returned the same to the kitchen! After that "lunch" we were more hungry than before!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skaramagas also viewed

Kamari, Santorini
 
Kamari, Santorini
Kamari, Santorini
 

Been to Skaramagas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skaramagas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.