We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place we returned to! Highly recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amalthia

Amalthia
36. 372224, 25. 480897, Kamari 84700 , Greece
0030 22860 32780
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 99 Restaurants in Kamari
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The only place we returned to! Highly recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went here to eat after a long day of ATV driving, and also a week later before departing Santorini, so I'll combine the two days.

My girlfriend had the Lamb Kleftiko both days, the most tender lamb you will ever experience. She had it a couple of times in a few other restaurants, but none came close to the tenderness, flavor and satisfaction of this meal. Highly recommended. I had the rabbit stew with yoghurt crust, which was just fantastic. The small onions in the stew were so soft and tender and full of flavor from the rabbit and the sauce. The second day I had the greek platter (meatballs, moussaka, stuffed tomatoes, beans and other things I don't remember the name of), and it was a perfect representation of the greek kitchen.

Our waiter both days was Edward, who made our experience something to remember. The taverna has a very relaxing atmosphere, with greek music and you really feel like you're sitting in a garden. The prices are VERY reasonable for the portions and quality of the food.

Highly recommended

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    24
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My Wife and I chose this place for lunch as it was not too far from where we were staying. I ordered the Greek salad and my Wife ordered the avocado and prawn salad The Greek salad was fine but one of the more bland salads I had in Greece. The avocado and prawn salad on the other hand, was almost inedible. The avocado was overripe to the point of being brown and it was covered in a huge amount of gloopy marie rose sauce in what was presumably an attempt to hide the taste of the avocado. The saving grace was that it wasn't expensive so we could cut our losses. The service was fine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Lovely restaurant area set in a garden and we were made to feel very welcome. About four waiters descended on us and were a little over-zealous!! Bread and garlic butter arrived and a drinks order taken. The usual wide range of Greek cuisine and our tomato croquettes were excellent. My Gyros plate was a little laden with fries and tomatoes but quite tasty and my wife's chicken was the better of our two choices. A complimentary drink to end the meal and a bill of little over 30 euros was decent value - along with the wine and water we had.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Pretty average- not great, not bad either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited Amalthia after noticing it earlier on in our stay and saying how nice this garden restaurant looked.
The bread there was nice and served with very strong garlic butter. For the main I ordered the beef stew (not described as stifado on the menu but very similar). It was packed with taste, but there really wasn't much beef in it- three or four pieces, although what was there was very flavoursome. The same was true of the baby onions in the stew- I think I counted two. The dish seemed to be mostly made up of chips and sauce, with more chips underneath, which was a bit disappointing. My husband had the lamb kleftico, which again he said was tasty, but bizarrely the potatoes in the kleftico seemed to be cut up chips too. All in all, it was nice enough, and maybe we picked the wrong things, but equally we wouldn't go back as we'd had nicer meals elsewhere. Surroundings were nice however, and service was good too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Average but no complaints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I really can't complain about anything it is just that there are better restaurants around Kamari with better dishes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amalthia also viewed

Kamari, Santorini
Perivolos, Santorini
 
Kamari, Santorini
Kamari, Santorini
 

Been to Amalthia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalthia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.