We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites

Save Saved
You added Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites
Kamari, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 75 hotels in Kamari
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Positives - Lovely, small and friendly little place. Very clean and nice bed linen and soft towels that were changed daily. Very close to everything and Tina the owner was so nice and very solicitous. Very quiet which was ok for us but might be too quiet for some. There are 12 sunbeds around the pool but we never had a problem getting some even though it was at full occupancy most days.
Negatives- we were a little disappointed on arrival as we had booked the 'suite' with the outdoor jacuzzi, but it was not actually a suite at all rather just a big room. Have to say it was a nice room and we had been left a welcome pack including wine and fruit which was a nice touch, but bearing in mind this room was twice the price I'm not sure it was worth paying the difference. The room did have a nice patio with table and two chairs, a parasol, one sunbed and a jacuzzi but there was little privacy as the patio was on the walkway to other rooms and people often sat outside their rooms.
Breakfast was ample (toast or bread, yoghurt, pastries, ham and cheese) but became quite repetitive as we were there for two weeks. We went out a couple of mornings to get a hot breakfast which broke it up a bit.
The main thing I think is missing from this place is an outdoor bar. We always find you get chatting to people when there is a bar to congregate around either at lunchtime or for pre dinner drinks and we missed that.
All in all other than the fact the room we had shouldn't be advertised as a suite, this was a lovely place with good service and nice people. Probably wouldn't return as it was just a bit too quiet for us but if that doesn't bother you then would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The 'suite' is not a suite but a large room (ie no separate bedroom). For the difference in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
96
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a fab time at Chez Sophie, Tina and her daughter Irenee were the perfect hostess, the apartments were spotless and the pool area kept immaculate, lovely homemade pastries and cakes at breakfast. A great spot at the end of the resort, one street back from the sea front, which hosts hundreds of restaurants and bars but without being tacky, a great resort for a base for touring the island. We hired a car through Tina for 4 days to seer the Island and went to the places she suggested which were great. Tina also arranged transfers from the airport and her daughter took us back, only 5 mins journey to airport, what more could you ask for, a small friendly complex where you're made to feel like family, will definately be back. Thankyou.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We just stayed for a week at the wonderful Chez Sophie. Tina the owner was so lovely and accommodating, she helped us have the perfect holiday. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the many lovely tavernas, shops and of course Kamari beach. Our room was spacious and bright and really clean. It was lovely to sit by the pool with a cold drink, or a glass of wine and enjoy the peacefulness of the location. Kamari is a great base, there is plenty to do there, yet if you want to explore more of Santorini, the bus stop to Fira and then Oia is two minutes down the road. You can also get the water taxi to Perissa from Kamari beach. We also went on an evening sunset & dinner cruise, which was very enjoyable, with an AMAZING sunset. Santorini is definately somewhere we would come back to and Chez Sophie would be the place we would want to stay. Thank you so much Tina

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Spent 14 nights at Chez Sophie.

Intial impressions were an unassuming little place a only having 12 rooms in a lovely quiet location

We were greeted by the owner Tina who offered us a welcoming drink


Tina, Irini & Nina were lovely helpful people with their experienced advice on what to do and where to go.



All amenities - bus service, beach, restaurants & bars all within a few minutes’ walk situated at the end of Kamari beach.

Plenty of places to eat & drink and we never had a bad meal.

In my opinion a must do and certainly will do again

Thank you Tina for making our stay most memorable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We have booked a 5 night stay at Chez Sophie as a start for our 2 week honeymoon. Tina was an amazing hostess. She gave us tips where to go and what to do in Santorini. The room was always clean and breakfast was good. Tina's homemade jams are soooo good, especially the carrot one.Tina also drove us back to the airport! Regarding the location, Kamari is not actually in the heart of Santorini, however, its a nice location with ample restaurants and a nice long walk along the Kamari beach. Its only 15minutes away by bus from Fira. To end, if we were to visit Santorini again, we would surely stay again at Chez Sophie and I recommend others to do so as well. Thank you Tina!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Kamari is a little off the beaten track, but only 15 mins from Fira by bus regular bus service €1.60 or taxi €10-15 each way. Chez Sophie is probably the best choice you can make in Kamari. Yes there are a number of very nice hotels, some right on the beach, but chez Sophie offers excellent value accommodation,modern and well maintained. Tina is a great hostess who will look after you well. She helped us get our bearings very quickly for our 3 night stay and her breakfasts are simple, but very enjoyable. She's a very attentive hostess. Our room had a full view of the sea and beach, very clean, comfortable, with modern fitments and small fridge. It was frankly perfect for what we wanted and it was actually quite nice to come back to Kamari after the hustle and bustle of Fira and Oia.....and no cruise ship crowds to be seen. Loads of good restaurants nearby to choose from. The prom runs for about 1km so a good walk after dinner. Ancient Fira is about a 45 minute walk uphill right next to Chez Sophie, so a good option for a cloudy day! The swimming pool is quite small, but there was always loads of room and sun loungers when we choose to sit around the pool in the afternoon. We didn't use the beach much but the water was clear and calm.

We would highly recommend Kamari as a base to explore Santorini and Chez Sophie as the perfect choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Chez Sophie for 3 nights from 24th May. My first interaction with Tina, the owner started when i received her mail post my booking at www.booking.com. Thereafter all my mails were promptly answered by her. The other reviews on TA have already talked in detail about how wonderful she is and every word of what has been written by others is so very true. Tina was always there with suggestions when we needed them. Her recommendation of enjoying the a quiet and romantic sunset at Firostefani was bang on. Of course the sunset at Oia is not to be missed though it can get very crowded as practically every tourist heads to Oia. The breakfast spread was great with yummy croissants, mini cheese and sausage pies. The location of the hotel at Kamari make it a very quiet option yet within a 10 min walk to lots of tavernas and a 15 min bus drive to Fira. We would definitely come back to Santorini and Chez Sophie

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites

Address: Kamari, Greece
Location: Greece > Cyclades > Santorini > Kamari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kamari
#2 Family Hotel in Kamari
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites Santorini/Kamari

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Sophie Rooms & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.