We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food and exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byzantio Restaurant

Byzantio Restaurant
Beach Road, Kamari 84006, Greece
22860 33534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 100 restaurants in Kamari
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Family business prepare and service local greek dishes with a great success ,the choice is yours.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We loved this place - we went here after reading good reviews on trip advisor and were delighted.

The lady who served us was incredibly friendly and smiled loads, she also talked passionately about the dishes they served. My girlfriend and I had the greek platter of starters which were so much nicer than similar platters we had elsewhere in Kamari. The Kleftico she had was delicious too.

As per another post on here, it is a real shame that people get hustled into No Name restaurant next door. The lady at Byzantio didn't put any pressure on anyone to come in, even those reading the menu's outside, which made such a nice change.

Overall Byzantio's food was the nicest we had in Kamari, and the service was exceptional.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    28
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

This little restaurant in Kamari is a real find, the food is a little different than the usual run of the mill food in the tourist restaurants. We ate there twice whilst on holiday and the quality of the food is very good. My husband had the Kleftico which he said was superb, I had Chicken with mushrooms and cream delicious. The young couple who run this little establishment are charming, its such a pity that tourists flock next door to the "NO Name" restaurant which really does not compare with this great little place.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Creative food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I read about this "hidden gem" tavern - on this forum and went there - the young people that runs this tavern are doing a very good job - the food is made and served in a very creative way - and tasted faboleus (they are famous for making Kleftiko)- I would support 2 bright young people in their effort to continue making creative food - I recommend the Byzantino tavern.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Sandwiched between No Name and Amalthia restaurants, up a side street from the seafront, this small taverna was a great find.
Owned by a lovely couple, the service and food was fabulous. So good in fact, we ate here 3 times on our week's stay!
We loved the relaxed atmosphere and Sylvia was a perfect hostess, genuinely wishing you to enjoy your food and evening.
It may not have the views of the seafront, but my tip would be to have a pre dinner drink in Sky Lounge on the balcony, turn left, Byzantio is further up the street on the right hand side.
PS - the Kleftico is amazing!

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderfull experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

This was our favorite dining experience in Kamari. Everything was just right. The atmosphere, the food and the service were all spot on.

I had the Lamb which was the best I've tasted anywhere and the prices are reasonable too.

Oh and we didn't have anyone try to drag us in there either!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byzantio Restaurant also viewed

 
Kamari, Santorini
 

Been to Byzantio Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byzantio Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.