We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Alexander

Restaurant Alexander
Kamari Village Santorini | Near Loizos Super Market in Kamari, Kamari 84700, Greece
+30 2286 032131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 99 Restaurants in Kamari
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Made with great care, love and respect for the Greek cuisine's History, the restaurant "Alexander in Kamari" offers for more than 15 years now a great variety of traditional Greek dishes, fresh fish and special plates from the Northern Greece & Greek or Local Santorinian wines. Spacious and cosy Restaurant, decorated with love and filled with elements of Greek culture and history, great recipes and very attentive service make ALEXANDER Restaurant at Kamari in Greece one of the best choices for an unique tour into the Greek world of flavors. With the sounds of live Greek music that will make you feel a pleasant mood enjoying the Greek culture and tradition. We invite you, your Family and your Friends to experience unique Greek evenings and nights enjoying Greek food in a fantastic area under the sounds of the "bouzouki". You can make your wedding party with every detail you want and any other social event you like to make in our Restaurant.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best food on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

If you don't eat anywhere else, eat here. Imagine your friend owning a restaurant in Greece and you have popped in to see him, that is the feeling you have when eating here. The food is good, homemade and plentiful , good wine, good entertainment and a good host.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    83
    16
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“quaint and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My husband and I came to this restaurant for lunch because it received such good reviews on TripAdvisor and the reviews were not wrong. Food was excellent. We shared a fried calamari which is nice and light. My husband had the stewed lamb shank that was recommended and it was delicious although a bit heavy for the warm weather out. I had the grilled octopus which was perfectly tender but just a tad over charred for my taste but still very delightful. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best food in Kamari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This restaurant is very traditional and the staff are great. The food was the best I've tasted in a long time

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were visiting Kamari for a few days and happened upon this lovely restaurant after eating at the place next door. we decided to come back the following evening and were very glad we did!
We had to wait for a table (approximately half hour) but that was fine, we weren't in a rush anyway and ended up enjoying a glass of wine and g&t and listening to the live music whilst we were waiting.
We chose a relatively simple meal - tzatziki and pitta followed by the Greek platter to share and it was LOVELY. the tzatziki was thick and creamy, the pitta warm and salty and the hot clay pot was full of lovely Greek treats - it was a real delight. The live music brought a real atmosphere to the restaurant and everyone enjoyed themselves
It was the cheapest meal we had experienced in Kamari and definitely the nicest! stay away from the overrated restaurants on the promenade where you are accosted every five minutes for your custom- head to the back streets and you will find a hidden gem like The Alexander!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We hadn't booked, which I think is advisable for the evening, but tables were moved around to make room for our table for 4. Good service and lovely choice of menu. Best part was Greek duo who played the whole time we were there, at least 1 hour. Keyboard and Bazouki produced background music some tunes livelier than others and we did clap along a couple of times. Great family feel here. Would return definitly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Alexander also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.