We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Alexander

Restaurant Alexander
Kamari Village Santorini | Near Loizos Super Market in Kamari, Kamari 84700, Greece
+30 2286 032131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 99 Restaurants in Kamari
Price range: $20 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Made with great care, love and respect for the Greek cuisine's History, the restaurant "Alexander in Kamari" offers for more than 15 years now a great variety of traditional Greek dishes, fresh fish and special plates from the Northern Greece & Greek or Local Santorinian wines. Spacious and cosy Restaurant, decorated with love and filled with elements of Greek culture and history, great recipes and very attentive service make ALEXANDER Restaurant at Kamari in Greece one of the best choices for an unique tour into the Greek world of flavors. With the sounds of live Greek music that will make you feel a pleasant mood enjoying the Greek culture and tradition. We invite you, your Family and your Friends to experience unique Greek evenings and nights enjoying Greek food in a fantastic area under the sounds of the "bouzouki". You can make your wedding party with every detail you want and any other social event you like to make in our Restaurant.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The live music was possibly one of our favourite things about this place, although the good was excellent and fabulous quality. The music really set the atmosphere and everyone was in the mood of things and it was a real friendly and comforting time eating there. The staff are all lovely and would definitely recommend and go again!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    82
    16
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wrecsam, Wales
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nearly, but not quite the most authentic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Had a great meal in this very popular restaurant in Kamari which was invariably busy. It is geared towards the tourist market so not quite the authentic Greek Taverna they like to make themselves out to be.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“BEST TRADITIONAL GREEK FOOD IN KAMARI??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The only way that I know how to really thank someone for a wonderful experience is to give them a 5 star review on Trip Advisor and Restaurant Alexander certainly deserves this.
We spent 2 weeks in Kamari, Santorini and this was the best restaurant that we visited for traditional Greek food and great atmosphere with traditional bouzouki and keyboard music every night.
The first time that we ate here, we hadn’t booked and had to wait 5 minutes for a table. This was the only restaurant in Kamari which was full night after night. We were handed a glass of ouzo to drink whilst we waited which was a nice touch. The owner got some of the diners on the floor for some dancing during the evening and, whilst we didn’t join them, we certainly enjoyed the atmosphere, so much so that we went back to enjoy our last evening in Kamari but booked beforehand.
Our table was ready on arrival and we were acknowledged and clearly remembered from our first visit. Once again, the food, music and ambiance were excellent. I can recommend this taverna for good traditional food served at a reasonable price with good music and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

One of our favourite restaurants, we find it excellent value for money, lots of Classic Greek dishes to choose from. The atmosphere is very friendly and welcoming. Evenings are usually accompanied with typical live Greek music, 2 musicians sometimes accompanied by the hosts. It's a place where we look forward to returning to on our first night in Kamari.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best traditional Greek food in kamari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

On our recent holiday we asked for traditional Greek tavernas at our hotel - one of the ones recommended was Alexander.

It's on a back street parallel with the front promenade at the original end of the resort, so you wouldn't stumble across it - but it's definitely worth finding.

Absolutely the best Traditional Greek food and atmosphere in Kamari.

Family run unlike many and the food was fantastic - stuffed peppers, stifado, sea bream, kleftiko etc - 6 of us ate there on more than one occasion and no one had a poor word to say.

In addition, every night a duet play traditional Greek songs - some times accompanied by Dad on the drum !! They really added to the atmosphere.

Some nights you need to book a table, it's that popular - but you must visit if in Kamari.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Alexander also viewed

 
Kamari, Santorini
Kamari, Santorini
 

Been to Restaurant Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Alexander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.