We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FISH HEAVAN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AQUARIUM Restaurante Arroceria

AQUARIUM Restaurante Arroceria
Passatge Portixol, Cala'n Bosch | 39. 928283, 3. 833574, 07760 Cala'n Bosch, Minorca, Spain
971387442
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Cala'n Bosch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $26 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FISH HEAVAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The fish was excellent. The atmosphere and views were superb, but not a very child friendly restaurant. But if you like fish, this is a must visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    71
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coxhoe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited the aqurium during our holiday and had one of the best meals weve had in a long time, the staff were friendly and helpful and made our 3yr old very welcome, there was plenty of choice on the menu my partner had fish and i had a steak , if we return to cala n bosch we will definatly be back to this restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a meal here as art of a half board hotel package. We had a listed menu choice because of this but what we had was lovely if you like seafood. The food other people were getting from the main menu looked good too. The staff were efficient and hard working and very pleasant. Popular with Spanish people which is always a good recommendation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“a special occasion on our very first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

As the name suggests the place specialises in fish and seafood dishes. I am a big lover of seafood and fish so was delighted when my husband (not a fish eater unless it is fish&chips) suggested we go there for our wedding anniversary meal. Luckily, they had one dish he could eat in there too - steak! As soon as we entered, the staff were very attentive to us, they freshly laid a table for us, they basically cleared the already pre-set table for 4, and laid it freshly for 2 (new cloth and all). We decided to sit inside and it was better in the long term as we had a lovely & peaceful place in an air-conditioned room while still being able to watch the passers-by along the harbour. I had the traditional menorcan dish, Calderetta, which, although rather pricey (36 Euros), was amazing! Very messy but also very filling (you get a bib, various tools for the seafood and a bowl with water to wash your fingers). Instead of a dessert we just had an iced coffee which was an experience in itself!...I am saying no more, you`ll have to try for yourselves. Everything in the restaurant is pricey but adequate to the presentation and quality of the dishes and the top class service. Nobody rushed us, staff were very helpful, polite, with excellent English skills, simply first class. I think this restaurant is 5star! We loved our meal, the ambience (spectacular 40 ft aquarium with the authentic Mediterranean fauna can be admired) and the whole experience which was worth paying that bit extra. Would definitely recommend it.
note: When you arrive with kids, the staff put a glass bowl with a goldfish in the middle of the table which will keep the wee ones engaged.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Not the best fish restaurant for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was pretty empty on the one night we went and I guess as a result the staff tended to not perform to their best. Provided that you do not mind being inside rather than outside on terrace overlooking marina then the big plus of Aquarium is a dedicated non- smoking area with an aquarium along the whole of the back wall. I think if busy with many children around this could be a problem as even on our visit when largely empty children kept running up to the aquarium around the tables, quite disconcerting.

Quite a small menu and my wife had the Caldera which was large and enjoyable while I had a steak which was fine. The desserts were good and well presented but the place lacked atmosphere and friendliness.

I thought it over priced and pretty uninviting although quality of food good and not a patch on Cafe Balear.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AQUARIUM Restaurante Arroceria also viewed

Cala'n Bosch, Minorca
Cala'n Bosch, Minorca
 
Cala'n Bosch, Minorca
 

Been to AQUARIUM Restaurante Arroceria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AQUARIUM Restaurante Arroceria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.