We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Aquarium

Restaurant Aquarium
Passatge Portixol, 0, 07769 Cala'n Bosch, Minorca, Spain
971387442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Cala'n Bosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Coxhoe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We visited the aqurium during our holiday and had one of the best meals weve had in a long time, the staff were friendly and helpful and made our 3yr old very welcome, there was plenty of choice on the menu my partner had fish and i had a steak , if we return to cala n bosch we will definatly be back to this restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jherr1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sunderland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had a meal here as art of a half board hotel package. We had a listed menu choice because of this but what we had was lovely if you like seafood. The food other people were getting from the main menu looked good too. The staff were efficient and hard working and very pleasant. Popular with Spanish people which is always a good recommendation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank retracenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a special occasion on our very first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

As the name suggests the place specialises in fish and seafood dishes. I am a big lover of seafood and fish so was delighted when my husband (not a fish eater unless it is fish&chips) suggested we go there for our wedding anniversary meal. Luckily, they had one dish he could eat in there too - steak! As soon as we entered, the staff were very attentive to us, they freshly laid a table for us, they basically cleared the already pre-set table for 4, and laid it freshly for 2 (new cloth and all). We decided to sit inside and it was better in the long term as we had a lovely & peaceful place in an air-conditioned room while still being able to watch the passers-by along the harbour. I had the traditional menorcan dish, Calderetta, which, although rather pricey (36 Euros), was amazing! Very messy but also very filling (you get a bib, various tools for the seafood and a bowl with water to wash your fingers). Instead of a dessert we just had an iced coffee which was an experience in itself!...I am saying no more, you`ll have to try for yourselves. Everything in the restaurant is pricey but adequate to the presentation and quality of the dishes and the top class service. Nobody rushed us, staff were very helpful, polite, with excellent English skills, simply first class. I think this restaurant is 5star! We loved our meal, the ambience (spectacular 40 ft aquarium with the authentic Mediterranean fauna can be admired) and the whole experience which was worth paying that bit extra. Would definitely recommend it.
note: When you arrive with kids, the staff put a glass bowl with a goldfish in the middle of the table which will keep the wee ones engaged.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weeradus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not the best fish restaurant for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was pretty empty on the one night we went and I guess as a result the staff tended to not perform to their best. Provided that you do not mind being inside rather than outside on terrace overlooking marina then the big plus of Aquarium is a dedicated non- smoking area with an aquarium along the whole of the back wall. I think if busy with many children around this could be a problem as even on our visit when largely empty children kept running up to the aquarium around the tables, quite disconcerting.

Quite a small menu and my wife had the Caldera which was large and enjoyable while I had a steak which was fine. The desserts were good and well presented but the place lacked atmosphere and friendliness.

I thought it over priced and pretty uninviting although quality of food good and not a patch on Cafe Balear.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Good food, well cooked, well presented. A varied menu not restricted to seafood. Overlooking the marina.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank V9GTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Aquarium also viewed

Cala'n Bosch, Minorca
 
Cala'n Bosch, Minorca
Cala'n Bosch, Minorca
 

Been to Restaurant Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing