We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fidelity card not worth having” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elba Sara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elba Sara to your Saves list
Hotel Elba Sara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Jandia Km 11, Urb Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fidelity card not worth having”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Checked in 7th may the lovely lady on the desk said I got the email requesting a top floor and welcome back gave us the key card to room 528 the room was very tired and the view was the roof of the atlantico next door we went back down to desk and was offered another room 2nd floor with no view we explained only reason we booked again with this hotel was for the fantastic views it offered we was then offered to check out of our room at 10:30 the next morning and another room would be ready at 12:30 we did this and was very happy to have got room 517 fantastic room with the best view we could have hoped for . But still feel having a fidelity card is not worth the effort because you don't get anything in return . The hotel is very clean the staff are very friendly and helpful the food is good with lots of choice but a little cold . Would we stop again YES .

Room Tip: High floor 4/5/6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Matt A,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara on this website for travellers.

We are very sorry to read that you think that the fidelity card is not worth having as it is totally for free and it gives you a few advantages of which three of them are subject to availability.The express check-in, late check-out and an upgrade are subject to availability. When we are fully booked we are unfortunately unable to offer these advantages, but you will always get your 5% discount if you book straight with the hotel, you will always get your welcome gift, you will have priority in case of being fully booked, you will get our latest offers send to your email and you will always accumulate your fidelity points which can be exchanged for free nights in any of our Elba Hotels, a free game of golf or a free entrance into the Sheraton Spa and wellness centre, so I find it hard to believe that it is not worth having.

However we are glad to read that this won’t hold you back from visiting us again and we are already looking forward to your next visit.


Sunny regards from Fuerteventura.
David Navarro González
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    796
    692
    253
    91
    30
See reviews for
776
661
40
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

First time visiting fuerteventura .. This holiday was perfect. . Loved hotel .. Spotlessly clean staff friendly and helpfull .. Food very nice .. Ideal location for town and beach. .. Not one complaint regarding this lovely hotel . Hope to return . Would certainly book same hotel

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Carol E,

Thank you very much for your positive review about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.
We are proud to read that we have fulfilled your expectations and we are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff
David Navarro González
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Having read many reviews of this hotel I think a few people have been unduly harsh in their comments.

The food is exactly what you would expect from a 3/4 star European hotel catering for many different nationalities, many of whom are on an all inclusive basis. There was always a reasonable choice and if you measure the quality of a meal by the volume you can eat, it is fine. You would never describe the food as anything other than mass produced to feed the masses within a budget. The hotel did offer a one visit to an Italian themed evening where there was a la carte service and this was a fantastic evening, apart from the manager standing in the restaurant for 25 minutes listening to an aggressive guest who wanted to complain about anything and everything, perhaps next time the manager would move the unreasonable guest outside so we don't have to endure the endless moaning and unreasonable demands. The overall ambience in the main restaurant is that of a busy motorway service area, which is to be expected when feeding 600 people in a self-service format.

The rooms are excellent. Housekeeping a bit hit or miss depending upon which maid is on duty.

The pool area is spotlessly clean and the staff encourage guests not to "book" sunbeds by placing towels on them early in the morning.

Drinks if on an all inclusive package are local brands, pretty weak and of average quality in comparison to premium brands, but what do you expect? The bar staff seem to vary in service depending on who is on duty.

The entertainment team work so hard at pleasing everyone and their enthusiasm is amazing.

On the day of checking out, we were told to vacate the room by 1200 and at that time your all inclusive status stops. Seems a bit harsh if you are then waiting until 7.00pm to be taken to the airport.

As for daft things like the pool being cold, the winds being strong and ground floor rooms having a lesser view than 6th floor rooms; apply some common sense.

Overall a great value for money hotel. If you require fine dining in an intimate restaurant this isn't the hotel for you.

Room Tip: High up for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear robert969

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara with other potential visitors.
We are glad to read that you describe the establishment as: ’’ a great value for money hotel’’ and that you enjoyed your a la carte meal however we have to apologize for if the manager did not handle the situation with the complaining customer on the best way , under your point of view.

We also like to thank you for mentioning our entertainment team and we do hope to see you again among us in the near future.

Please contact us directly for if there is anything we can do to make your next stay more enjoyable.

Sunny regards from all the Elba Sara staff
David Navarro González
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have visiting the Elba Sara now for four years and each year has been better than the last….
Elba Sara remains a lovely hotel set in immaculately cared for grounds. The majority of the staff are friendly, happy, incredibly helpful, accommodating and clearly adore their jobs. The facilities are good; the pools large and inviting, restaurants are clean, fresh and serve a variety of good well cooked food. Enough sun loungers to go around and plenty of parasols. The animations team are incredible, even turning their hands to evening entertainments! Children are well catered for and the parents are free to enjoy the activities. Rooms are spacious and clean. Drinks are free flowing and everything in that department is geared towards a good time…… So why is there a BUT coming???

Whilst I realise that a personal experience is just that, personal, it is never-the-less an experience of that hotel and as such, should be shared. Our party included a mobility impaired, medically and physically vulnerable young adult. (Daughter of 22) We therefore requested (as always) ground floor, adjacent rooms. On arrival at 19.30, we were informed that whilst the request, e mailed by our Travel Agents had been earlier granted, for some inexplicable reason, her room had been reallocated (by the Manager!) and our daughter was now ten rooms away. The duty Manageress grasped the problem immediately and ‘upgrading’ us to a family suite on the SIXTH floor, but not before showing us our names crossed out on the original room booking! Weary and brow beaten, we accepted. However, it was soon clear this was a woefully unsuitable solution for all our needs, so early next morning I approached reception again and repeated our request for adjacent GROUND floor rooms. The Manager, appearing defensive and clearly believing we just wanted the best we could argue out of him, offered us the (still on a higher floor) best suite in the hotel despite our explanations and protests! Eventually he suggested he approach a couple allocated the ground floor room beside our original (and still vacant) room and offered THEM the upgraded suite, which they delightedly accepted by that evening. We informed the Thomas Cook rep who also spoke to the Manager, but the matter was already being dealt with by then .

After the first, what I considered, ‘lost’ 24 hours, the holiday followed uneventfully with the fun and laughter that we had always previously associated with a week at the Elba Sara; until the final day…

Although due to be collected by Thomas Cook at 16.30 (for a 20.10 flight), after breakfast we packed our cases, vacated our rooms and handed in our card keys to the desk and as per instructions before 10am. To our and a fellow passengers horror, the SAME Manager proceeded to remove our All Inclusive arm bands and brusquely advised that All Inclusive entitlement ends on your final day with the vacation of your rooms unless you arrived after 22.00 on your first day! I pointed out that as we arrived at 19.30 on Wednesday, we should be entitled to the first seven hours of our stay on the second and final Wednesday UNTIL 19.30 (meaning a whole day effectively that had been paid for) He disputed this and claimed that you paid for the room only and once the room was vacated, (even though you had paid for it on your fist day in your absence whilst still traveling) your All Inclusive entitlement ended. However, he acknowledged our issues earlier in the week and gave us, and our fellow passenger, a meal voucher for lunch that day. So there we were, trapped in the reception area with no access even to drinking water all morning with temperatures climbing towards 30 degrees! In the end, we wandered over to what proved to be an oasis in the Atlantico shopping centre! Here we spent three hours chatting in the cool café drinking cola and enjoying their WiFi facilities. At lunch no one asked for the voucher and I didn’t offer it either, but I did leave it in the ‘tips’ plate.

A request is of course simply that, a request, and not a promise; but there needs to be some distinction made between a desire and necessity for medical/disability reasons identified when room allocation is made by Hotel Management. Also I realise there has to be a ‘cut off’ point when All Inclusive ends, but if the passengers are not being collecting until much later in the day, then clearly some agreement should be struck between Travel Company and hotel to ensure its customer will not be left wanting because the contract between customer and hotel is deemed to have ceased.

Personally I feel it is a shame that attitudes have changed at the Elba Sara and decisions are clearly no longer being made for the fulfilment of the customer first and foremost. Whilst I am certain the Manager feels offering sweeteners to address errors and misjudgements makes for a happy customer, he is mistaken; it will ultimately not only lead to greater and deeper dissatisfaction, but loss of custom also. I am deeply saddened to say we will not be returning for a fifth visit.

Room Tip: Request ground floor for mobility issues, but you are not guaranteed this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Pashapuss,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your 4th visit to the Hotel Elba Sara on this website.

We are very proud to have so many regular customers who always help us to improve by giving us their honest opinion and feedback and we would be very disappointed if we would lose such a regular customer due to some mistake made by one of our employees. We are very sorry to read that we could not meet your room request from the start of your holiday however we are happy to know that everything got arranged on the second day of your stay.
The incident did not happen for some inexplicable reason, it was not intentional but just an error due to another customer with a very similar name who arrived before you.
As we did not have two rooms next to each other on the ground floor available at that moment we offered you an upgrade to a Suite.
On the next day; as we still did not have such rooms available we offered you an extra upgrade to the presidential Suite, our best and most luxury room, with the best views and most spacious terrace. As this alternative wasn’t satisfying you we contacted the people who previously occupied your room and offered them an upgrade to a Suite so they would vacant the room.
I think it is appropriate to inform you that it is very difficult to meet all the room requests when we are fully booked and in your case we have done the impossible to satisfy you.

As stated in the contract with Thomas Cook and any other travel company, the all inclusive finishes at 12:00 o’clock on the day of departure, however you can still use our facilities until pick up time and pay for the drinks and food that you consume.
We are very sorry if Thomas Cook did not inform you about that and referring to your free meal, this was a courtesy from the hotel to try and please you and make up for the error of the day that you arrived.

We still hope to get another chance and see you again among us in the future.

Best regards.
David Navarro
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

First floor rooms rubbish - get moved - no view at all as promised in brochure. 5th floor is the best - email and request room before you go!
Food - very average and boring!
Pool freezing!
Entertainment - terrible and left as so loud!!
Better to be in town - a taxi ride to get there.
Definitely not 4 star!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear gemini67,

Thank you for your short comment about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.
Our rooms on the first floor are of exactly the same quality as any other room in the hotel. Except they have a terrace instead of a balcony which gives direct access to the solarium.

The pool is only heated during the winter season and has a temperature of 23ºC these days.
We are glad to read that the reception managed to offer you a room change during this busy period and we are sorry if we could not meet your expectations from the start of your holiday.

Best regards from Fuerteventura.
David Navarro González
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed for a week In May 2014. Had a lovely room with a beautiful view on the 6th floor. We are members of the Fidelity reward scheme and e mailed the hotel before we arrived to let them know where we would like to have our room . Our request was fully met.

The beds were very comfortable. A new flat screen TV was installed whilst we were there but we could still only get Sky news, channel 4 HD and a movies channel.

We went all inclusive for the first time as we got a good deal with Thomas Cook. We really enjoyed this and made the most of being able to get refreshments, food and ice cream whenever we wanted it. The food in the restaurant was varied with some days being better than others. This may have been because of our own tastes. Pork was often on the menu as was steak. At lunch time there was a reasonable choice including burgers, hot dogs and pizza. There was plenty of choice for sweets with lots of mini cakes. Also cream caramel and ice cream every day. On Mediterranean night there was a chocolate fountain with fresh fruit and marshmallows.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and extensive. It is next to a shopping centre and about a 20 Minute walk into town.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Lower floors can have the view obstructed by trees and foliage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear margshel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara on this website.

We are happy to read that we were able to meet your request thanks to your email prior to arrival.
Indeed we are busy installing the new TV’s in every room and once the new system is installed we should be enjoying much more different TV channels which we hope you can witness during your next visit.

Best regards from Fuerteventura.
David Navarro González
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in; We were there on HB basis in Feb 2013 with friends and I have to say the breakfast & Dinner were awesome. The dinner was not spicy at all....(which I didn’t like...a bit more chilly would have given it a bit more flavour). We loved this hotel and was about 20 mins from the airport which was Excellent. We were able to rent bikes for one day and cycled around. Reception staff were awesome !!!! Amazing Desserts!!! Excellent Stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidNavarr0, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear prashan3253,

Thank you very much for sharing your short but positive feedback about your stay in the Hotel Elba Sara with other potential visitors.
We are proud to have fulfilled your expectations and we also like to thank you for mentioning our reception staff and our desserts.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly with your requests regarding your next visit as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Kind regards from all the Elba Sara staff
David Navarro González
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elba Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Sara

Address: Carretera Jandia Km 11, Urb Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Sara 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Elba Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Sara Hotel Fuerteventura
Elba Sara Antigua
Elba Sara Fuerteventura
Hotel Elba Sara Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elba Sara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.