We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elba sara fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Elba Sara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Elba Sara to your Saves list
Hotel Elba Sara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Jandia Km 11, Urb Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“elba sara fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We found the Elba Sara in a fantastic position in Calta de Fuste with the best beaches just a a lovely stoll away. The food was excellent, with the different evenings we especially enjoyed the king prawns, smoked salmon and mussels. The staff were very attentive and we enjoyed the company of Judith and Inyaki who were most welcoming in the restaurant aswell as a whistling lady who i didnt catch her name but she kept the children amused.
It was my mothers 80th birthday and they helped make it a special day for her and the rest of the family.
The only bad thing i felt was the charge for the tennis court or the crazy golf, which were hardley used and i think it would be better to give every family the chance to book a couple of free sessions each. But this is the only thing i can moan about as the holiday was great . And we look forward to returning. Simmonds

Room Tip: I would ask for a suite or a interconnecting room if a family just so you have enough room and defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear 773LucyS
Thank you very much for such a positive comment about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.

We are very happy to have fulfilled your expectations and we must thank you for the praising words about the location, the food and the staff. I will personally send your regards to the employees that you’ve mentioned (including the whistling lady; Cuky)We are also very happy to read that your mother enjoyed her 80th birthday among us and we are already looking forwards to celebrate her 81st.
Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any type of request regarding your next visit as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Best and sunny regards from all the Elba Sara staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    754
    277
    95
    33
See reviews for
825
753
47
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (568)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a weeks AI stay at the Elba Sara. Initial impression was very good. The staff are polite and friendly and the hotel very clean.
We are a family of 5 with a small baby, we were allocated room 643 which was a lovely suite on the 6th floor. Rooms are a little dated and air con didn't work great but they're more than adequate.
We did however have problems getting pool towels being told by reception they were none free in the hotel. Think by day 3 we finally got some. You are asked to change towels every 3 days but our baby had an accident on our towel and I changed that afternoon however a mature lady receptionist was very offhand and informed me its only every 3 days and walked off in a huff! Not very professional.
Food was good, all buffet style. We didn't use the Tucan for food as it was just burgers, chips etc. Others have commented on food only being warm and that there's a microwave to heat it up, I'm pretty sure the microwave is for baby/toddler food and milk etc as we found food adequately hot and never experienced serving spoons missing. The hotel really caters well for children in the dining area with plastic plates and cups if u choose to use them. Staff, some were brilliant and so friendly, others very rude. Seems one extreme to the other at times!!!
Only downsize we found was having to get up early to reserve some shade for our baby, the hotel should address this as there just isn't enough umbrellas for the amount of guests.
Overall we would visit again. It's a good 4 star hotel, we have stayed in many 4 and 5 star accomodation and in fairness it does deserve its rating. Just few niggles that need sorting, be nice if the hotel acted on the feedback.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear bonbon05

Thank you very much for your honest and complete opinion about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara and for recommending our establishment to other potential visitors.We are glad to have fulfilled your expectations overall apart from the small niggles as you mentioned which we will be happy to work on and to improve as we strive for a complete satisfied customer.
I personally apologize for if any of our employees has been rude to you as this is seriously a comment that surprises and concerns me , so we have always thought that staff shall be something to be proud of. Usually our employees get called the biggest asset of our establishment and we want to do everything possible to keep it that way, so next time please don’t hesitate to communicate this to anybody of our management so we can immediately react upon it.

We hope to see you again in the nearby future so please don’t hesitate to contact us with any questions or requests regarding your next visit as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just got back from the Elba Sara superb rooms very clean ,beautiful grounds. Food very reasonable. Only down side Pool Bar was ver disappointing ,poor food and bad service. having said that we would certainly go back as the rest was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Wendycaplan834

Thank you very much for your short but positive comment about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.
We are happy to have fulfilled your expectations apart from the only downside that you have mentioned which I will communicate in our next reunion to see how and where to improve.

We remain at your disposal for any types of requests regarding your next visit so please don’t hesitate to contact us.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We returned from our week at the Elba Sara yesterday staying on a all inclusive basis with our two children aged 6 and 2.

On arrival at the hotel check in was swift and smiley, we were allocated room 130 (take note of this number). We had a view over looking the road that runs along side the hotel and the shopping complex. The room was in need of renovation, there was someone's name carved in the dressing table, broken coat hangers in the wardrobe, pubic hairs around the bath, hair dryer socket was loose on the wall, our double bed was two singles pushed together, they were also made up with single sheets. Myself and my partner are in our early 30's and have not reached the stages of sleeping in seperate beds!!

I requested a room change and was told to return the following day as the hotel was full. Travelling with our two small children ment that we needed to get unpacked and sorted, being left in room limbo made this impossible. Day two of our holiday we were given room 117, this room over looked the pool, this was larger and clean.

The hotel grounds and pool areas are spotless, we spent most of our time around the children's pool which was heated. In order to secure a space with a parasol you needed to be up early as beds were reserved with towels. Getting up early was never really an issue as the hotel is very noisey. The aircraft noise starts at 7.30am, with the cleaners starting at around the same time. Unfortunatly for us our room was located across from one of cleaning stations so we faced a barrage of cleaning trolleys and the door opening to the storage room.

I didnt see any of the daytime entertainment staff, I can only presume that this was focused on the main pool area, we were never approached by the entertainment staff or kids club staff which we found strange as on other holidays staff have always been wandering around chatting to people.

Evening entertainment was hit and miss, outside acts are not brought in everynight, most hotels we have stayed in have outside acts on at least six nights out of seven.

The hotel has one main buffet restaurent whch opens for breakfast, lunch and evening meal, there is also a snack bar which opens for all inclusive food for two hours in the afternoon. Breakfast was ok however on occassion things ran out. Lunch and evenings meals were very samey, we got bored of the food and in no way believe that the food is of a 4* standard. There also seemed to be a shortage of serving spoons/tongs which led to people using the same one for lots of different things, not good for allergies or veggies. Drinks are either waiter service or self service.

We go away at least once a year to a 4* all inclusive the Elba Sara did not live up to our expectations or all of the postive trip advisor reviews hence my review. I can only presume that people who have rated the hotel highly are people who have not visited a good 4* hotel.

Not good, not bad, Just average!

Room Tip: If you are allocated room 130 refuse it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear 800sam

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.

We are very sorry for if we could not meet your expectations with the food and the entertainment and for the inconvenience that the change of rooms has caused you after your first night.
Our entertainers announce all the activities through the microphone before starting the activities for those who like to take part but do not go around the pool from sun bed to sun bed as we try to respect the rest of our customers. we do pressume for doing soft animation.
Our mini club is free and open every day for the kids between 4 and 12 years, younger children can also make us of the facilities as long as they are accompanied by an adult.
We do have 5 outside acts / week and 2 nights of our entertainment team + minimum twice a week we also have live music in the bar upstairs.

We hope to get another chance in the nearby future, therefore don’t hesitate to contact us directly with your questions or requests regarding your next visit as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Best and sunny regards from Fuerteventura.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Just returned from a 7 day break at the Elba Sara, The receptionists were friendly, helpful and efficient.
Its our third stay at the Elba Sara, we are Fidelity card holders and this is the best Elba hotel we have stayed in.
The rooms are large with plenty of Wardrobe and draw space, tea and coffee making facilities, a large bathroom with sink bath with overhead shower toilet and hairdryer A fridge and safe are in the room with the safe costing 4 Euros per day.
The food was better than our last two stays the food was hotter, full breakfast, cereals, salad, fruit, tea and coffee. lunch is a small menu and the evening meal had plenty of cooked meats fish and vegetables salads and cakes and fruit.
Two main bars in the evening no problem getting drinks, the bar staff will know when its your turn and what you drink after a couple of days, all speak very good English and will have a conversation with you.
No problem getting a deckchair in fact there were to many around the pool, you were sitting on top of each other at times.
15 to 20 minute walk down the promenade to a small town with shops restaurants and bars.
Entertainment was fine four shows in the main stage area downstairs and three singers in the top bar.
A/I bar shuts at 11.00pm in the evenings, And the A/I ends at 12 noon on the day of departure.
With an airport transfer time of around 10 minutes and only 12 euros we had a taxi to and from the hotel. However, it is on the flight path of the hotel, and you do get air traffic passing overhead during the daytime. (You soon get use to it.)
Free Wi-Fi in reception and main bar area and some rooms near reception.
The hotel is very clean and well presented The staff are all friendly and very hard working, If you want a nice, easy-going break this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floors for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Dave C

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and other potential visitors.We also like to thank you for your loyalty towards us at the Elba Sara as we are very proud to have so many customers like yourselves who come back to visit us every time.
We are also very happy to read that you have noticed some improvements in our menu and we must thank you again for mentioning the friendliness and hard work of our staff.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us with any type of request regarding your next visit as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Best and sunny regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

On the plus side this is a very clean hotel in all areas with brilliant staff throughout. However several issues resulted in us feeling it is more 3 star than 4. Firstly the group that own this hotel offer a scheme called Fidelity club which is supposed to offer some benefits to members including express check-in, free room upgrade and a free complimentary gift in the room. As we had emailed details of our holiday a couple of weeks before we arrived I expected at least one of these but got none. We were told the hotel was full (we know it wasn't) so couldn't have a room upgrade and had to ask twice before we received our gift two days into our stay. This scheme is a waste of time. The restaurant could not be faulted for choice and presentation but quality really left a lot to be desired. If you like cold meats and salads you'll be happy but all the meat cooked on the griddle (even chicken breast) was tough and tasteless and most of the sauces bland. The best option appeared to be fish which we ate for most of our stay. The desserts comprised of cakes and jelly or ice cream - a bit unimaginitive. Our room was fine but unfortunately our stay was spoiled by a screaming child at 6am every morning next door and there was no point asking for a move as we were told the hotel was full! The hotel should do what other hotels of this size manage to do and allocate different floors to certain family groups to be fair to everyone. Families with very young children on some floors and other floors for older families and couples. It's not hard to achieve.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear David s
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Elba Sara.
First of all we apologize for not having fulfilled your expectations but I find it hard to agree with you that our fidelity program is a waste of time.All our employees always strive for a 100% satisfaction of our customers and I’m sure that they would have been very happy to offer you all the advantages of our Fidelity card if that was possible.
As it states in the terms and conditions of our fidelity program some of the advantages can not be offered in case we are fully booked, which certainly was the case during your stay. Of course you should have had your welcome gift upon arrival and not two days into your stay and I apologize for that. You also started accumulating points which will offer you free nights in our hotels.

We will study your comment of allocating families with children separate from those without.
We hope to see you again in another occasion therefore please don’t hesitate to contact us directly with any type of questions or requests as we will do our utmost to meet them.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just got back from a week AI with my wife. overall we thought the hotel was very good.
Check in was quick and although room wasnt ready we had lunch whilst it was sorted. We had asked for a high floor and double bed and got 6th floor. Room was fine - not massive but perfectly acceptable. Brilliant views, lovely bathroom, spotlessly clean. Downside was double bed was actually two twin beds with single sheets, and then placed close togther- that doesn't count as a double. Room cleaned every day and was totally cleaned by very polite staff.

Was not happy with having to pay 4 euros a day for the room safe. it just felt a cheap shot to get some extra cash. It didnt even work properly as the card sometimes simply wouldnt open or close it and we had to get maintenance up- we gave up in the end.
Bar staff brilliant - Monchgo was fantastic - beer excellent, wine perfectly drinkable as were most spirits - you expect local spirits on AI and I have had a lot worse. so very good.
Restaurant was nice- a bit crammed together but a very nice conservatory type area,. Staff were excellent, Food was very good for AI - salads wonderfully fresh, varied, always freshly cooked meats, fish etc - so very pleased.

Pools were a bit small and whilst lots of loungers they were crammed together and it was tough to get a lounger where you could move around under a sun shade- there wasnt enough room.

pool and area very clean and well kept.

I would prefer a swim up bar (there isnt one) and the opportunity to eat in the pool side snack area which is reserved for non AI at lunch- but that's just personal preference.

Resaurant buffet is long trousers for gentlemen in evening- jeans were fine.

Beach in front of Elba Carlotta and Sheraton very good and about two hundred yards away

Had a look in the Elba Carlota and Sheraton. Fair to say pool area seemed much bigger in both but can't comment on food or staff.

Overall excellent hotel, would definitely go back. Food, drinks, staff all excellent. Did n't like the mean charge for the safe nor the twin beds used a double.

Weather by the way was lovely with little wind .
I must take the clubs next time and play a bit of golf - I took the fishing rods and went fishing from the rocks instead - but thats a different story.
Overall excellent and many thanks to friendly helpful staff who seem to care that you enjoy your holiday

Room Tip: 6th floor has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David N, Director General at Hotel Elba Sara, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear riverwader ,

thank you very much for such a long and useful report about your experience at the Hotel Elba Sara.We are happy Knowing we have fulfilled your expectations but still have some points to improve in order to achieve the excellence.

We are also very proud that you have appreciated the work of our staff, and they have been helpful to make your stay even more convenient and comfortable.

We hope to see you all again soon, and we remain at your disposal for any question.

Best regards from all the Elba Sara staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Elba Sara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elba Sara

Address: Carretera Jandia Km 11, Urb Fuerteventura Golf Resort, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elba Sara 4*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Elba Sara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elba Sara Hotel Fuerteventura
Elba Sara Antigua
Elba Sara Fuerteventura
Hotel Elba Sara Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Elba Sara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.