We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2* Hotel, Honest Review!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caleta Garden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Caleta Garden to your Saves list
Caleta Garden
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juan Ramon Soto Morales 15, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“2* Hotel, Honest Review!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here as a family for one week, all inclusive 29th July-5th August. I am writing this review with the mind that IT IS A 2* hotel so the reviews will be fair and honest to reflect the hotel rating.

Hotel: Upon arrival we thought the hotel was clean in the lobby and well maintained. The reception staff were pleasant and she allowed us to go straight through for food as the dinner hall was closing at 9.

Rooms: We had a studio apartment was clean (but musty smelling at first) with 2 beds and a settee (even though there was three of us in the room), kitchenette, tv and balcony. Our room was on the first floor and our balcony was a patio with a big brick wall, although we didn't spend any time there at all. The rooms were basic but any extras, kettle, toaster, fan, iron, hair dryer, tv channels you had to pay for! The cleaners came very other day and were pleasant and the rooms were satisfactorily cleaned, however they came around at about half 2, which for a family with a small child was siesta time...

Pool: The sunbeds were uncomfortable, and not enough for the amount of guests after the stampede at 9am. The pool was freezing cold and the children's area had cracked paint on the floor. We didn't spend much time there.

Food: Not a great deal of choice, some days they only had fish on and no other meat selection. Left overs are re-used into something else the next day. The deserts were disappointing with very little choice.
The staff are severely over worked, working the bar and restaurant - as a result tables were not set up for the next diner to arrive. Nether the less we found the staff who worked the bar and restaurant extremely friendly and they obviously were happy at their work. Snacks were nice from the bar, toasties in between meals but this could be extended to evenings when people have had a drink and feeling peckish! Our biggest complaint is that the kitchen is separate from the dining hall and the chefs were walking past the stage and bar area with hot food when the kids disco was on.

Entertainment: The children's entertainment was a kids disco which our child enjoyed. The resort entertainer Tony Caleta was the soul of the place, without him the place would be a dreary hovel. There were darts, pool, pool games and bingo all ran by him in between running the bar. He always looked tired though, again this is all the staff doing a million jobs.

Our check out was 11am, charges to stay extra so we just left our suitcases in the lobby. The transfer info didn't come through so another couple had to ring up and find out what time we were all going, that was with jet2.

All in all Fuertaventura is a beautiful place, very quiet. We particularly enjoyed Oasis Park Zoo and Fado Rock restaurant.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms 123 and 120 have rock walls for balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    131
    123
    64
    67
See reviews for
110
174
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here back in April with my best friend on A/I basis. We had a two bedroom apartment and to be honest we couldn't fault it - it was spacious, spotlessly clean (it was cleaned daily) and nicely furnished. It over looked the pool and had a lovely terrace.
We found that the food was good - there was plenty to choose from and it was presented well. We enjoyed the breakfast best - full English (also continental). Like all A/I it was a bit repetitive but having said that, there was something for everyone.
The location is brilliant - bar's and shop's directly opposite and the lovely beach just a five minute walk away.
All the staff were lovely. We had a warm welcome when we checked in - all staff were polite, friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Well done to you all!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but we heard a few guest's moaning - all I can say is if you want 5*, then pay for 5*. This hotel is well worth the money you pay.
All in all, we had a wonderful holiday and we are planning a return visit to this lovely hotel in October. See you all soon!

Room Tip: Don't book transfer's to and from the airport - the taxi's are cheaper. The hotel recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here with friends and family, the hotel is basic but very clean. All inclusive was a bit samey at mealtimes but I always found something to enjoy to eat. The staff (apart from one person) were all very friendly. As with all hotels you get what you pay for, we managed to book this hotel very cheaply in May but having looked into going back in September it seems a bit pricey for what it is now. We have been here about 4 times now and have always found it very friendly full of British people, having said that in May we found a lot of Germans staying there so it wasn't as easy to make friends. The maids work very hard to keep everywhere clean and tidy and the rooms are adequate for your stay. The hotel us in a good location near the shops, bars and beach. I would recommend this if you are not expecting luxury and fine dining, all in all we have always enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Do not get a roadside room as a busy noisy nightclub is across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I'm just back from an 8 night stay in Caleta gardens, and I must say that it was one of the best hotels I've stayed in abroad.I had a self catering room which was on the first floor over-looking the pool. There was a rush for sunbeds every morning but it's the same in most hotels. The room was spotless clean and was cleaned throughout the week. The pool area was also cleaned every morning. I didn't eat in the hotel at all so I can't comment on the food. However, this hotel is very central and close to shops, bars and restaurants. The biggest supermarket (atlantico) was a good 30 minute walk away. There are 2 main beaches,both very nice! I would definitely come back to this hotel next time I go to Fuerteventura! It was worth every penney! If you're looking for a relaxing laid back holiday, Caleta Gardens is the place to go.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here from 25th July to 3rd August. Hotel very clean and staff worked hard. Food was not great. Same food most days, not a good selection for children.I had uncooked meat on several occasions. My son had stomach pains and diarrhoea for 2 days. We ate out quite a few nights and cooked food in the room instead. A child nearly drowned while we were there and there was no lifeguard on duty. No umbrellas available. Hotel is in a central location but there isn't much to do for children. Cats hanging about the hotel pool scrounging for food. Cockroaches in my sons room. Wifi was expensive and only worked in reception. No music by pool and very few daily fun activities for the kids. Entertainment at night was pretty poor. Don't go near the Aberdeen Steakhouse! We were shoved into crap seats and the service was awful as well as the food. Blues bar nearby was brilliant, great cocktails! The best sandy beach was a good mile walk away. Nearby beach was ok but sand not as nice. We paid a lot of money for our holiday and felt we didn't get our money's worth. We made the most of a sub standard resort. We would not go back here again.

Room Tip: Rooms 345 - 349 have best pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed here with my friend from 12th - 19th July. It was clean and very quiet, so sleeping was no problem. It is really suited to families with small children. The pool area is quite small, and can feel a bit overcrowded at times, but the beaches nearby are superb and very quiet and peaceful.
There is a buffet for dinner, which was good, if you do not want to venture far, although we only dined there one evening. There are millions of restaurants within walking distance.
It was a relaxing place to stay and the apartment, while dated was very clean.

Room Tip: After midnight, it was very quiet, but perhaps we were just lucky. We were on the 2nd floor facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We went from the 18th july til 1 august 2014 had the worst holiday ever , food horrible the would cook fresh food one day and put what was left over in something the day after giving everyone bad stomach and runs !!! ,Entertainment for children and adults crap NO pool games !! a 3 year old spanish chid drowned took someone nearly 5 minutes to CPR him there was no life guards on they employed a life guard after the accident ...they where fixing the pool and painting it at night sooo when poeple went in the pool in the morning it was still wet !!no canapies for round the pool , a women cut her foot open around the pool on a vent she had 6 stiches in her toe they fixed the vent after it had happened we went all-inclusive for 2 weeks will never go again ...the cleaning sevice was good clean towels and bedding was changed every other day , ants in every room

Room Tip: level 2 is ok we was in 237 that was good , but some of the rooms are full of cockroaches
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caleta Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caleta Garden

Address: Juan Ramon Soto Morales 15, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Caleta Garden 2*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caleta Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caleta Garden Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Caleta Garden De Fuste
Caleta Garden Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caleta Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.