We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a time warp and to top it all we were burgled!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castillo Beach Apartamentos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castillo Beach Apartamentos to your Saves list
Castillo Beach Apartamentos
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Calle Espino, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Alton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Like a time warp and to top it all we were burgled!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have just returned from Castillo Beach Club (Lake apartments) using my uncles time share. The apartments were small and seemed like going back to the 70's with the age and style of the interior. The beds and furniture were worn out. The tea towel we were provided each day looked as though it had been used to wipe a car down. There was no restaurant on site, only a pool bar. The food served there was either sausage or burger with chips or pizza. The other restaurarnts in the area were also poor quality. You had to go into the resort centre to find anything half sensible to eat. There is a train that takes you to the resort centre which costs 1 Euro each. The last train from the resort was 5.20pm. It apparently runs until 8pm in Summer. The complex is surrounded by a high fence and you have to pay a deposit for a key card to get in and out. There is no air conditioning. As a result my uncle opened the door slightly (there are no windows that open) and while we were sleeping someone came into the apartment and stole cash from all of us. When we reported it to reception staff they seemed worryingly unsurprised. This complex needs a total refurbishment which I suspect will not happen as there are just not enough people going to make the investment worth while.

Room Tip: Location not good for anyone who is not completely mobile. Downhillwalk to resort centre just about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    73
    68
    20
    34
See reviews for
57
101
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

I echo previous review from BionicWomen28 about Beach Club except that we didnt travel the Island, (review from carrOn is not the same place as this is not an allinc). It was our first time on Island, I'm quite happy with bars, beach & reasonable restaurants, but from the apartment it was a 25min stroll downhill to the decent places & beach. We always got a taxi back as its not a pleasant walk. I reported broken glass which had been swept in to the front garden area but this was not removed. And yes we had a stray cat come through the open window. The whole stay would have been more comfortable if the bugalows had aircon OR grills/mesh on windows so you could safely leave them open. The grounds & pool were nice enough but the pool bar was virtually none existent, until a man opened it and played loud spanish music hoping you would buy a drink or snack (no where decent to eat nearby, so you had to walk or self cater). Beach area was nice, white sand, so lots of families there. I would go back to the Island but not to Caleta as seen it all. As for the stray cats, 100's, its heart breaking having to walk past them each day.

Room Tip: I will always read up on tripadvisor, even though this was a timeshare place and thought the standar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We have just returned from the castillo beach after spending a week there with our 2 teenage boys.
The bungalows are small and compact, a little bit like staying in a caravan really! They are clean as was the pool area (always plenty of beds and space by the pool)

There was a two ringed hob, fridge, toaster, kettle etc. Beds were hard, but the sheets and towells were clean, but they were worn and in somecases threadbare. The bungalow got very hot at night, air con would have been great, but I supose in 2 star accomodation it was to be expected.

Quiet area, with a 15min walk down into town. Nice beach down by the atlantico centre, with a good spar shop there to buy essentials.

We had a taxi from the airport, cost 11euro. We were advised by reception that taxi's are difficult to get on transfer day (Wednesday) and it would be better to book a transfer back with them - 15euro. We followed their advice..mistake. Less than two hours to flight take off time and the bus still hadn't turned up. On reception door we saw a taxi telephone number and frantically rung. They turned up straight away - fab service. so for transfers back i would ring a taxi if we went again.

There is a gym - but there is a 10 euro charge to use it.

For a cheap and cheerful break in the glorious sunshine the bunglaows were o.k. We only paid £192 for the whole week so we thought it was a bargain break. We would return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Where do i begin, on arrival we were given a map and expected to walk back through the resort and attempt to find our accomodation. We arrived at 10 o,clock at night so the pathways are not very well lit and some of them are not very safe. We were told that a cold buffet would be available from 10.15pm, cold rice and veg horrible. We were all inclusive so we thought at least we would have a good breakfast,wrong.
I could,nt believe what was on offer for breakfast, sprouts,carrots and green beans,snotty eggs and lukewarm frankfurter sausage yummy. Lunch and dinner was the same choice, pork and hake or hake and pork or pork and hake?

One day we lasted all inclusive then ate out every day,although we did keep an eye on the menu but surprise surprise pork and hake or hake and pork.

Cleaning was a joke and i complained to reception but it did not improve. Most of the staff were very abrupt and gave you the impression that they resented you.

I am a seasoned traveller in my early fifties and not a serial whinger,this is the first review that i felt that i have needed to write. Please avoid this hotel if you can it is the only way hotels like this will improve there standards. Very very poor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BionicWoman28
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

Stayed in a friend's timeshare so very low cost holiday.
Not the sort of thing we would normally choose as not sunbathers/ beach users, more sightseers. However, we had a car for the week and the scenery is superb towards the centre of the island.
Can't recommend any of the beach resorts e.g. Corralejo as they appeared to be like Weston-super-Mare only with sun! But then, that's not to our taste.
I used the pool a couple of times. Unheated, but once you got in it was fine.
The bungalow was clean and adequately furnished, but slightly dated. The bed was two singles fixed together - beware the crack.....We needed the blankets for the first few nights of our stay.
Having come home covered in bites we suspect bedbugs - at least take a mosquito coil or similar with you.
The sofa-bed was the only seat in the main room and was desperately uncomfortable for sitting on.
Stray cats will attempt to enter if you leave the door open - beware.
It was OK, but we won't return - few 'cultural' activities and we've driven all the roads and seen all the sights. A week was definately long enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I dated at these bungalows a few years ago with the family. My memories were so good I have decided to go back to caleta in June this year.

I was searching long an hard to find this place so I could book again but with no joy so I have booked into the cay beach instead. Upon searching trip advisor I have now found this place abd thought I would how it a good review as I feel it was such an enjoyable place.

It was clean, simple. Pool on right by your doors. Nice little bar, VERY friendly people who ran the bar there.

I would 100% go back. It's nice to have a relaxing time without being in a huge complex with lots of people. I will go visit the bungalows in June and see what it's like a few years on. I'm sure it's just as enjoyable as I remember.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

We booked this holiday last minute, had lovely bungalow at side of pool- which was cleaned every day very thoroughly. It was a delight to step out every day to have the pool on our doorstep, and to not have to walk down steps or any distance for a swim. It was quiet but quite a few of the rooms were occupied. There was no reception ( well there was but only a few days for a few hours) we found this frustrating as we received our keys on way to resort from our rep and as we booked trips we were out most days when reception was open and ended up not checking in for duration of stay.
It was very close to the small resort and the beach is big clean and just 5 mins walk, the sea front also has a lovely flat path which takes you for a distance around the resort, ideal for disabled. We ate at lins cafe and had fab service and meals and pieros around the corner down the steps by the chinese had free entertainment every night of good quality.
The day out at oasis park was brilliant and we got to touch many animals including a giraffe, then theres the camel ride up the mountain , well worth the couple of quid.
The rooms wer nt high quality but for the budget holiday they were more than satisfactory, and clean.
We would have booked to go back but was told by the rep, theyre not on thomas cook brochures this year as theyre due to be re-furbished, so hopefully we ll be back in the future

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castillo Beach Apartamentos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castillo Beach Apartamentos

Address: Calle Espino, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castillo Beach Apartamentos 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castillo Beach Apartamentos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castillo Beach Apartamentos Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Castillo Beach Fuerteventura
Castillo Beach Apartments
Castillo Beach Apartamentos Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castillo Beach Apartamentos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.