We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Oasis Tropical

Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Oasis Tropical to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aparthotel Oasis Tropical
Nuevo Horizonte, 35630 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 hotels in Caleta de Fuste
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2007

This was a 3 star on Expedia, but I wasn't that impressed. The couch downstairs was very dirty and oily. I had to pull a bed sheet from upstairs and place it on the couch so we could sit and watch tv. The beds weren't that great. I ended up sharing a twin with my wife b/c the other twin sheets were not that clean. I had the worst night sleep! The location was good though, and with the low price, I didn't complain too much. But probably should have been a 2 star.

  • Liked — proximity to other towns
  • Disliked — cleanliness factor not there
  • Stayed March 2003, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    12
    12
    11
See reviews for
8
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fuerteventura
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2007

Myself and my husband and two teenagers are just back from Fuerteventura having stayed in Costa Tropical. The staff were wonderful, rooms much nicer than the average package deal kind. TV in room also and absoloutely spotless apartment. We booked a car online which was handy as Costa Antigua is a couple of minutes outside of the resort of Caleta de Fueste, We are returning to these apartments in another month as they are wonderful value for money but I would recommend car hire although the busses are every half hour or a taxi to caleta is about 3 euros.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

It is time for you to delete all comments on this hotel prior to 2006.
Costa(Oasis) Tropical has a changed management, has been refurbished and now is a very good aparthotel.
The apartments and public areas are very clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant offers good buffet food at a reasonable price. Although rated 2 star it is much better. I have never had clean towels every day in a 2 star hotel!!!

The resort of Neuvo Horizonte is still a building site but Calete del Fuste is only a 3Euro taxi ride away. There is also a regular service bus as well as free transport offered by the hotel.

The large well maintained swimming pool and tiled sunbathing area with free sunbeds are a peaceful area to enjoy a relaxing day but if you want entertaining there is an animation team.

This hotel was excellent value for money (£104 for 2 people in a 1bed apartment) during the Easter holidays.

We will use the hotel again.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murton, England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

We have just returned from one weeks stay at this hotel and felt it necessary to let others know of our experience.

We were allocated this hotel via Going Places, as an allocation on arrivel, guaranteed three stars.

This was NOT three star. I would give it a max of two.

The room was self catering, the fridge was all rusty. The floor under the fridge was dirty as if something had been spilt, and not cleaned.

The electrical sockets were all loose, the light in the bathroom consisted of exposed wires.

The beds were of the folding cot variety, the maids failed to clean the room or balcony properly.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, there is a short street that consists of about two pubs and a building site.
The hotel is right beside the airport, so there is constant takeoff and landing noise.

The pool looked nice, but was often dirty, there were plenty of loungers however and had San Miguel on tap.

The food I have to say was nice with a minimal variety, but there was LOADS of flies, and I'm afraid that Food Hygiene did NOT exist in the hotel, as the food was constantly covered in flies.

The staff would just ''SHOO'' the flies away!!

The entertainment was poor on a evening considering that you were miles away from anywhere else.

The girl/ man ( we never did decide which it was ) in the pizza shop spoke no ENglish and often shouted at you as you were self serving, she was very rude and abusive.

The staff on the whole were quite nice, with the exception of Ellener in the restaurant who was lovely, always helpful.

The first couple of days we were quite disponded about our stay there, but realised that if you had very low standards and were prepared to 'make do', then you could actually have a nice time.

Next year I would definitely prefer to pay extra to stay somewhere better and would not reccommend this hotel or resort to anyone.

  • Liked — San Miguel beer on tap !!
  • Disliked — Poor food hygiene, unsafe electrical, unclean pool and some rude staff, stuck in the middle of nowhere
  • Tips/Secrets — Select a different hotel.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2006

having read previous reports about this hotel,(after booking)we were obviously concerned.our experience at this hotel was however one of the best we have ever had.any past problems that this hotel may have had,have been dealt with without question.the rooms were very clean and of a very acceptable standard.the whole establishment is of a very good standard.the pool area is exeptional with very good sunbed facililities.a new entertainer by the name of johan,who is belgian,but speaks many languages(as you would expect)was brilliant in his enthusiasm to make everyone enjoy their holiday.the food was very good and the staff and maids were of the first class.we cannot stress enough that if anyone reads past reports then ignore them,this hotel with its new owners has got its act together....go and enjoy..!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2005

We booked a last minute (month before) square deal with Airtours, (whom we had travelled with in the past and had been happy with the holiday.)

Our last holidays with Airtours on a sq deal basis had been ok, so we felt confident that this one would be fine, wrong!

The hotel front, faces building work on a big piece of barren land, with all sort of mechanical devices sqwarking out there noise all day (until siesta time) and eveing till daylight stops it.

Then the music starts, the Restaurant music had a great big booming speaker pointed out at the pool, at an very loud volume, but also the pool side bar also played music, so you were listening to two lots of different music, so you could not relax and just enjoy the "one" type of music, as they seemed to always play parrallel to each other, just awful!

We went to see the sites locally, it got worse, all around is more scrap, dumpy, awful land, nothing pleasant to view at all and just more apartment/hotels being built, why any one would want to buy an apartment here is beyond me, there is no beach, greenery or even a decent concrete patch!

Our Room on the 2nd floor was, on first impressions, good, a nice balcony with sea view (over the top of the apartments in front) but when we went to open the balcony door, which was meant to slide, but yes you guessed, it did'nt, it took a mans strength to open it, when I tried, I just did not have the strenght to do it, and when i did, i snapped a nail, (so ladies no fancy manicures for your stay there)

The fridge was disgusting, a soaking wet towel inside, and along the back it was coated with old disgusting food, it was so bad I could not clean it (should not of had to) without retching.

The bath was absolutely appalling, all the enamel was coming off, and the sides looked like they had never been scrubbed, such was the tide mark! it was practically impossible to have a bath, because you would come out dirtier than when you went in.
The baths seemed to be the same all along our block, (did we just have a maid who did not like scrubbing?)

We noticed water all over the bathroom floor but thought it had just not dry after being washed. But the water heater was leaking, we thought it would be seen to in due course, but eventually I placed a bowl under it, and with in a day this bowl was full. However one day, the maid did notice it, and managed to get it fixed.

The room had a micro wave which was useful, as there was no kettle for boiling water, and this speeded up having to use a pan for water. The utensils are very poor if you want to cook, no fish slice, cheese grater and other every day kitchen items, so cooking was difficult.
Was this a ploy to get you to pay for the Half/Full/All inclusive board?

Sadly this hotel was anything but an oasis, but in fairness, the outside pool area was nice, and we were able to enjoy the pool and its surroundings, it's
just a shame, that there is no way of being warned with a square deal that you may end up, on a concrete district, a another version of "Faulty Towers"

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

ok read all the reviews about this hotel after booking and thought oh what have we done but once there we were really surprised. the hotel is really nice and the food is delicious (although not much vegetarian choices) and all the staff were excellent. on the second night went to an irish pub round the corner to be told the hotel was taken over last october (2004) after being in the tv programe HOLIDAYS FROM HELL. they are still finding there feet but we really engoyed staying there, not much to do for kids but 3 euros gets you to caleta de fuste (costa coleta) which has loads for the kids and also the beach. there is a new pizza place just opened inside the hotel and if all inclusive you can get pizzas and garlic bread from 12 till 11pm they are delicious also the buffet opens at 12 till 6pm then dinner starts at 7pm think it was a bit expensive for drinks though. Fuertaventura is a really quiet island with not much crime and loads of chill factors but no discos if thats what your into although pubs are open till about 2am. This will be the 3rd time we have been to the island and would recommend going back to the oasis tropical again as we really had a relaxing holiday hope this helps anyone who has just booked and have read the reviews.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aparthotel Oasis Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Oasis Tropical

Address: Nuevo Horizonte, 35630 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 hotels in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Aparthotel Oasis Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Oasis Tropical Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste
Aparthotel Oasis Tropical Hotel Fuerteventura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Oasis Tropical, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.