We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa to your Saves list
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Discount
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
GreenLeadersSilver level
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is lovely. Nice clean rooms, lovely public areas. Plenty of sun-beds around the various pools. The location is fab, plenty of bars & restaurants within a stones throw. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends. Only downside for me was that the wifi was not free, and quite expensive - but you can find free wifi in the bars nearby. Breakfast was pretty decent, but the food in the evening was the same every night, so got a little boring after a couple of nights.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,713
    1,352
    468
    124
    56
See reviews for
1,303
1,675
58
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We have been home nearly a week now and wish we where back there. This hotel is fantastic. We arrived late in the evening on Saturday 28th September after a good flight and transfer. We would however jump in a taxi next time as this would save time. We arrived at the hotel to very friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you. I had requested a room on the third floor in block 2 with a pool view as recommended by recent reviews and got exactly what I had asked for which was very impressive.(I did email the hotel before hand). The room was very spacious with a super king size bed with memory foam mattress and a double pull out bed as well. We had a bottle of Champaign and some chocolates waiting for us and our towels were shaped as swans. A lovely addition. We were informed that we were still in time for dinner so headed straight down to tea. The buffet restaurant was good but the food could get a bit repetitive at times however we could always find something to eat. I would like to have seen proper bacon rather than that streaky stuff at breakfast but you can't have everything. All the staff were helpful and friendly and were always clearing your dirty plates away and making sure everything was clean. Men must wear long pants in the evening but kids don't need to.

The pool area is stunning. I understand the reviews that say the floor around the pools have loose bits of concrete where it had worn away which could be a pain at times. This is something that could do with being addressed in the low season as if could hurt your feet sometimes. Yes the pool water is salty but we soon got used to it. The entertainment was good and I regularly took part in the aqua aerobics at 12.00pm each day which was fun. The sunbeds were plentiful and in very good condition. They were dotted all around the two pools so if you wanted one in the shade or sun you could find one easily. The grounds were being maintained all the time and rubbish was constantly collected with tables being wiped and the bar area cleaned all the time as well. There were plenty of palm trees and flowers everywhere which made is so beautiful. The bar area had a separate place for the all inclusive were you could help yourself to any food or drinks available or if you waited until 1.00pm you could go into the restaurant to eat.

The hotel felt very safe as the residents of the hotel were the only ones that could come in. There are two gates out of the hotel grounds that can only be opened with your room key so you don't get unwanted visitors. The gate at the far side took you onto a lovely walkway which to the left took you to the small marina, stopping off at the lovely ice cream stop on the corner. To the right was a short walk to some shops and other hotels. You can hire big single pedal bikes that my two children loved. If your lucky you may even see the wild chipmonks near the waste land and they love cucumber. The other gate took you out to the small shopping square that had a few restaurants, shops and bars. This was just enough for us as we don't come on holiday to shop. Straight ahead was a lovely sandy beach with shallow water and mu daughter and husband enjoyed a camel ride although I don't think the camels were to happy. You could hire a sunbed which cost us 9 euros for two which was a bit steep. There was also a small café on the beach and toilets. The outside of the hotel is kept immaculate and the roads and pavements are proper.

We flew with Thomson who we always go with. The rep was there every morning if you needed any advice and info on trips. We didn't go on any as we just wanted to relax by the pool which is were the kids wanted to be all the time. They made a few friends and just wanted to be with them. The childrens play area was good as well as the games room and table tennis which you have to hire bats. I was a bit disappointed that the hotel resident's had to pay for the crazy golf. We didn't even get a discount. Something else that should be looked into. The entertainment at night time was very good. To say it was the staff that put the shows on after a full days work was very impressive. I also liked the personal touch of the bar service. You didn't need to leave your seat all night. The waiters just delivered your drinks to you all the time. The childrens entertainment was ok. Well the same every night but it was enough to tire your kids out so you could watch the other entertainment in peace. The parrot show was an added bonus.

We didn't visit the spa as it was quite expensive but it looked really nice and would be good for a treat.

All in all the hotel was top class. You get what you pay for and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. We hope to return in the near future as this is the only hotel that my husband wasn't ready for coming home from which is a result as its took years to achieve.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the block two with pool view. We asked for top floor so didn't get any noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Arrived at 8.30pm to a speedy booking in at reception and a lovely fresh clean room. Awoke the next day to blue skys at 9.30am and a good selection of treats for breakfast. Leisurely changed into swimwear and headed for the sunbeds around the 2 well looked after pools. Easily found a sunbed. What a treat that was as so many hotels I have been to seem to have guests saving their sunbeds before the sun comes up.
Maid service is not obtrusive and if you fancy a lie in just place the sign on the door and they leave you alone. When they do clean they leave your room just like you had first taken charge of it.
Lunch and dinner in the dining room are excellent will meet the tastes of the most fussy eaters. If you can not find something you like to eat you must seriously have food issues. OK after 2 weeks you may find some of the menu repetitive but I managed to find at least 3 things I liked and enjoyed at every meal so get over it. This is a hotel that works hard to meet all their guests needs.
The staff are friendly and considerate to all guests regardless how difficult I witnessed some people being they are from all different nationalities, and have an excellent command of the English language. However I learnt a little Polish. Which was fun. Can not really comment on the evening entertainment as only saw to small part of 2 shows which were performed by the animacion team. What I saw was fun and humorous. Don't expect a west end show of Grease etc. As it is all amateur fun. Animacion crew work really hard during the day providing lots of activities. No one is forced to take part in anything., however they do remind you daily which activities are on.
Locality of this hotel is great for a few nice shops and supermarket, nice little stroll to the port, chipmunks 10 minutes away living in the rocks, 15 min stroll to the Atlantico shopping centre ( small but good for shoes) and camel rides on the beach.
Trips out are not too expensive and I highly recommend the trip to the oasis park as long as you are wearing comfy shoes as it is a long day.
Would recommend this hotel for anyone that has a disability as the wheel chair access around the complex is excellent and the dining room accommodates them, even reserving tables.
I have been to Fuerteventura before and stayed in Jandia. This was far nicer and more relaxing. They call Fuerteventura the quiet Island, well the Barceló is the chilled hotel. Only negative for me was that the aircon could have been more chilled. But then I do feel the heat more than most.
Going to to book again for June 2014.

Room Tip: First floor is a good choice as you do not risk the sprinklers soaking your sun deck, or the hotel c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We traveled with our two youngsters (a toddler and a baby) and their grandparents on an all inclusive basis. I've read a number of the reviews on here and cannot understand some of the issues people are citing as negatives about the hotel and destination. However it may be down to expectations. If I start by saying that we usual travel self catering to basic Greek apartments at a very quiet resort, therefore by booking this hotel we were going against what we we usually enjoy.
With this in mind, this hotel and location more than met our expectations. The hotel was very clean and well presented. We had a shirt wait to check in but there is a huge reception area with lots of seating.
We stopped in a ground floor room in block 2. This was ideal as it was near to the kids pool and the play area. It wasn't at all noisy during the day or night. However if you class children enjoying themselves as noise, you won't like it.

The interior of the room was large enough to accommodate a large double bed, a double pull out bed and a baby's cot. The only issues with the room were two loose tiles that made a noise if you stood on them and the air con. The air con does work but is poor. The balcony door also needs to be shut for it to work. I've seen reviews criticising the room cleaning. We found that the maid tidied the room every day and there was a piece of card in the room that asked you to place it on the bed if you wanted the sheets changing. We left this on the bed and miraculously the sheets were changed!

We stayed on an all inclusive basis and found the food generally ok. The style of food changed every couple of days for the evening meal. The waiting on service was efficient and friendly. In fact all the staff made a fuss of all the children.

The entertainment for us came in two parts. The mini disco was first! I've also seen some moans in reviews about the mini disco. This was clearly advertised and took place for half and hour 8.30 til 9pm. It took place in a corner and was not intrusive to anyone. Our little girl loved it and so did all the other kids.... She is still trying to sing the Spanish songs now we are home!

The adult entertainment was generally done by the hotel entertainment staff and they did a very good job bearing in mind that they had been working all day already! Most was mimed to backing tracks but was done in such a way that no one was taking themselves seriously which added to the amusement. Again its all about expectations... I didn't expect to see a west end production, just something to amuse me! Our favorite was the `world of music`.. Very funny in parts.

The pools were also very nice. I knew they were salt water but this seem to bother either of the kids or anyone else. They were plenty warm enough. There were loads of sunbeds available around the kids pool although the adult pools looked quite busy.

The beach was also very nice and only a short walk from the gates of the hotel. It has toilets and a play area. The sea is calm and shallow for the first 10 feet. The beach is sandy. You have to pay for sunbeds (surely you pay for them everywhere???). There were camel rides on the beach and also some football next and beach volleyball.

We didn't walk too far from the resort but where we did walk were a number of small shops and restaurants.

Tennis is free but mini golf costs around 18 euros for 4 people.

The transfer to and from the airport is very quick. Planes fly over the hotel but this isn't an issue.

The weather was fantastic.

We would definitely go to this hotel again. I'm not sure if I would travel at peak time though as I can imagine that the pool area and restaurant would get very busy, very quickly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My fiancee and I visited this hotel on the 25th September 2013 for a weeks break and we had a lovely time. The hotel is in a idea location and is defiantly in our opinion the best kept hotel on the island.

The hotel has amazingly kept grounds with lots of different plants and two very large swimming pools. We did not realise before we went but all the pools are salted water which is not heated in anyway. I personally found the pools unpleasant to swim in as the salt stung my eyes (it was salter than the sea) but coldness of the water was very refreshing after sunbathing. There are hundreds of clean sun loungers in both sunny and shaded areas which was nice as it can get very hot in the day.

We stayed in room 2341 which was on the 3rd floor. The room was a good size with a huge queen size bed that was comfortable. The view from our room was of the pools and the sea which was amazing as we had a balcony to sit out on. Our only issues with the room was that the shower was a bit weak at anytime of the day but we are used to a power shower so this might not be an issue for other people. Another problem that we encountered with our room that was not the hotels fault was that we were directly opposite a bar that played excessively loud music until about 1am which was OK except for the night we arrived and really wanted to sleep!

We found most of the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The receptionists were lovely and so were the animation staff bit we did have a few problems with the staff in the restaurant who could be very rude at times, an example of this is that there were no clean 2 seater tables so we sat on a 4 seater table for which we were told off for and told not to do again and we should have waited until a 2 seater was clean (we had our dinner in our hands on a plate).

The hotel has a few random rules and regulations that we think even the staff found ridiculous, for example the 'restaurant' is the same place you go for breakfast lunch and dinner, at breakfast you could wear what you want, but for lunch men were refused entry for wearing tank tops but women were allowed in their bikinis and a sarong/see through sundress with no 'shoulder' covering. At dinner they are strict on the trousers only rule which we could understand so make sure you pack quite a few.

The food was very average with nothing standing out but it was a very mixed option so always something to eat. Our best meal was the fajitas. Breakfast is great but there did not seem to be enough cups and saucers for all the diners so tea was difficult to have. We found the 'buffet' to be a bit of a free for all and not very well organised but they always refreshed the food.

The hotel advertises the spa as part of the experience of going there but they do not clearly state that you have to leave the premises to go to the spa which is in an entirely separate building. The spa, although in need of a refurb, is very nice and we spent 4 out of our 7 days in it. We did not have any treatments as they are very pricey for the time in which they are carried out. They have 3 beds that are amazing to fall asleep on and really gave you that luxury feel.

The general area that the hotel is situated in is a bit quite with a few divey restaurants and bars that are mostly English or Irish orientated. We couldn't find anywhere authentically Spanish/African but we did eat at a restaurant opposite 'Cafe Nero' that was nice. We were advised that there was a very good supermarket in the shopping center which was the only supermarket in the whole area. We ate a fado rock which was ok food but again in very serious need of update. The whole place (Fuerteventura) feels like its been left in the 1980s and although we didn't go for a nights out holiday it would have been nice to go to a decent bar or restaurant. For evening entertainment the animation team at the hotel made a very good effort and the people they brought in to do shows were also very good.


Our Thompsons advisors Holly and Amanda were very nice and helpful and always around. We went on a Catamaran trip as per there advice and had a really lovely time.

Overall I would recommend the hotel although it is missing something that we couldn't quite put our finger on. We felt it was very corporate and was missing a personal touch but as I said we cant quite decide what.

Fuerteventura is a lovely island and we would return to it but more likely with a family rather than as a couple.

Room Tip: 2341 - sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

First time with Barcelo and reasonably impressed. First impressions are of a modern hotel with huge (and largely unused) lobby with excellent check-in and reception staff. Rooms are also modern. Large bed, an array of pillows (though we never quite found the right combination) with flat screen TV hosting several English Channels.
Room has useful vanity area outside a bathroom that is disappointingly small. Maid service wasn't up to scratch (poor dear was obviously too old to service the amount of rooms in the time she had). Bed-making was worse than mine and cleaning of the room patchy.
Not sure about Block 1 but all rooms in 2 and 3 had sea views except those on lower ground floor which had a decking area and private sunloungers to compensate. E-mail hotel in advance and they will try to accommodate your requests.
On the subject of loungers, there are plenty around the pool in both sun and shade but the size of the hotel in relation to its grounds means they are cramped together.
Direct access to beach through secure entrance. Beach outside hotel a good size but man-made. Try wading in sea until knee deep then dropping bread into the water. You'll be amazed at the feeding frenzy that follows. Where so many fish emerge from is a mystery (yes, I know - out of the sea). Better beach about 15 minutes to right of hotel.
Wouldn't recommend all-inclusive (paucity of drink outlets render it not vfm) but the food is really good. Not as much choice as you might think when first visiting the restaurant but the standard of the food for a European hotel is excellent. Breakfast had a strange purgative effect on me that saved me a fortune on colonic irrigation at the spa!!
Waitresses are not a happy bunch. You may be asked to show your 'teeckit' before they give you a drink with all the charm of a Soviet official demanding to see your papers. A useful innovation is the touch-screen TV outside the restaurant on which you can highlight food suitable for diabetic or gluten-free diets.
Security on site is good. Some idiot singing West Ham songs decided to let off a fire extinquisher outside our room and the manager and security were on the scene in seconds.
Hotel boasts the most inanimate Animation team I've experienced. They will rush past about 3 times a day uttering some unintelligible rag'n'bone man cry and that is the sum total of their interaction with guests. Shame because the theatre is the biggest, most luxurious and well-planned that I have come across. And that sums up the hotel - really excellent potential but let down in a couple of key areas.
FOOTNOTE: If booking the Jandia Express excursion with Thomson's, especially if you have small children, be aware that they don't tell you the beach they take you to is a naturist beach. If you thought fat blokes in Speedos were bad, wait until you see them without 'em!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I loved my time in Barcelo's, the spa has a labyrinth of water rooms, a maze of showers and a room where you can float. The water world in the spa leads out to a sun trap where you can laze in virtual privacy in the sun, dry off and make yourself a coffee! It's relaxing, invigorating and refreshing.

The gym..is super. Needing to get fit and a bit ill disciplined I needed the firm guiding hand of a trainer. Barcelo's gym manager Lena Reisloh kick started my fitness regime, nordic walking, zumba and circuit and left feeling much more in control of my exercise. I'm healthier, happier and looking forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Address: Urb. El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q prise, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.