We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing, great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa to your Saves list
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% Discount
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very relaxing, great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We loved our stay here, nice hotel and very clean. My daughter loved the large pool and the jacuzzi section were we spent most of our time. The beach just outside the resort is one of the nicest beaches i have been to and you can walk out in the crystal waters for a good hundred yards before it starts getting deep which lots of family's and couples were doing.
The food and drink was a good standard and the staff was very friendly and almost all spoke fluent English which of course is always helpful. There is a few nice bars and shops just 2 minutes walk from the Hotel if you want to venture out on a night, there is a Italian restaurant which we did not eat in but from a few people i spoke to who did said it was very nice.

The only downfall is the nightlife in the hotel and entertainment, its quite poor and more aimed at couples rather than family's with a child.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,712
    1,352
    468
    124
    56
See reviews for
1,303
1,674
58
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (947)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Unfortunately our requests, no matter how far in advance were not passed from Thomson to hotel, resulting in difficulty at check in. Don't ever mention that you want a sea view at check in as hotel reception staff saw this as an opportunity to make money and deliberately put us in a room with a poor view in the hope that we would pay to upgrade. As a result waited nearly 4 hours to get into our room and after a lot of complaining got our sea view the next day. Well maintained hotel, apart from pool area, which wasn't swept regularly. Food good, outside entertainment good, good selection of day time activities for adults but better activities and hours needed for kids club. If you are planning to visit Fuerteventura, visit Jandia as this part of the island has the best beaches, Caleta de Fustes beach needed more sand and when swimming was stony.

Room Tip: Ensure that your request has been passed to the hotel via email. After speaking to several holidaym...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was amazing. Loved the thalasso Spa, spent whole day in there. Was opposite hotel so was able to unwind & able to get any treatment you wanted. Around pool area were 4 poster sunbeds & sunbeds/umbrellas, was very quiet & peaceful. Hotel was spotlessly clean, staff very friendly. Restaurant staff very helpful & food excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Pool & seaview rooms very quiet & relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Due to go home tomorrow but felt the need to write a review now. Had problems soon as we arrived. We flew with Thomson and booked the extra space seats, well worth the money. We took a taxi from the airport which was only 12 euros, much better because we beat the rush of the coach. We had booked with first choice 2 double superior rooms but on arrival were allocated 1 dbl and 1 twin, apparently you have to request with the hotel direct if you want 2 doubles so double check or email the hotel direct with any extras you want. Superior rooms were not fantastic just ok. You get a kettle and 2 cups but no spoon or teas and coffees so take with you what you need and you have to buy your water for the room however much you pay.
Spa at the hotel is good but you can,t get a drink other than water, gym opens at 8am
In the restaurant do not expect good service, if you want a drink you may need to call someone over but order all the drinks you,ll need with your lunch and dinner as you won,t get served again unless you go looking for someone.
At breakfast you have to get your own teas and coffees so just because the cups are on your table this does not mean drinks will come to you, it is self serve. They do not put cereal spoons on your table either , so you will need to get these when selecting your cereal. Butters are not near the breads but with the salad section even at breakfast time. Food is pretty good but some can be very salty . Can be very samey after a while. We went out to a great Indian Fusion 22 ,Sammy the waiter was very attentive. This is just opposite the main entrance across the main road.

If you hire a car take a drive towards Jandia and turn off at junction 77 where there is a great beach and bar, Ferry price over to lanzarote is deceiving they advertise as 45 euro but this is for Spanish only. It is double for anyone else beach at caleta is very stoney going not the water so take water shoes for comfort.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here with my husband and 16 year old daughter for one week from 28th August on All Inclusive basis. When we booked with First Choice we asked for a quiet, high room. We were given a room in Block 1 on the third floor. As we didn't arrive at the hotel until 9pm we knew straight away our room was not going to be quiet as we were overlooking the bar/entertainment room and it was very noisy. Also, the view was not very nice, just a barren looking grassy area, so we asked to be moved which was not a problem, They gave us a room in Block 2 overlooking the quiet pool which was lovely.

We didn't have any problems getting sunbeds, people started putting towels on them from about 8:30 but there were always some free a couple of hours later.

We were very happy with the food, lots of variety and never left to stand for long, I did witness a major health risk at the grill one day though which totally put me off having any meat from there. There were a few of us waiting in a queue for grilled chicken. We watched the woman chef putting lots of raw chicken onto the grill and moving it around with the tongues.....then using the same tongues she picked up all the cooked chicken and placed it onto the serving plate! Needless to say I left the queue and found something else to eat instead.

There were always plenty of empty tables but some of them hadn't been laid with fresh cutlery and glasses so we had to walk round a bit to find one sometimes. You never get to go hungry, in between restaurant dining times the Aloe Grill Bar next to the pool serves snacks such as hotdogs, burgers, chips, chicken wings/nuggets, onion rings, calamari, pasta, pizza and salad....plus individual tubs of ice cream. You can't take food to the pool area, which is a good thing. You have to stay inside the bar or on the seats just outside. But you can take your drinks back to your sun loungers as long as they are in paper cups.

The pools are lovely, one of the reasons we picked this hotel was because it was right next to the beach and we were planning on spending a lot of time there. The pools were so nice that we only walked on the beach once and spent the rest of the time in the pool or relaxed on the sun loungers next to it. We walked down to the floating shop where you can buy fish food to feed the masses of fish you can see in the sea. We couldn't believe how many there were, plus a couple of crabs coloured red and blue, really pretty.

The air conditioning in the room was almost non existent, noisy but barely any output at all. It didn't bother us too much though as we didn't spend much time in the room anyway.

We are not normally interested in the evening entertainment when we go away but thought we'd have a drink in the bar a couple of evenings and see what it was like. I don't know if we just happened to pick the two worst shows or if every night was as bad, but it was terrible. Let's just say if you enjoy watching grown men dressed in nappies, women being groped and a man pretending to have no arms so that another man can help him use a urinal then you'll have a fab time. We found it embarrassing and left as soon as we'd finished our drinks.

I was disappointed to find that a lot of drinks were not included in the All Inclusive package. The majority of popular cocktails had to be paid for, 2 and a half euros each. A small bottle of Strongbow cider is the same. Some drinks were even more.

I know I've had a bit of a moan about a couple of things but all in all it was a great holiday. It's a really nice hotel, spotlessly clean, the majority of staff are friendly and helpful and the food was good. Just be wary at the grill if they are cooking chicken or pork. :)

Room Tip: Overlooking pool in block 2 or 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Ideal all round hotel for both families and singles.Close to all amenities.The food was varied and always fresh,all hotel staff wre very helpful and very courteous.the hotel is situated 10 minutes from air port.The entertainment is first class and very professional.Sun lounges are very numerous and enough for all guests.All in all a excellent hotel.I have visited the hotel 10 times,and will visit again.

Room Tip: over looking pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here 19th -24th August 2013, beautiful hotel located right on the beach and right next to shops and the fabulous Peiros Music Café which is well worth a visit. We had room 3006 lovely, quiet, ground floor but you get your own large terrace and sunloungers as well as table and chairs its just off the pool area but you can not hear it its also near the beach entrance and far enough from the bar / entertainment that you don't hear it perfect room!
We never had a problem with queues we went Half Board and to be honest drinks are so cheap you don't really need All Inclusive, food was lovely and varied and piping hot and constantly refreshed, we headed to breakfast and dinner nearer the end of the sittings and this was perfect especially dinner very chilled and no large queues. Hotel is family and couples which is great as no loud gangs to be honest it didn't seem busy which was great. Jandia Trip is gorgeous the beach is well worth the visit. From the hotel at beach exit turn right and walk around to the other beach past the Sheirton its lovely and there is a nice cool shopping centre there and on the beach a beach bar which was also lovely. We loved our relaxing chilled holiday, walked a fair bit and visited Peiros every night plenty of entertainment for all the family, check out Brian singing in the bar you will fall in love :O) plenty of shops around although not huge there are enough. Hope you all have a fab stay just like we did we have nothing negative to say about this lovely hotel thoroughly recommend it. Thank you to all the staff at the Barceló for making our stay such a lovely one.

Room Tip: 3006 was lovely, no view but private terrace, own sun loungers and convenient to everything especial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Address: Urb. El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q prise, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.