We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"would go back again "” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Caleta de Fuste
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"would go back again "”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Arrived for a week on the 16/3/13 the hotel is only 10 min from the airport which is a bonus to us and first impressions were good .No problems at check in and we had booked with Thomas Cook & what we had asked for we got thankfully.We asked for a quiet room and was allocated a top floor block 3 room which i think was the best block to be in & was away from the main noise of the hotel and only a short walk. We also had a sea view room and out the gate of the hotel & you are on the beach magic! the pools were nice but the larger pool a bit on the cold side. I am a fussy eater but didnt find the food to bad which my partner also agrees on and she is not as fussy as me but as on half board we find better and there are plenty of places to eat round and about anyway.I thought the entertainment we had watched was not bad but again there are also places about with entertainment on so you have a choise.

Room Tip: block 3 is best and away from noise of main hotel and dont have ground floor if you like a view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,449
    1,192
    414
    113
    56
See reviews for
1113
1458
51
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MAIDENHEAD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Arrived for a week on 16/3 no problems with check in as some seemed to have experienced. We were in the dreaded block 1 but inward facing so absolutely no issues with any noise Room was very comfy and well maintained.

Excellent pools and surrounds with plenty of sun beds available. As always the ''reserved sun beds'' issue was there and I expect would be a problem if the hotel was full.

Food as many have said was repetitive but i guess in such a large hotel it is difficult, however no quibbles about the quality or quantity.
Slight warning beware if you have a late flight home as you won't get lunch on your departure day, we made a fuss about this as 3 meals a day x 7 days is 21. Having arrived after lunch on arrival date we only got 20 for the week.

Entertainment in the hotel was pretty poor, although i am sure the folks entertaining work hard it isn't up to much and a visit to the town is much better.

Beach and sea swimming was the only real dissapointment very rocky in the water.

Tip: It becomes very windy inside the complex, so do venture out to beach if you want the warmth of the sun.

Room Tip: Avoid out facing block 1 very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on 15/03/2013 and were allocated a 1st floor room with a limited view of an adjacent block and a 4.storey high wall to the right. The room smelled musty and we asked to be allocated another room when one was available. We were told it wasn't possible as the hotel was full and they were busy the following day with departures and arrivals. We were prepared to wait until someone left and then change room but that was not possible because they would then have to clean an extra room. (Surprisingly,the Thomas Cook rep seemed to think this was acceptable.) We were advised it would be the 17th at least before we could be moved.
The room was recleaned following our comments but still smelled. I bit of close up nose detection found the problem. New matteresses had been placed on the old, musty smelling bed bases. A can of lavender air freshener sprayed directly onto the bases every time we left the room finally managed to disperse the smell to some extent.
We received no further information regarding the room change. We feel this was very poor customer service.
The food was very good and amenities fair.
Unlike many people reviewing this hotel we will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent a week on All Inclusive Basis in March 2013.
First Impressions of the hotel were the queue for check in (only 2 members of staff on duty). We were allocated a room in Block 2 ground floor. Then the money process begins . You need 10 euros per beach towel deposit, which you will get back at end of week , but if you want to change your towel at any time for a clean one , there is a charge of 2 euros. Then there is the charge for the safe and a deposit for the safe key. Next comes the charge for Wi-Fi ( there are no free areas in the Hotel). You haven't left reception yet and your wallet is already much lighter!!!!!

We then asked about the use of the Gym. This is free , but only if you go after 10 am, which gives you the choice of breakfast or a Gym visit. As the dining room closes at 10.30.

The room allocated was comfortable and clean, and as it was on the ground floor had its own decking area with sun-beds . The fridge comes with complimentary water for the first day only, after that you need to obtain water from the bar which is only open between 10.30 am and 11.00pm. Also they only supplied water in glass bottles which we are told we could not take away from the bar area. Tea and coffee facilities we then discovered are only supplied at a 3 euro charge per day .Again you can obtain this from the bar but only during open hours . There is no iron supplied in the room . Of course there is a charge for this 30 euros per week. We bought a travel iron for 11.50 euros.
The restaurant was clean and tidy and staff extremely helpful but the food was bland and uninteresting
The snack bar at the pool provided food , fine if you you like tepid food which has been sitting in the open for hours . There was a menu on the tables, but when we asked about the food listed, we were told that only the self service food was available.

The pool areas were kept clean and there was no shortage of sun beds

My overall view is that the B&B option to this hotel would be a much safer bet as there are lots of good restaurants in the area which provide a better choice of cuisine and price

Room Tip: Ground floor have their own private decking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

As stated previously the main problem is check in .The hotel allows all guests to keep their rooms until 12 noon on the day of departure ( and charges €35 for keeping a later time room).This means that the chambermaids cannot start to turn the rooms around until 12:30 onwards and as about 3 flights land between 12 and 1 then when you arrive at 2 pm it is utter chaos until about 4:30pm.
All rooms face either the sea or the pool therefore I would not pay the extra supplement as the sea view is hardly awe inspiring The end of block 1 is next to the Irish Bar and suffers from late night noise and should be avoided. All rooms seem very quiet,very clean and air con is good.
Main rip off's: Wi-Fi 1 day €7,1 week €25,2 weeks €35 and it is slowish but adequate .not free anywhere in the complex.
Car park €3 per day !!!!!
Safe €3 per day +€5 key deposit !!!!!
Towels €10 deposit per towel and €2 per day to change them !!!!!
Tea and coffee in your room €3 per day ,So take your own ,fridge cups and kettle are provided in all rooms.
Extras :
Breakfast €12, Lunch or Dinner €22.
However if you book a Superior Room you get free :- wifi,parking,safe,towels and access to the Spa(€20 per day normally).
Food is good at Breakfast and lunch but dinner is a bit repetitive and dull.
Entertainment at night is superb with top shows being staged nightly.
Poolside very clean and more sunbeds than needed ,some towels down early but not many.
Overall very enjoyable but not top end 4 star.
Rooms slight wear and tear,very clean, plasma TV with BBC 1+2,ITV and English News, beds OK, Shower over bath no bidet.
Hope I covered everything ,contact me If needed Happy to Help.
Barcelo management take note as these charges will put people off because most hotels give free safes and wi fi now !!!

Room Tip: see above Avoid end of Block 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We arrived on 13/3/13 for a weeks stay and after reading other reviewers comments we were very apprehensive about the check in process . Two coaches set off from the airport, just from our flight, so we suspected reception was going to be busy ! However there were several staff manning the desk and they were handing out check in forms to the queue so I thought that the hotel must have listened to all the negative feedback and made some changes. Great I thought. We had emailed the previous week asking for a high floor room with a sea view - we were allocated a ground floor room in Block 3 with a view of a hedgerow - Not the best start ! room was not ready and we were asked to come back to reception in 20 minutes and offered a complimentary drink while we waited, which was fine however by the time we went back in 20 minutes another coach load of guests had arrived and we were expected to join the back of the new LARGE queue - not very happy with this. Eventually got the keys to our room, we had booked a superior room and I could not fault it - large, clean and great comfy bed with crisp whit sheets. Bathroom was good too with a choice of two shower heads . We even grew to like the view ! As it was at ground level, we had our own little decking area at the end of the patio, with two sun loungers. We used to retreat there in the afternoons and it was very peaceful . They have planted some bushes at each side of the decking and once they grow a little more it will be more private - we didn't miss our hoped for balcony with sea view in the end ! We had forgotten to ask reception for the wifi password and a safe key ( and they hadn't mentioned it to us either! ) so unfortunately we had to go back and join the ever lengthening reception queue again ! Not the most relaxing start to the holiday and a lesson this hotel does not seem to be taking on board - Dont they read trip advisor ? There's even a card in the room asking you to leave feedback on here, so you think they would be noticing a common theme by now ?!
We were half board as all inclusive does not appeal to us. Restaurant was fine - food was varied and plentiful. It does get samey but to be fair who would go to the same restaurant for seven days on the run and not find that ? There was always something that took our fancy, even if it was pasta and sauce. The soups were great and we enjoyed our meal every night . Breakfast was great too - lots of choice and you could have as much as you wanted. The bacon was a bit hit and miss ( burnt black or raw ) but there is so much else to choose from this should not be a problem.
Spa is in a totally different building a few minutes walk from the hotel complex and we used the gym several times,as entry was included in the superior room charge. Make sure you take your own towel, or they will charge you 50c for one ( but if you say you are going to look round the spa are they give you one free - strange ! ) Tried the yoga class in the hotel once, but not too impressed so did not go back. Aqua Aerobics was on every day . There are activities on offer during the day for those that want to join in ( table tennis, pétanque etc ) and apparently the evening entertainment shows were amazingly good, although we never made it to any as they didn't start to 9.30 and we were often in bed by then !
One thing I would say is that the beach was very disappointing - it's large and wide but the sand is like builders sand and the shoreline rocky and unappealing - we went for a look and never returned, although we usually prefer the beach to a pool. There was two pools and we sat around the quieter of the two which was nearest to block 3 . The water took your breath away at first as this one is not heated but you get used to it and it was refreshing as the weather was hot most days. Spent Paddy's Day in O'Conners at the back of block 1( just outside the complex ) good craic but can imagine it would be noisy for those whose rooms backed on to it. Apart from that day we used the pool bar of the hotel which was good, hard working pleasant staff and huge measures of gin !
We had a lovely relaxing trip after the check in problems - staff work hard to ensure you enjoy yourself and we did

Room Tip: Try and avoid Block 1 I would say - rooms there seemed a little shabby and from the noise of O'C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just returned from our holiday from 6/3/13 to 20/3/13 at he Barcelo Fuertevenura Spa and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were on all inclusive - the food was very good, with a variety of choices, yes it can get a bit repeatative but that is only because of the amount of choice you have each day. Drinks you can have all day from 10 am to 11pm and its a help yourself during the day by the pool snack bar - but beware in the evening the measures served to you are huge !
Evening entertainment very good but when it finishes at 10.30 there is a mass exit to bed !! as there is nothing else, no dance floor or disco after shows. However, there are plenty of bars around the hotel. Reception staff very helpful and solved a problem out very efficiently. We stayed in block 1 and although recent reviews had concerns about it we found no problems at all. Nice resort to walk around with enough shops and bars to keep you going. Although the hotel was pretty full we were able to get a sunbed any time of day, despite the usual saving of them by some people. One thing Iwould advise - get a taxi to and from airport - cost 12 euros and saves a lot of hazzle as you are there before the crowds for check in. Overall a great holiday.

Room Tip: Had a standard room which was very clean and large - seperate wash basin and large dressing area fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Address: Urb. El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.