We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, relaxing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa to your Saves list
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Urb. El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 10% discount
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salford
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely, relaxing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here as a group of 7 with family and friends for a week in January 2013. The hotel grounds are lovely and very well kept with beautiful gardens, 2 pools (1 of which is slightly heated) and plenty of activities during the day including gym, mini golf, aerobics etc. The communal areas are spotless and the staff are lovely; friendly and attentive. The hotel is right on the beach and at the edge of a quiet resort. There are lots of bars, restaurants and shops within easy walking distance and the resort offers a train for €1 that does a route of the resort every half hour.
The food was of a very good quality and plentiful, there was always something for everyone's tastes from local delicacies to chips and pasta. The drinks were good too a selection of cocktails on the all inclusive menu as well as premium spirits and cocktails available at a reduced price for all inclusive. The wine isn't of a great quality but the cava is lovely. The only thing I found a bit odd was that the all inclusive service finished at 11 but the bar stayed open until 12. During the day there is a snack bar and all inclusive self-serve drinks area with other drinks available from the bar.
The staff work very hard and, considering the hotel is as large as it is, there seem to be a small team working pretty much all day. The evening drinks service is quite slow as a result (about 10 minutes from order to service during the entertainment) and we heard someone complain about this but there's always the option of going to the bar.
The rooms are a good size with a lovely balcony area with comfortable chairs and tables. They have a fantastic sink area separate from the toilet and bath, which, with 3 women sharing, was very handy for getting ready. We had a family room in block 1, which was large with a huge double bed and double sofa bed. The beds were a bit hard but you get extra pillows as standard so its comfortable enough. There's plenty of wardrobe and drawer space and hangers are provided. We didn't find we had any noise from the bars on the main road at all once the balcony door was closed.
The gym and spa are a 2 minute walk from the main hotel in a separate building. The gym is free to use and well equipped and the spa is €20, €10 for ladies on Wednesdays or free to Premium room holders, with free access to the sauna, steam room, Turkish baths and pool area.
The evening entertainment was generally of a very good quality. There were a couple of evenings run by the animation team, such as an illusion night and world music, and brought in acts like an Abba tribute and flamenco dancers.
All in all its a lovely, relaxing resort and a very well run hotel, with just a couple of niggles. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,911
    1,497
    505
    125
    60
See reviews for
1,386
1,917
62
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,060)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My hubby and i stayed at this hotel 23rd - 30th January on an all inclusive package booked with Easyjet Beach Holidays and we cant fault the hotel at all. Not far from the airport, 12 euro's in taxi, you do see planes fly over the hotel but didn't bother us. Checkin was quick althou our room wasn't ready, we put cases in luggage room and ate at the resturant. The room was newly decorated, a good size with 2 small double beds and the most comfy we have ever slept in! Bathroom area was big with large mirrors all around. Food was good, gr8 selection, always hot. Good entertainment, large seating area. The pool area was fantastic, plenty of sunbeds available, pool grill bar open from 10am and just help yourself to wine/cava/beer/soft drinks/tea/coffee/water/juice and from 12oc til 5 a small buffet, toasted sandwich's, fries, pasta, hotdogs, burgers, pizza, salads and cakes from approx 3oc. Commercial centre is just a few minutes walk away with the usual shops/supermarket. Few bars scattered around. Lovely beach is literally outside the hotel. Weather was good, prob 22 deg althou quite windy at times and a few nights we had to wear jackets and it was quite chilly but then again it was their winter, but we came home with great tans. Overall a well run, clean hotel and yes we would certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just back from a winter break. Took a taxi from the airport (10 euros) between four of us much better than waiting in the coach park. We arrived on a Saturday which is a quiet day for the island and were the only ones at check in although on other days there was a queue. Lovely clean spacious rooms,excellent food and facilities. Plenty of sunbeds at any time of the day. Waiter staff were particularly helpful. On some all inclusive hols we've had there was a a difference in service between half board and the AI guests. Not at this hotel nothing was too much trouble and everyone treated the same. Plenty of room in dining room never had to wait for a table. We even chanced the in house entertainment which was suprisingly well rehearsed. Probably the best entertainment team we have seen.Would recoommend this hotel for a winter break.One word of caution we heard some people complaing about some of the ground floor rooms suffering from damp.Plenty of Disabled ramps/lifts available although if you are an independent wheelchair traveller alone you will have to depend on waiter staff for your evening drinks as there are two big steps up to the elevated lounge bar.

Room Tip: Try and avoid ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Just returned last night from a one week stay at this hotel.
On arrival check in took almost 2 hours, as they told us hotel was overbooked, even though we had booked this as part of a package deal. They would attend to you then leave you for 30mins to see to the next person.When we did get our room it was at the furthest end of the hotel in a corner, although to be fair the room was nice enough.
By 4.30pm managed to get something to eat in the snack bar, a burger by 6.30pm I was violently sick and the rest for the next 24 hours, so really lost the first 2-3 days of my holiday.
So overall I was very disappointed with this hotel.
As for the TV in the room everything but English channels, Spanish, French, Swedish, German, Polish, Russian news channels not one in English unless you count the 2 True Movie channels showing 50year old films starring Robert Mitchum.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main block if they are not overbooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We really liked this hotel,the rooms were spacious and had a nice bathroom/getting ready area there were 3 of us in the huge mirrors. There were also full size mirrors which are a must for me in a hotel room. beds were big. loved the room.
The pool area was grand and lovely. Only problem was there were a few busy days and rude people would put their sunlounger at the end of ours.
Food was nice not very big for the size of the hotel but still nice and the pool snack resturent was clean and had food made to order. there was ice cream and drinks and ham or cheese rolls and cakes always out.
The entertainment was good the area which its in is excellent its inside and you have nice seat and the waiters come and take your order. We really liked thi hotel and the fact its on the beach and you use your room key to get in/out the gates. If your on a budget some months its not worth paying we went in May and paid £450 AI which was a bargain thats with flights too. but we went again a few years later in sept and it was coming up at £750 AI which i didnt think it was worth it for a cheap getaway for a week we stayed at their sister hotel down the room. overall its a great hotel and the beach isnt anything special but for a nice cheap getaway i recommend if you can get the price right-if your on a budget that is. Caleta de fuste is the perfect location for families.

Room Tip: we had a pool view so all was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I visited this hotel along with my husband, my parents and my mother-in-law. We had a nice pleasant transfer in a private taxi (only 10 minutes from the airport which cost only 12 Euros). Was greeted by a friendly receptionist at the hotel who kindly showed us on the map where we are. We had been told by others to avoid block 1 however she said the hotel was full and we were located in block 1, however she assured us that it was not noisy where our rooms were located. I can honestly say I didnt hear the Irish bar once but did hear others complaining of the noise in the block opposite in block 1. Try and prebook block 2 or 3 if you want to guarantee it to be quiet.

Other than the location the room was perfect. Nice spacious vanity area outside the shower room and the two large beds that were placed together were comfortable.

You get a minibar in the room which you can have stocked if you like, however we didnt bother as the water was 1 euro 80 for a small bottle, and you can get a litre for 40 cents in the supermarket down the road, so we just bought a six pack of that for the week.

Location of the room was perfect in the grounds of the hotel, the main restaurant where you have breakfast, lunch and dinner was just a short stroll down the stairs. The food was absolutely fantastic. I can honestly say the food was probably one of the best All Inclusive hotel packages we have tried. Vast range to choose from and the pizza was especially nice which is always on offer every day. The breakfasts had an abundance to choose from, with your contintental, english and pancakes. Only problem we found was the fried eggs were a little too runny for our liking, we like them flipped but they were always constantly topped up if you don't mind that. Fruit and cereals and yoghurts for all the health conscious too. Also have two Lavazza Espresso machines included in the AI which was a nice treat, never seen that before.

Lunch was great in the snack bar from 11.00am till 6.00pm. Again offered pizza (yummy), hamburgers, cheese and ham toasties which you can make up yourself, chicken nuggets or fish fingers for the kids and usually a vegetarian dish also. You also get afternoon cakes/muffins here too from around 3.00pm.

The buffet lunch in the main restaurant was again varied and never repeated in the week we were there, a couple of days they had a nice wrap/sandwich bar, where the lady makes them up for you from all the fillings you choose from. Nice touch. Again never seen this before at an AI hotel.

Dinner was lovely every day, not one of us had any complaints. And the desserts and ice cream bar were gorgeous too.

AI drinks, normally can be quite nasty, but the cocktails were lovely, especially the Black Russians, the Mums were on those nearly all day!! Nice bucks fizz laid on the bar too to help yourself. You can help yourself to the beers/wine/champagne or order from the bar. The red wine was very drinkable....sooo smooth. You also get bottles with your dinner which again is a nice touch.

The entertainment in the hotel was good. The animation team put on really good shows including The Lion King, We Will Rock You and Les Miserables. They also have outside acts come in like acrobatics and dance/sing tributes. We didn't watch the entertainment every night but everyone raved about it.

Only one niggle we had was when your AI finishes at the bar at 11.00pm the drinks literally double in price. A white rum and coke goes up to 5 Euros 50 cents! bit steep for AI branded drinks we thought... the Bacardi was around the same price, so had we known we would have had the proper brands. So get up the bar and stock up just before 11pm if you are a late drinker. The Irish Bar around the corner is open late though if you want to get out and about for a late one. We stayed over there one night and listened to Brett who was standing in with his guitar (as the resident band had a night off) and he was fantastic. Was great with all requests. If you like rock music. thats the place to be.

There are also some restaurant surrounding the hotel, but the food was sooo good in the hotel we didnt feel the need to eat out any night at all.

The only fault I could place on this holiday for us all was the fact that the weather wasn't that fantastic, it was very windy, so when the sun went in it was cold so you couldnt lie in your bikini all day every day. ALthough we had three great days out of the seven!

Definitely come back to this hotel but would come back between April and October to guarantee the weather.

Room Tip: GO to block 2 or 3 if you can, quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just got back (30th jan)
Booked direct with hotel
Got taxi from airport 12 euro, 10 mins to hotel
Very clean large room (1131) first floor sea view
Good entertainment
Great food loads of choice
The grounds are immaculate
Good trip to do is the small market at corejelleca stopping of at the sand dunes
16euros each 9am til 4pm
So many good things to say to mention
The indoor pool is in the spa area outside hotel which you have to pay for 20. Euro a day. use of gym included


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa

Address: Urb. El Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#1 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa**** hotel, awarded with the prestigious Tourist Quality Q prise, is located on the beachfront in the privileged enclave of Caleta de Fuste. Only 7 km. from the airport and 15 km. from Puerto del Rosario, capital of Fuerteventura - you will be able to enjoy an amazing holiday. Its large and fully equipped rooms, its countless and superb services and its extraordinary location make our hotel a desired destination for all types of holidays: you can enjoy a relaxing holiday, a romantic getaway, an experience full of sports or even a business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Hotel Barcelo Fuerteventura
Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Fuerteventura Thalasso Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.