We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't rush back.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort to your Saves list
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Caleta de Fuste
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wouldn't rush back.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Family of four. Stayed for 11 nights over the Easter break. Have been to Caleta before but always SC with private rentals.
Hotel is only a quick taxi ride from airport. Staff on arrival were efficient and helpful. Hired a superior bungalow in 3000 block, v close to beach, and one of the pools and bars. Gardens v nice. Terrace got sun most of the day.
Standard of bungalow inside was disappointing, and certainly not superior. Bathroom needed updating, worst shower I've ever come across too. Kitchenette area and front room where kids slept was tatty in places. On the positive side, the cleaners came everyday and the beds were extremely comfy.
This was our first time of AI, and the dining experience was not a relaxing one. The staff in the one main restaurant work v hard but the place is chaotic at peak times (And a long walk from some rooms) Yes it was easter but the dining area was packed, we had to wait for a table at both breakfast and in the evening on several occasions. Spoons are also a rarity at Barcelo for some reason! Whilst the food was good, it did get a bit monotonous and we ate out the last few days. Caleta is v cheap and Fado Rock has always been a favourite of ours.
For a 4 star hotel you can still incur lots of additional charges, eg safe (which is key style, not digital) iron, ironing board, gym, wifi. Laundry service is extortionate.
The main pools were still cold at easter but there were plenty of sun beds. The entertainment was ok for the kids, a bit like a multi language version of a Haven show with a bit more enthusiasm. Marina area is v nice, but the theatre bar is the only true AI place for drinks in the evening. It's full of kids too. Not a place for couples.
I'm think we were in the minority though as most families I met were on their 2nd or 3rd visit there. It just wasn't for us.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    471
    203
    61
    26
See reviews for
533
446
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our 2nd visit to the barcelo and we have booked to go back again in oct
Hotel and staff are amazing. Any problems and they are happy to help. Very clean and tidy. The animation team are brilliant, always getting the kids involved. My daughter loved it. And the ohhhhhh a ohhhhh dance is fab!!!!

Thanks for a perfect holiday Barceló. We excited to see u in oct.....again.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a room near the pool. Otherwise you could be walking a while. Which isnt g...
See more room tips
Green Features: Bins, lights,flowers clean tidy, fresh. Lovely views
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned from a lovely holiday. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. The restaurant was large and we never had any problems with overcrowding as mentioned in some posts, plenty of choice of food and all of a reasonable standard. Pool areas were nice with lots of free sunloungers.

Negatives- entertainment in the evening wasn't great, snack bars provided with all inclusive were very poor and in general with drinks in the bar and bars in the resort- quite a lot wasn't included with all inclusive.

Overall lovely resort, beautiful beach and would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Barcelo Group appear to have taken over a large part of Caleta de Fuste water front . The bungalow was very good, large lounge, comfy beds, kitchenette, good sized patio etc. We were 4-5 mins from a beach but we had the choice of 3 pool areas in the complex.The whole bungalows area was filled the outstanding palms, cacti and other shrubs.
The down side was, we only had one eating area for about 500 plus families!! The staff were amazing and kept the tables and floor clean despite the efforts of hordes of children. Fortunately we went B&B so only had to tolerate the area once a day.
We like to get out and about and find "Spanish" restaurants. This has become very difficult in Caleta.

Room Tip: Area 1 bungalows are by the beach. The other areas are near the complex pools etc. The eating area(I...
See more room tips
Green Features: We were surprised that there appeared to be no solar panels or water heaters anywhere but plenty of subtle positions. They must have a good water source as all the plants and trees were irrigated daily.
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Arrived home in the early hours of this morning after a last minute holiday with a friend at Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reception staff very efficient and pleasant on check in, We stayed self catering, the first morning we paid to eat breakfast in the dining room, so glad we did self catering, although the food was hot and plenty full it was total chaos in the dining and eating area,not sure who was the most unruly children or adults! The apartment we had was clean, well equipped, fresh bedding and clean towels every day,,very pleasant cleaning staff, a bit disappointed with our patio which never got any sun but that was only my disappointment it was a relief for my friend to sit in the shade. Toiletries are provided when you arrive, not sure if they get replenished we used our own, plus a little sewing kit and a shoe wipe, the bathroom was a bit tired and needed a good cleaning under the wash basin and the slime around the shower. We had a ground floor apartment and it can be noisy from the upstairs apartment doors opening, toilets flushing and chairs moving, the sea view apartments look like they have been updated in comparison the 4000 block, all very secure though. Seem to be lots of entertainment going on and reps encouraging you to join in, all very hi de hi but the participants looked to be having a good time. The food and drink from the snack bar was reasonably priced for us to pay and the supermarket is excellent and the same prices as in the town and well stocked, free wifi in the recpetion with plenty of seats
We tried the heated pool which was busy with little ones playing and the sea water pool was excellent quiet and plenty of loungers, the beach is so close with sunbeds. there are a few nice restaurants on the complex and reasonable price (30% discount for all inclusive). Was disappointed with the lack of nice Spanish restaurants in the town but did find a few nice ones. Caleta de Fuste is a nice clean resort, the sea front is lovely everywhere is clean and the majority of people very friendly and helpful (apart from a few Brits who work in the restaurants). Get a taxi from the airport, cheaper than transfers and much quicker, the day trip to Lanzorotte and the volcano is well worth a coach and ferry trip, Would I return?....No but still had an excellent holiday and a last minute bargain, had I paid full price I would be very disapointed

Room Tip: ask for a sea front bunglalow
See more room tips
Green Features: lighting goes off when you leave the room, bit of pain when you want to charge a phone or i pad, didn't notice any other reclye methods
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The resort is huge, taking up a whole arm of the town. Expect most guests know what they want when they book an all inclusive package holiday, which is what they'll get - Butlins in the sun. Lots of activities for families and kids and loads of noise around the pool, if that's your thing. Booked self-catering "superior" bungalow - pretty standard really but the cooking options, kitchen storage for food and utensils provided were laughable. Managed to make an omelette, just. Was nice & quiet and great location for getting out of the resort quickly and easily into the town or onto the beach, which is much more pleasant than the pool area, if a bit chillier with the wind and lower sea temps. Only one lovely lady on reception, most others fairly school-marm-ish and not overly welcoming - just a number checking in. Other grounds staff and cleaners friendly, most bar service staff fairly abrupt and grumpy, but can't blame them dealing with AI British all day! Would only rate 4* if you pay for the top end, the rest is fairly standard.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for a week all inclusive and found the place lovely. We had an apartment which was very nice. The bathroom door was damaged but when we reported it was fixed within an hour. The staff were very friendly and we have no complaints about them. The Thomas Cook rep Jemma was very good and had only been in the job a few weeks. Our only complaint was the poor standard of food, overcrowding of the restaurant and the lack of glasses on a lunchtime. We ended up eating out in the evening, found a couple of very good restaurants. Great place for families.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort

Address: Avda. del Castillo, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#3 Spa Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Romantic Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#4 Family Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
#5 Luxury Hotel in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Castillo Beach Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Barcelo El Castillo
Barcelo Caleta De Fuste
Fuerteventura El Castillo
Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Castillo Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.