We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not 5 star.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Castillo

Villas Castillo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Castillo to your Saves list
Villas Castillo
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Urbanizacion El Castillo P-30, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice, but not 5 star.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

We have just come back from a weeks holiday in one of these villas. We occupied a four bedroom one with a private pool. The villa was a lovely size with one double with en suite with whirlpool bath. Two shower rooms for the other bedrooms. The ground floor had two bedrooms and a lounge which led to the pool through patio doors. The upper floor also had two bedrooms, a lounge with t.v. and a kitchen. You could also go up to the roof. I must say that we found it a little peculiar to find that the stairs from the ground to the next floor were out in the open, so to speak. If you looked up, you could see the sky. It did make us wonder what would happen if it rained (which luckily it did not).

I would not, however, consider this a five star villa. There was a t.v. but with only the news station. I would have expected there to be either more stations or perhaps a DVD player. There was also no telephone but we did have wi-fi albeit poor reception. We did have to point out three things to the reception area. One that the villa catered for eight people and there were only four cups, the kettle was broken and the patio doors did not lock and were like that all week.

Nice quiet area with a walk of about 20 minutes to the small town and beech. As it was uphill on the way back we chose to use taxis which were extremely cheap. (In fact the Dotto train was more expensive!)

All in all a pleasant week in a lovely climate but the villa was expensive and we will not be returning to it. Will go to a hotel next time.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

At our first glance, the villa is beautiful. It had 4 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a pool and balconies in all 3 levels. It overlooks the beautiful coast of Caleta de Fuste. When we first arrived, supplies provided are very basic. We had to spend a near 100 euros to supply the house with things like hand soap and washing cloths. After the second day of staying, the place was flooded due to the complications with the boiler. The cleaner did not arrive until day 3 and we supplied our own bleaches. After reporting this, the property manager scheduled next day maintenance where we had to leave the villa. After arriving in the evening, we came home to no electricity and hot water. During maintenance, the electrician left rusty water footprints everywhere. Following the so-called repair, the water turned brown as we showered. We couldn't properly use the villa and half our holiday was ruined. The remainder of the villa stay, we had to faff around with electrics and water, wasting a lot of precious time. We advised our property manager we are not happy with the property and she says there is nothing she could do. However, it was a great holiday but the villa let me down.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

these villas are well maintained and big, we ended up with 4 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms over the 2 floors as well as the sun terrace. Laura who looks after them was golden and any problems were sorted asap .It is a little remote but taxis are cheap enough,we would walk to town via other villa complexes and stop for a beer/food on the way and return by taxi (about 3 euros)...my only advice for this island is DO NOT TAKE TRAVELERS CHEQUES. I couldnt find anywhere to change them,good exchange rates at cash points.

Room Tip: ask for odd number villas as stunning view and pools at the rear of the property unlike even numbers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

the villa was beautiful, spacious, clean & thankfully devoid of neighbours (all other villas were unoccupied & locked up)... It is a long walk and up & down hills if you seek civilisation but if you want to be a recluse & enjoy the Fuerteventura sunshine - hire a car, head to the supermarket & book one of these villas!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had been to Caleta previously as a family but this was the first time my wife and I had been back for 5 years. We expected a two bed Villa but were given a 4 bed and found it to be spotlessly clean and spacious - like other reviews taxi drivers do still find it difficult to find - I ended up taking pictures on my mobile to show the drivers.
We spent the day lazing by the pool and walked down into Caleta in the evening to eat which took about 20-25 minutes - taxi fare back was just over 3Euros. there is a small shop about a 10 minute walk away for bread/milk/water etc otherwise it is into Caleta- we tended to top up after eating in the evening and found the prices very reasonable.
The villa itself was huge and towels were changed every day although it was only mopped once and there was no change of bedding.There was no information book which we did find unusual.We stayed a week and the villa next door was empty until our last two nights - I would guess that noise could be a problem if there was a family with young children next door or our brood 10 years ago !!! as we could hear next door
Overall well worth the money and very happy - on a general point work on lots of the new developments has stopped and having visited Caleta on four occasions now in the last 10 years I fear where it is going sadly !!

Room Tip: Go for odd numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annemasse, France
Top Contributor
401 reviews 401 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

It makes sense to stay in Caleta de Fuste if you plan on visiting the island of Fuerteventura and for a family the Villas Castillo are a very good deal. Each has its own pool. In February we rented a 2 bedroom but were given a four bedroom. The kitchen is well equipped, but there were no spices of any kind. The landscaping is not bad at all. The bathrooms are spanking new and well designed, one of which has a whirpool. There is no heating provided as it is as a rule never necessary but we asked for space heaters and got them. Lots of closet space. Laura at the office is very kind and efficient and helped us get the wifi working after a short time. The TV has a few good channels and any program that was originally in English is in English. Also a radio is furnished. As the title says, insist on an odd-numbered villa for the view. It is a long way downhill to the town so a car is helpful, and rentals are dirt cheap on Fuerteventura.

Room Tip: as I have already said twice, pick an odd-numbered villa. And ask for the calle Doramas 2 on your G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

When we booked this holiday we were told it was 5 star accomadation - it was a lovely villa but definately not 5 star.
We booked a private transfer from the airport and the taxi driver took us to the wrong place and found the villa difficult to find. One of the local taxi drivers told us if we asked for Calle Tamonante the taxi drivers knew where this was.
We hired a car for 1 week but rarely used it for driving into the main resort. It was a pleasant walk down (looks a long way off from the villa) and took about 25mins. We didn't however try the walk back up as the taxi fares were only about 4 euros.
We had booked a 2 bed but the villas are 4 bedroom so you do get a large villa. As someone previously said downstairs did smell damp but we only went down to use the washing machine. Upstairs the bathrooms and bedrooms are nice but missing finishing touches that would make this 5 star. The kitchen was well equiped and the sliding patio doors gave stunning panoramic views. We were also told there was a safe in the villa we were unable to find this and also there were only 2 English satellite channels (but we didn't go on holiday to watch TV). When we informed the lady at reception that the wifi didn't seem to be working she rectified this immeadiately. I didn't get the ladies name but she really couldn't do enough for us (even going so far as offering us a lift into the resort when we arrived even though it was 11pm) When she saw us walking down into the resort the next morning she even turned around and dropped us down and phoned the airport the day before departure to make sure the taxi driver knew where to pick us up from.
The best thing about the villas are the private pool (not that large but good for the 3 of us and only 1.5 meters deep so good for younger children) and the fabulous views from the patio area and the roof terrace and the total peace and tranquility. Better views from odd number villas.
As they said this was 5 star i did take it for granted that there would be air con (even if only in the bedrooms) and there wasn't any making it unbearably hot on some nights.
We would definately return to this resort and stay at these properties again.

Room Tip: Odd number villas are slightly higher up in the hills so give better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Castillo

Address: Urbanizacion El Castillo P-30, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Castillo 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villas Castillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Castillo Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Castillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.