We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nestor's (The Bahia de Cata)

Nestor's (The Bahia de Cata)
Calle El Greco | El Greco, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
+34 699 21 95 10
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $31
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: HOMEMADE FOOD WITH LOVE AND PASSION
Ashby de la Zouch, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have been coming to Caleta for years but this was the first time we had tried Nestors. What a fantastic experience. Four of us shared a starter of mussels in a spicy sauce and garlic prawns. Absolutely delicious! The men had ribs in a Jack Daniels sauce and the meat just fell off the bone. The portions are huge but there is a choice of light meals and meals for women which are smaller but still large. Make sure you are hungry before you go. Nestor, owner and chef, is a real character and has been known to get on a table and give you a song, so I am told. It gets very busy so I would definitely recommend booking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    100
    38
    20
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Chef on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Nestor certainly lives up to his reputation. Just returned from a weeks holiday and ate at Nestors 3 times. It was our first visit to the Island but I had checked the reviews. I am pleased we were warned not to have a starter as the portions are huge and very tasty. The first night we were lucky to get a table as we had not booked but we booked for the next 2 nights. We can definately recommend the steak, pork and fish. When Nestor is finished cooking he comes into the restaurant to speak to all the customers and make sure they have enjoyed their food. The staff all remembered us on our second visit.Great choice of menu. Not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nestors”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Again we visited following Trip Advisor recommendations. Overall very good and fully justifying second place on the listings. Our first visit , which we had not pre booked was a little disappointing because the service was very slow and they had sold out of the ribs which we had wanted to try. We pre booked our second visit and this was much better. The ribs cooked for 8 hours in Jack Daniels were superb and the portions are enormous. The atmosphere created by the owner ?/Chef is brilliant and he takes grat delight in bringing out the fish/ steaks for you to inspect prior to cooking.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Large portions of excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a small restaurant certainly worth finding. It serves a really wide variety of food - try the fried Yucca starter! - and does steaks incredibly well. Great service and friendly staff. My only negative comment is that the portions are too large and I was over-faced with them. But this is a personal thing - definitely give this place a try!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A treat to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Nestors the best restaurant in Caleta de Fuste ? YES food is excellent ,atmosphere great with Nestor himself wandering in and out of the kitchen to talk to the customers, large portions of great food would recomend to anyone. Essential to book.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nestor's (The Bahia de Cata) also viewed

Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
Caleta de Fuste, Antigua
 

Been to Nestor's (The Bahia de Cata)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nestor's (The Bahia de Cata), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.