We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick to self catering” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cay Beach Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cay Beach Villas to your Saves list
Cay Beach Villas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   C/ Tabaiba | Sector Urb. Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stick to self catering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

The accommodation was clean and up to date. The holiday was marred by the all inclusive element poor choice of food and drink meant we went out to eat a lot. Disappointing that a charge is made not only for the TV channels and also for the remote when the set must be 10 years old!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    482
    205
    74
    35
See reviews for
366
466
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We have just returned back from 10 days at the Cay Beach Villas, had a really good time, although we were a bit apprehensive after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. We were very wary regarding the security of the bungalows and the other two points which seemed to be a major issue were food fore mostly and the entertainment or rather lack of it.

The security issue: we always hire a safe this was 17 Euros and it was pretty big so could accommodate most items you would wish to lock up. We paid for an extra key card, 6 Euros (which is refunded when you hand it back in) this means you can leave the lights on at night when you go out. We kept the curtains drawn, the windows closed and made sure that the door was properly locked before going out. I actually printed up a couple of signs in Spanish requesting the cleaners not to leave windows open and that said there were cameras monitoring the bungalow on a 24 hour basis, I laminated them and they looked quite authentic as security notices. We taped these next to the 3 windows. Fortunately we were not burgled, however, we did see the police there one day and when I asked the receptionist what had happened, his story was a bit garbled but we gathered that a woman had her notebook laptop stolen but the police did not believe her because she couldn’t remember the make of it (all a bit odd), however, we never heard anything else about it. You could actually fit a laptop in the safe which is a bonus. There is also a nice security night guard called Jose who walks around and the gates are operated with your room key although at one side of the complex there is no fence and anyone could wander in.

The entertainment was really non existent. I think there were a few snake and bird shows on and there were mini discos for the kids, there were things organised through the day for the more athletic folks like volley ball in the pool, darts and even shooting. Might have been good for the burglars…. a wee bit of target practice wouldn’t have gone amiss haha! However, I think the kids were very well looked after so there was no problem there it was more the evening entertainment that was lacking. There was really no atmosphere about the hotel, nothing to catch your eye, very like a school canteen downstairs. Nothing that enticed you to sit and people watch even. However, to combat this there was really good entertainment just a four or five minute walk from the complex so really it wasn’t a problem. Pierros and the Barcelo Hotel had entertainment every night (all free entry) and a few other bars round about had live entertainment or karaoke, so nobody had to miss out on entertainment in the hotel it wasn’t the end of the world. However, it is a shame when you are all inclusive and your drink has been paid for then go elsewhere and have to fork out cash at another bar. The entertainment in the Barcelo and Pierros didn’t start until 9 or 9.30 so at least you could have a few wee drams before heading off, the drinks are in plastic or paper cups so you can even have a wee drink whilst walking to your next venue as long as you are not drunk and unruly of course.

It looks like I am focusing on all the negatives, however, these were the concerns that I felt were prevalent in all the reviews I read before going and felt that put me off at first. What I am trying to highlight is the hotel isn’t perfect but there is a way round each problem and the positives do outweigh the negatives.

The food seemed to be the most common gripe. We were all inclusive, so that includes breakfast, lunch, snacks, dinner and all beverages. We did eat in the hotel every night apart from one when we went to Tony Romas, the meal there was nice for 12 Euros each and a free drink if you say you are booked into the Cay Beach. However, back to the hotel restaurant, there was always plenty to eat. People complained about the food being cold. There was a microwave there which I used quite a few times problem solved. People complained about no choice, I would love to go to their house and see what they dish up each evening, chicken, pork, beef, fish, pasta, different types of cooked potatoes, vegetables and a different soup twice a day lunch and dinner. The soup was absolutely lovely, sometimes a wee bit of salt and pepper needed but hey that is simply a personal choice. There was plenty of bread and rolls, which were lovely when drizzled with olive oil. The food obviously didn’t always look like it does in your own country, but you aren’t in your own country you are abroad a few miles from the coast of Africa in a Spanish Colony, try the local cuisine you may be pleasantly surprised. The meat was very well cooked and was very tender and tasty. I love salads and there was always pleanty of fresh salad, crab, tuna, anchovies, muscles and nice dressings on them. Breakfast was good, you had the choice of all your usual cooked English breakfast items also cereal, fruit, toast, rolls, cold meat, yogurts and cheese. What more choice could you want, I have eaten the same breakfast at home for about the last 20 years? Have never really put a lot of thought into it, why complain? You have self service beer, white, red and rosy wine oh and water, so you don’t even have to buy bottles of water you can fill up at the wee machines. Ice-cream was also available. We did laugh at some of the items at meal times but there was always something to eat and it wasn’t inedible at all. We ordered a packed lunch about 4 times so it was nice if you were hungry through the night or were out the next day, you had sandwiches, juice, yoghurts and fruit with you. We took some to the airport on our last day. We topped up the sandwiches with salad and they were delicious. (One woman even said that her daughter wouldn’t eat because it was too healthy, she preferred burgers from MacDonalds).

In the reviews I read of complaints about the staff. We found them all to be nice and smiley, but then I was always pleasant to them. The receptionists were always friendly and when the TV didn’t work there was somebody there straight away, no problem, twice we had help. When in the restaurant if you needed something they would get it for you without an issue.

The alcoholic drinks were good, quite strong they certainly don’t scrimp on the measures most people on their first night get extremely merry very quickly.

The complex is very clean, (never saw a cockroach or had any wee beasties in the apartment) the bungalows are very clean and modern we were in room 454 right next to the reception, a brilliant bungalow as the terrace was quite enclosed and sunny and a very short walk to the bar and for meals and the pool. Couldn’t have wishes for a better position. There were plenty of sun beds to pick from, yes they are close together………….. simply move them over to the side, no need to complain, for goodness sake think of a solution. Very big, clean pool and a kiddie pool with a life guard. We didn’t bother with air conditioning as the climate was not too warm or too cold. There were extra blankets and pillows. A fully equipped kitchen. We paid for the TV on a few occasions when we felt we wanted it. You just go to reception and ask them to connect it for 3 Euros. The remote is 6 Euros which is reimbursed when you return it.

I know my review doesn’t sound brilliant and I am not ranting and raving about how wonderful the hotel was, but it definitely was a really nice clean hotel and I would recommend it to others and would go back. It was an extremely relaxing holiday. I liked the fact that you could walk to the beach, shops, restaurants, and entertainment.

We hired a car for 4 days and covered the whole island, we also went on a trike ride with the company Cool Runnings, up over the mountains it was fantastic and was a highlight of the holiday. It was our first time flying with Ryanair and were pleasantly surprised, the flights were very good, comfortable and arrived both times before scheduled. The complex is 10 minutes from the airport so it is easier, cheaper and quicker to jump a taxi and it only costs about 10 Euros, we actually shared with another couple who were at the taxi rank they were going to a nearby hotel so it halved the price. As the hotel is near the airport you are close to a flight path but in no way does it bother you in the slightest and there are no flights during the night.

Anybody who visits the Cay Beaches will love it I am sure. Go on give it a go!

Room Tip: Pick a bungalow near the reception and pool, it is less hassle to nip back to your room for the loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

3rd time at Cay beach, dont take any notice of bad reviews, the place is lovely staff very helpfull, Weather was great. Lots of nice cheap restaurants with good service. The Windmill sell the best fish and chips for only 650 eu.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leigh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We have just come back after spending a week there,the weather was fanatstic blue skies everyday.The bungalows are lovely we were in 412 and had the sun most of the day.We were self catering so cannot comment on the food,the reception staff were very helpful and nice.We ate out everynight at Linns or windmill good food at a reasonable price,breakfasts too.

Room Tip: ask for one south facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for a week in Feb . We arrived early (11.30 or so ) and so didnt expect to get our room straight away . The lady at reception asked us to take a seat and that our room would soon be ready . Turned out it was going to be an hour so this was silly really . After 30 mins I asked could we leave our luggage in the luggage room - we went off down the town bought some water etc and it was ready when we got back . Would have made much more sense if this idea was suggested straight away .
A lot of recent reviews have highlighted the plus's of this hotel - the cleanliness , friendliness, location , modern well kept rooms /areas and I definetly agree . Everything was very fresh and well kept and the fact the whole complex was very recently refurbished was blindingly obvious . So I'll just limit my review to the worries you may have from the few bad reviews .
BAR : The bar service was actually very prompt throughout the stay . Never once did I have to wait more than three minutes or so and rarely was there anyone in front of me . The spirit measures were genorous without being crazy so that you had some idea how much you were drinking . The bar guys were very nice and always had a smile ..they deserved a tip bucket like in every other all-in bar I've seen . The local drinks were lovely just as good as home in fact better because everything wasn't ruined with excess ice !
Security : While we were there we didnt hear of anybody being robbed . There were security men patroling onsite from 11.30 every night . The apartments are very secure with card locks on the doors and appear metal framed dblglazed throughtout .
Food : The bar food is basic (burger toastie chips etc ) but very tasty and ridicoulouly cheap by Irish standards . The food in the restaurant is NOT cold . Its as warm as it should safely be stored in a buffet setup . There's a microwave if you demand your meals absolutely steaming !!!! . Breakfast and lunch were great for an allin buffet ..dinner just let the side down a little . Generally there was a veg/pasta option a fish option and a meat option . Just one extra meat option would have made a huge difference and might saved all the negative reviews . I'm sad to conclude though that a lot of people expect everything to be just like home foodwise .. they really should stay at home then . The waiting staff cleared the tables very promtly ..giveing a very tidy look to the whole area and the view from the dining area was lovely.
Sunbeds : no problem with availablity even on first day when we went down at 2.30 pm . Lovely to see people tidy up as they left too .. it only takes a moment to put your cups etc . in the bin .
Night Entertainment : entertainment is on the poor side and really only for the kids but at least there is some !. Expect a mini disco form 845 to 915 and n quiz or show 10 - 1045 . Theres bingo twice a week ..(maybe three times )too
All in all though this is a gem in this price range ..it offers great value !

Room Tip: A room near the pool/bar will be most secure if thats a big concern . There is little noise really a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

stayed at the cay beach in jan its 10 min from beach 5 min from resort centre ,i use a walking stick and had no problems at this resort ,the cay beach is great with individual bungalows all at a high standard, we were self catering so can not comment on the food, but a good kitchin area in the bungalows, and a great shower area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Do not go to this hotel if you are in a wheelchair or need a wetroom. We paid a significant amount of money to go here after it was recommended by Thomson's welfare department. There was only one pull-down rail on the left side of the toilet. None of the staff thought to tell me that there was a lift which took you from restaurant/reception level to the pool bar/pool level. On the plus side the food was good and there was lots for the kids to do.

Room Tip: The apartment itself was modern and clean but just not suitable for my needs. To get around the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cay Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cay Beach Villas

Address: C/ Tabaiba | Sector Urb. Castillo, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cay Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cay Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cay Beach Villas Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Cay Beach Villas Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cay Beach Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.