We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Basic Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Caleta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Puerto Caleta to your Saves list
Puerto Caleta
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   C/ Juan Evora Suarez, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Caleta)   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Friendly Basic Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Puerto Caleta

We stayed at Puerto Caletta for ten days on a self catering basis - Room 78.

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful Reception chap called Fermine - he continued to be a real pleasure throughout our holiday and in all interactions. Our room (78) was perfect for our requirements, quiet and private. The room itself was basic in presentation and furnishings. The kitchenette again whilst basic was functional, and like many we hire a toaster. The accommodation clearly requires refurbishment as there were many signs of wear and repair - included darned bedding - All that said, the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

Poolside amenities were good with plenty of poolside beds and a pool table. The cafe/bar was spartan but managed by pleasant staff. Pool side whilst not used much was always a pleasant and peaceful environment.

The apartments are well situated close to local amenities including restaurants and a supermarket all within 200 yards. It is only a 5 minute walk to the main shopping area and similar to the sea/coastline.

In summary - nicely situated (and not under the flight path) close to amenities, clean and comfortable but basic and dated. Room 78 was quiet & private however only enjoyed full sun until 4pm.

Fermine on reception was a great fun and enhanced our stay.

We would return.

Thank You

Jim 'n' Judith

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    75
    50
    20
    13
See reviews for
34
97
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When we checked in we were too early. Spent day in the RAIN going from pub to pub indoors - not what you would expect on a sun holiday - accomodation very very basic. Bedroom bedside overhead lamp not working. The large lamp in the living area, the shade was actually in shreds. We had to walk through a puddle of water outside our apartment to get to the door to gain entry every time we came back. Could they not have put a drain for the water AWAY from the building when they put in the tiles OUTSIDE the door ??? We paid for a safe deposit box & the morn we were leaving. NOBODY to be found as reception was closed. Coach transfer had arrived but we dashed from Bar to kitchen & nobody to take the key & give us back our deposit. Coach driver not impressed or the other passengers. We literally had to give a cleaner the key & say they owed us money. Travelling for over 40 yrs that was a "first". Emailed on our return home & Manager said he would refund to our given bank Account. Got email from another member of staff who said they would do the same but NOTHING. Reading other reviews we are not surprised. We certainly will be telling everybody else to avoid this place. A sign up that the reception opens before our leaving time & it locked up for a long time AFTER the stated time. This is supposed to be a holiday ????? Very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been there with my partner for one week in January, that was a last minute booking and we didnt regret it! Apartment was beautiful and clean, very sunny terrace. We spend wonderful time on Fuerte and definitely will go back one day.


There is just one small thing.. we put post cards to out family in the post box which is in front of reception and they didnt come yet? It's almost 3 months now. If that postbox is fake, can anyone from the staff check that for us and put them to the right one? My mum is still waiting for her post card haha and wants it so badly! :D


Thank you for amazing time!
I do not know the name of the girl from reception.. curly hair and very beautiful smile? :D Such a helpful and warm person.
Great customer service guys!

Room Tip: The best wi-fi signal is near to the reception, there is no signal in the rooms, because it's to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monoborracho2014, Director General at Puerto Caleta, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Customer,

We want to thank you for your good comment. We are working to improve our service. The feedback helps us and other guests also.

We are proud that you have chosen our hotel to spend your holidays in our wonderful island of Fuerteventura.

Thank you very much again,

Himar Silvera
Puerto Caleta Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every basic appliance failed to meet basic standards. Few lights were working. Fridge off on arrival, dirty and full of bugs. Extremely poor wifi set up, 7euros a day to pay for a terrible connection. Ugly interior decoration. Lime green and orange should never be seen! Awful uncomfortable beds, plastic lining on mattresses which squeaked at every movement- you would hope the majority of adults had grown out of bed wetting so no need for them! Absolutely NO hot water at all. Taps had been adjusted to actually turn off as you tried to increase temp. Even with the heat its extremely hard to shower in freezing water! Overall security of the complex felt very unsafe- single panel glass doors separated us from the main road at which our room overlooked. Shutters acted as covers and were impossible to lock. No one around after 7pm to help us with anything we might have needed. Also we seemed to have a mystery joining door to another room which the lock was just stuffed with toilet roll as a way of no entry. Towels were old and heavily frayed. Would never recommend this place to anyone to stay in! Worst 2 nights i've ever had in a hotel!

Room Tip: Don't go here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monoborracho2014, Director General at Puerto Caleta, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for posting a comment. It's a shame for us that you did not enjoy your holiday as you wanted in our hotel.

Dear Sir, our hotel has surveillance cameras and a security guard who watches all night. The best laundry Island provides us towels. As for the hot water, each room or apartment has its individual water heater.

In any case we want to thank you once again for your feedback to help us to improve.

I hope to see you in Fuerteventura again.

Sincerely,

Himar Silvera/ Puerto Caleta Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely holiday here going back in august.. Staff very friendly repairs done fast if needed clean bedding and towels regularly had to eat in sister hotel which was fine a short walk away.. Entertainment was very good :) see you in august fuerteventura

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monoborracho2014, Director General at Puerto Caleta, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear madam / sir,

We would like to thank you for your friendly comment. Feedback helps us to improve our services and we are pleased to read that we have met your expectations.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have been using these apartments for the last 7-8 years .And if one thing to say they have been constant,constantly good,Yes they are getting a little tired and dated,but we have always found them very clean and the complex is very well maintained.All staff are friendly & helpful.Although we don't use the pool,facilities much ,they are very good.The location is ideal for the centre of caleta.They say you get what you pay for.These apartments offer great value for money.I only hope that the rumoured
All inclusive move change doesn't exclude us people that want the town to stay alive,and maintain some self catering element.Good luck to Greg&Kat with their new Lord Nelson.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monoborracho2014, Director General at Puerto Caleta, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear madam / sir,

We would like to thank you for your friendly comment. Feedback helps us to improve our services and we are pleased to read that we have met your expectations.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

There was a well run Pool Bar on the complex, which sadly isnt there anymore
Owned by Greg and Katrina and their staff - Dan, Marian and Martin they have moved to another brand new bar just up the road (10 min walk) just after the trampolines and just before Hipo Dino supermarket, keeping the name THE LORD NELSON. Everyone is welcome and the food is superb and well presented. Serving breakfast through to evening Bar prices are very reasonable too. Also offering free WIFI and HUGE 2M screen for football. Get ya selves there.

Room Tip: Plenty of apartments around the pool good for out of school time, bad if arriving in school time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monoborracho2014, Director General at Puerto Caleta, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Customer,

We want to thank you for your good comment. We are working to improve our service. The feedback helps us and other guests also.

We are proud that you have chosen our hotel to spend your holidays in our wonderful island of Fuerteventura.

Thank you very much again,

Himar Silvera
Puerto Caleta Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerto Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Caleta

Address: C/ Juan Evora Suarez, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Caleta)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Puerto Caleta 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Puerto Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Caleta Apartments Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Puerto Caleta Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Caleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.