We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Puerto Caleta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Puerto Caleta to your Saves list
Puerto Caleta
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   C/ Juan Evora Suarez, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Caleta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Guildford, Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good cheap apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were very lucky with our room as we had 77 with a MASSIVE balcony, shared with next door and sun all day.

The rooms are a bit dated, but for what we paid for our entire holiday I can't complain at all.

It is really close to the beach and all amenities that you could want.

My only complaint would have to be the beds as they were really hard and after 10 days my back was pleased to not sleep on them again! It is a small price to pay for the small price we paid!

Room Tip: Get a first floor room facing the big hotel for good sun. Yes, there is noise from the Captains Bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    58
    42
    14
    11
See reviews for
27
78
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Booked through Low Cost Holidays originally to Caleta Garden but when we arrived were told we'd been booked in at Puerto Caleta. Possibly because it was a late booking and I'd asked for a low room.
Accommodation was acceptable. As with other reviewers comments our low room didn't get any sun but that wasn't a major problem.
Kettle and toaster hired as we have done elsewhere on these self catering holidays so no problem to us. Ok we could have spent that on four beers but we like the easy life and our early morning cuppa.
Plenty of hot (very hot) water, rooms cleaned 5 out of 10 days. No signs in our room of any insects. Oh no that's not quite right. First two nights I killed 4 mosquito's. That was all.
For the money we paid everything was acceptable.
As with others used local bars and restaurants.
(Especially to pick up free Wi-Fi).
Caleta Del Fuste not that big so caught local buses to Morro Jable (South of the Island) and Puerto del Rosario.
If we returned it would be to a different location.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERTS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Last min booking,rooms basic and clean large lounge area. Breakfast is served in caleta gardens hotel 200m outside of hotel, rooms below have little sun, we moved to the higher floor more private and more sun.
You can't complain for these value apts but I am baffled why the captains bar below the complex has live music from 9:30pm every night which sound systems face the complex. Think again if you want an early night!,
Or invest in ear plugs! How is that allowed?
Overall good value pity about the captains bar

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We wanted a cheap and cheerful week away and, for the price paid, that's what we got. Having read reviews on Puerto Caleta, we did not have high expectations, we were being realistic. On arrival at the complex, we were checked in swiftly and issued a map of the complex to locate our room (#65). Our room was immediately next to the pool and opposite Nelson's Bar. The room smelled freshly cleaned and consisted of a lounge, with small kitchen area, a bathroom with shower only and a double bedroom. We also had a small patio area, with double doors from the bedroom and lounge. The room was equipped with clean towels (changed 3 times during our stay) and a variety of food preparation and cooking equipment. Yes, there was no kettle, but who can't boil a cup of water in a pan?!? The fridge was of a good size and clean, although I would never have used the microwave due to it's condition/cleanliness. The bathroom was adequate; the shower could have been a little cleaner and there were a few 'tatty' tiles, but everything functioned as it should. The bedroom was of a good size and housed a built in wardrobe/cupboard, with plenty of coat hangers and space to store suitcases etc. The bed linen was changed once during our stay. The bed was extremely firm. I enjoyed my first nights sleep, probably due to sleep deprivation the night prior, but thereon in, I felt that I was sleeping on bales of hay and did not sleep that well (although the hay bed is not wholly responsible for my lack of sleep...) As other reviewers have stated, the rooms are tired, but they are perfectly functional and for the price paid, we were satisfied. Now for my gripes... My first gripe is the openness of the complex; access can be gained by anyone from every side. It is no wonder that other reviewers have been subject to theft and this openness made me feel very insecure at night (resulting in me not being able to sleep for fear we would have a 'visitor'). My second gripe was the noise on a night time from the tapas bar downstairs/Nelson's Bar/inconsiderate guests. The location of our room meant that we had a ringside seat for all the Elvis tribute nights, bingo and 'party' nights. Yes, most people expect to be 'entertained' on holiday, but the resort (Caleta de Fuste) is not really geared towards people under the age of 65 and, therefore, ironically, we were typically tucked up by 10pm, but unable to settle down due to the noise levels. Overall, we were satisfied for the price paid. We would not return, but this is due to the resort, not necessarily the hotel. As a footnote, the pool is small. It was fine for the duration of our stay, but I can imagine that in the summer months it would be fairly cramped. Ooh and shops, beach etc are all within 5 minutes walking distance, so it was very central.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

we got there friday , room no 16 shoved in a corner no terrace no sun , all the laundry from all roooms is dumped in trolleys outside your door, room full of ants had to get it sorted , viewed 3 other rooms all as bad , 2 were facing the back end of a restaurant so you could see all the rubbish, 8am on a morning all the staff would collect the laundry and bring differant carts , chatting away loudly ,this went on all day every day , the microwave was full of rust inside it- it was flaking off,. if you value your health and sanity keep away

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After reading some reviews I had a few doubts, but these were unfounded. I am rating this as to what I would expect of the standards of a three star apartment. My wife and I stayed here in February for one week on a self catering basis. On arrival we were given a ground floor apartment near the reception, maybe no.28 We asked to be relocated, but were told that all rooms were booked and we would possibly be moved in two or three days. Once we were unpacked and settled in we couldn`t be bothered and stayed put. Others we spoke to had made the same request and had been move after a couple of days. Ground floor apartments(ours in particular) are permanently in the shade which can make the rooms seem gloomy. The rooms are spacious enough. There is a bedroom, shower/toilet,(always hot water) and living room with a small kitchen. A couple of sofas, coffee table, chest of drawers and television. The rooms and furniture are basic but ok. The décor is a little tired but very clean. Rooms are cleaned regularly and towels(of good quality) changed two or three times a week. Kitchen has microwave, a two ring stove, fridge and cooking utensils and crockery. No kettle. We always take one, so no problem. The pool is up one flight of steps as is one of the bars. The pool was clean and there were ample loungers, although some of them rather saggy. Happy hour in this bar is 21:00 - 22:00 two for one. There is a bar down stairs. Happy hour 18:30 - 22:30 two for one. 2.50 euros for two large beers etc. There a musicians on every night and much better than I was expecting, ranging from country, rock, Jazz, reggae. There is also a restaurant. We only ate there once, maybe the staff were just having a bad night but we didn`t bother again. Plenty of shops bars and restaurants nearby and less than five minutes to the beach. It is definitely not the Ritz but for a three star apartment at this price I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Although the apartments are a little dated they are well maintained and most importantly clean!!! Just returned from a weeks stay half-board and it's been a lovely holiday. The pool was cold but that's not unusual. We knew we had to walk to Caleta Garden Hotel for our meals so this was no problem as from our room 87 it was not very far. The quality of the food was good and there was always something to choose. The staff worked very hard and the food was replenished all the time. The only critism was NO kettle unless you hired one, which seems most odd being self-catering accommodation!!!! The on-site 'Lord Nelson' bar was handy and convenient as was the nearby Hyperdino supermarket. The walk to the beautiful beach was about 5 minutes walk away. All-in-all a very 'lovely holiday' to which we would return.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Puerto Caleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Caleta

Address: C/ Juan Evora Suarez, s/n, 35610 Caleta de Fuste, Antigua, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Hotel Blue Sea Puerto Caleta)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Antigua > Caleta de Fuste
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Caleta de Fuste
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Puerto Caleta 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Puerto Caleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerto Caleta Apartments Hotel Caleta De Fuste
Puerto Caleta Fuerteventura/Caleta De Fuste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Puerto Caleta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.