We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Island Beach Resort to your Saves list
Island Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9-13 Margaret Street, Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Broadbeach B&B and Inns
Marcoola, Australia
1 review
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Recently stayed in a two bedroom apartment for a weekend with wife and teenage/adult children. Good location in easy walking distance of coffee shops and restaurants. Didn't use the on-site facilities (pool and BBQ) but they seemed to be well maintained. Secure basement parking is available. Resort is a bit off the Broadbeach 'strip' (opposite primary school) which meant it was quiet.

Friendly and efficient management, we arrived after reception hours and after-hours process was easy.

Suited us fine, reasonably priced and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1958, Front Office Manager at Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Island Beach Resort- we appreciate all feedback, both porisitve and negative. We need to know what we are doing well and in which areas changes are needed. If you can think of anything, no matter how small, that can improve oour service please let us know. We hope to see you again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    16
    9
    11
See reviews for
30
32
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

stayed for 3 nights recently. Its a bit further away from the main parts of broadbeach so is fairly quiet which is good and easy walk to the beach. Pool is heated (we didn't go in) and nice warm spa. It is an older property so some of the furniture and facilities in the room are a bit tired and old. There was no heating really (reverse cycle air con didn't really do much and only in living area) and only very thin blankets supplied. Luckily it was a warmish weekend for winter. I think if it was any colder it would have been an uncomfortable few nights. Also no air conditioning in main bedroom ( we stayed in 2 bedroom apartment) so I imagine in summer it would be quite hot. We stayed as it was peak season (school holidays) and no other options at the time. I would probably stay elsewhere and somewhere newer if I had to choose again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1958, Front Office Manager at Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We thank you and appreciate the time taken to review Island Beach Resort. As all apartments are individually owned, each apartment and its inclusions may vary. We are currently encouraging updates in all apartments for carpets and decor, as well as our grounds. So perhaps should you visit us again you may see some positive changes at Island Beach. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

If you are after a self contained, of average appointment, but a walk to Casino, beach, and great restaurants, skyrail etc then this is the place for you. A small pool that doesn't aways get the sun but a fairly good family entertaining area with BBQ and spa, tables etc at front is nice for a relaxing evening.

School opposite takes away from the ambiance if you are after a quiet relax.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1958, Front Office Manager at Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review Island Beach Resort, each review, both positive and negative are taken on board in our ongoing aim to provide a great, reasonably priced, family style holiday experience. All of our apartments are individually owned and inclusions may vary accordingly, we are currently in the process of upgrading apartments on behalf of our owners. we do hope that you will revisit us at Island Beach Resort at some point and we thank you again for tyour review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

if you stay here be sure that you do not leave anything behind cause you don't get your things back they throw away any items left. hotel I worked in has a policy if not claimed by certain time frame in the lost property then is discarded. also our last day we were late getting up as I had food poisoning we rang reception to inform these was no allowance told to get out considering the hotel was almost empty. terrible service

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1958, Front Office Manager at Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Island Beach Resort. You may not be aware that all apartments are individually owned and that our Owners do visit, so although it may seem that the Resort is full, individual apartments may have been requested or Owners staying, so a particular unit may well be a back to back booking. We do keep lost property for a limited time but are unable, due to space restrictions, to hold on to forgotten items indefinitely. We do note that you were given latitude on our usual 10am departure time and that we were not informed of the lost item until some time past your departure. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you dont like highrise and can do without ocean views this is the place for you. The three storey walkup is close to everything and no traffic noise at night. You can easily walk to Pacific Fair and the Casino. The units themselves are clean and provide everything you need.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs ask for a ground floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1958, Front Office Manager at Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your kind words. These reviews help us to know which areas we can work on and which are effective. If you can think of anything that would make our guests stay more pleasurable, however small, please let us know. We do hope to see you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What a wonderful place to enjoy a relaxing holiday. This quaint Tuscan style ground floor apartment was just what my family and I needed. Close to shopping for mum, close to beach and park for kids and close to casino and convention centre for husband. Excellent value for money and clean comfortable room. Nice big plazma TV and good to watch kids from unit in pool from ground floor unit.Thank you to managers for your over and above service and hospitality. I felt right at home and will be booking in again, and again. See you next time.

Room Tip: Choose Ground Floor. No stairs and no noise. What a wonderful place to enjoy a relaxing holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg1958, Front Office Manager at Island Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We thank you for your great review, is is important for us to have feedback, both positive and negative so that we can access what is working and where we need to improve. If you can think of anything, no matter how small, that would help to improve our guests stay we would love to hear from you. Thank you again and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have been going to this resort for the last 10 years.We dont like highrise apartments and we always manage to get a 1 bedroom ground floor apartment.It is located very close to beach,casino,Pacific Fair and Oasis shopping center yet is not on a busy road.
The management are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Beach Resort

Address: 9-13 Margaret Street, Broadbeach, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Beach Resort - Broadbeach AccommodationLooking to relax and get away from it all? Holiday to your heart's content at Island Beach Resort.Island Beach Resort provides Broadbeach resort accommodation only a block away from the famous beaches of the Gold Coast. Nestled in the heart of Broadbeach, our Gold Coast family apartments are also a relaxed stroll to world-class restaurants so you can enjoy the wondrous food of Broadbeach. Moreover, it provides easy access to Broadbeach attractions like the Gold Coast Convention Centre, Conrad Jupiters Casino and Pacific Fair Shopping Centre while being just far enough where you can avoid the hustle and bustle of this top tourist destination, and enjoy the most restful vacation.The one and two bedroom apartments are spectacularly furnished in Santa Fe style, with a superb design and superior finish. Each apartment features balconies and a select few boast private rooftop sun decks as well. Within our elegant yet affordable Gold Coast acommodation are tropical gardens, entertaining and BBQ areas, gazebo, and a resort-style spa and Heated pool.We also offer our guests FREE Secure underground Car park,FREE WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Island Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Beach Hotel Broadbeach
Island Beach Resort Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.