We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant

Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant
Shop 6, 20 Queensland Ave, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
(07) 5504 5335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 192 restaurants in Broadbeach
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful fish lunch today and very attentive service . Thoroughly enjoyed .No attitude when using a discount voucher which is what usually happens in Restaurants of this calibre .

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Public Relations Manager at Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Lisemare72,
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent lunch at Yellowfin and for also acknowledging our friendly, professional servers. We offer deals now ane then to introduce our venue to new guests and deliver even better value on some of our most popular items - far from being annoyed, we are grateful that these deals are always well-received and excited about meeting the new people that new deals sometimes bring through the doors. Hope to serve you again at Yellowfin soon.
kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    99
    67
    22
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Chefs are let down by front of house staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Went with a voucher for a seafood platter and a glass of wine for 4. We introduced ourselves to the woman who they have standing out the front. She took us to our table and I handed her my vouchers. She handed them back and went back to standing at the door. After waiting quite a while a male waiter came over to give us menus. I explained we were on vouchers and wouldn't need them. He moved outside to stand and chat to the girl. After 5 mins I went outside and asked of he could bring us our glasses of wine. He did. We wanted to order a mineral water but the 2 waiters never came near us so it didnt happen. The platters were very tasty, great variety and well done. I would have ordered more wine but again didnt want to get up to chase a waiter. We ate and decided after they cleared the platters without a word that we would have desert and coffee somewhere more welcoming.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Away247,
Thank you so much for purchasing one of our on-line deals and for your honest appraisal of Yellowfin, I am so sorry that your experience was less than welcoming. That is not the level of service that we are usually proud to offer so it is clear we have dropped the ball on this occasion. I have passed your feedback through to the manager of Yellowfin as there is either a training or under-staffing issue that needs some attention - thank you for letting us know.
I hope that you will give us a second chance to make a better impression - feel free to contact me any time if you would like to come back, I know we can do better and it would be my pleasure to take care of your future bookings myself.
Kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A family favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We've visited Yellowfin probably half a dozen times in the last couple of years, and always leave satisfied.

Nice, fresh seafood, and friendly staff.

I requested a slight change to my dish off the menu, and they happily obliged, and the meal was fantastic.

Good choice of food for the kids.

A little expensive if you were eating later in the evening, but we dine early for the discount.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustineC1, Manager at Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Lizwis,
Thank you so much for your continued support of Yellowfin, we are so grateful that you visit time and time again and always leave satisfied. I hope that we continue to impress you and we look forward to your next visit!
Kind regards,
Justine Clarke
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Lovely meal friendly staff and reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Take your own wine which is a great saver and also watch out for shopper dockets which five you a free main course to the value of $30. Prompt service am the children's orders were brought out first and quickly. Staff were very friendly and food was well cooked and presented.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

While on holiday we went to the Yellowfin for dinner as the website and advertising we had seen looked great. When we arrived it looked nothing like it did on the website. It could benefit from a tidy up. No friendly greeting, just told where to sit. Menus arrive and not told of any specials. Drinks order was taken asked for advise on the wine but felt we were more of a nuisance. We ordered our food and when the entrees arrived we were impressed and they were great, then the mains arrived, what a disappointment. Signature dish of tuna was over cooked and like rubber, bugs and prawns, were swimming in a tomatoe sauce, for the price this was not good value for money as only got 1 and half bugs and maybe 5 prawns. Desserts were not offered and we asked for a cab to be called and was told no, you have to see the hostess who forgot about us, overall experience 1 out of 10.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellowfin Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.