We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese on the GC!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donto Sapporo

Donto Sapporo
2763 Gold Coast Highway, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
07-55399933
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 203 Restaurants in Broadbeach
Price range: $3 - $47
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Japanese on the GC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Food is amazing! Very friendly staff, great atmosphere!
The gyoza here is my favorite! If you are there for dinner try the ebi gyoza, they ate amazing. There's a special board next to the kitchen, they have the catch of the day. Food is fresh!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Donto Sapporo has been one of our favourite Japanese restaurants for years now. The restaurant has great staff and the ambience with the choice of western style table seating or Japanese style mat seating (shoes off!). The food is excellent and the Donto Oysters should not be missed - these are fresh oysters that are covered in a delicious wasabi mayonaise and then grilled to perfection. In winter the Oden soup is a must. The sashimi is excellent - always very fresh. Other favourites include the Butter Scallops, Gyoza, and the salmon dishes. One warning - if you order the stewed pork knuckle: it is a huge dish - make sure there are enough of you to finish it! Green tea and Black Sesame ice creams are really lovely. It's a casual restaurant and you are never rushed. Oh - Japanese tend to leave their rice to the last so if you want rice with the mains make a point of requesting that.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A great find, can't believe we drove past it so often.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

So happy that I discovered this gem through Tripadvisor.
We were looking for places to go to celebrate my birthday, and this one popped up on the Radar through the TA search box.

The decor is very traditional Japanese with lots of blonde timber etc and small tables where you sit around on cushions with your feet in a well underneath the table (Please remove your shoes)

A large and varied menu, with enough to keep everyone happy.

We had

Donto Oysters - Grilled with Wasabi and Mayonaise ( Lovely)
Gyoza (some of the best I have had)
Beef Tataki - The slender slithers of beef were stunning with the Ponzu dressing
Chikuwa Negi Ten - Rolled squid/fish with shallots done tempura style (This was OK)
Cha Han - Japanese fried rice - really nice and flavourful.
Shabu Shabu - We ordered 2 servings, but it looked HUGE and easily fed 4 of us to complete satisfaction. Coooking at your table is kind of theraputic too :)

We had some SAKE to share, a couple of beers and a bottle of really nice Sauv Blanc and the bill was just on $50 a head. We were VERY HAPPY with that, and plan to go back as soon as possible to try lots of other dishes on the menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“The best Japanese restaurant in the Gold Coast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Everytime we drive pass this restaurant but we have never given it a try, I'm glad my friend brought me here finally! It's a hidden gem in the Gold Coast! Very nice seating atmosphere that is very Japanese and most importantly, they serve fantastic and good quality Japanese food! Oishii!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best sushi & sashimi in Gold Coast & Brisbane area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

If you are after quality Sushi & Sashimi, I recommend this restaurant. We have been going to this restaurant last few years. We have never been dissapointed. The chef in the sushi counter is from Hokkaido and seems to be passionate about Japanese cuisine. Our favorite is Nama-chirashi. My kids love California roll. Sapporo bento is great value for money. We also recommend to make a booking, Saturday can be very busy even lunch time.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donto Sapporo also viewed

Broadbeach, Gold Coast
 

Been to Donto Sapporo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donto Sapporo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.