We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ultra Broadbeach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ultra Broadbeach to your Saves list
Ultra Broadbeach
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   14 George Avenue, Broadbeach, Queensland QLD 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

We stayed at the Ultra during the July school holidays with our three children aged 16, 13, and 11yrs. We were in a 3 bedroom apartment on the 6th floor and had great views out to the sea. As advertised on the web site, the apartment had large lounge area, separate kitchen, and 3 bedrooms. We had 2 designated parking spots in the basement car park. Master bedroom had an ensuite bathroom that was great, but had shutters between the bathroom and bedroom so not at all soundproof, just worth remembering sometimes! The other 2 bedrooms were at the other end of the apartment with their own bathroom - quite small bathroom but certainly adequate. The apartment is certainly designed for summer living and one comment is that it would have been useful to have had heated towel rails to dry our towels in the winter as there was really no where to hang our towels to dry. A couple of extra blankets would also have been useful.

The kitchen was reasonably equipped for cooking but had limited number of casseroles and pots - we managed by planning our meals around the pots etc that were available - it would have been useful to have a few extra containers. If you're not planning to cook much on your holiday of course that won't be a bother.

The Ultra is in a great location - easy walking distance to Oasis shopping centre and restaurants (5-6 mins), and Pacific Fair shopping centre (maybe 10 mins, and crossing some big roads - 2 mins by car depending on how you get the lights). The beach is two blocks away and again an easy walk .

We found the apartment and facilities to be great - theaterette that could be booked for private use, pool, gym etc. Theatrette was great on a rainy afternoon - really big screen, huge seats, just bring your own dvd. Outdoor pool is heated and not the biggest, but hey, there's a beach 5 minutes walk away. Nicely done with spa and kids pool too. The reception staff were very helpful and informative. Information about local sights was in the foyer area by the lifts and also at the Oasis shopping centre there was a tourist desk.

We were very happy with our stay at the Ultra and would definitely stay again. We would have no hesitation in recommending it to other families for a good location at Broadbeach. Overall, exactly as advertised. Also nice to have no charges for extras like the theatrette and broadband usage.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    36
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
89
14
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rangitoto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Very little information given when checked in, assumed there would be information in the apartment but there was nothing. Whether this is a problem with just this particular apartment I do not know however a week after we got home there was a bill for cleaning stating that we had been advised that this was a requirement which I can say with all honesty that we did not receive ANY notification that all dishes needed to be cleaned. When I sent an email to let them know that we knew nothing of this requirement they simply ignored it and just went into detail about how the cleaner had to spend extra time getting the dishes done! I am concerned that other people might be getting caught in what seems to be a scam.
The building has also definitely got problems - our apartment could never seal out the wind especially in the west facing rooms. It is almost like the glass is not fitting properly, not very reassuring. Basins that couldn't be plugged which to me seems like a terrible waste of water. Because it is new and trendy it on the surface appears nice but if you look closely you can see litlle stuff like door handles etc aren't fitted very well, drains already going rusty in the bathroom (can't be stainless steel).

  • Liked — Views and layout
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

Fantastic views, great amenities. We had a three bedroom apartment at around floor 21. Decor was the trendy white but looked great. Big plasma tv in the main room, which also had amazing views. Well equipped, modern kitchen. comfortable beds and close to local supermarket and restaurants.

  • Liked — views, newness,
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2008

My boyfriend and I have just come back from a fantastic week at Ultra Apartments. Our one bedroom apartment was very comfortable and modern, the only problem was that we were on level 4 and the apartment complex next door blocked our view. The apartment was a fairly big size.

The staff were always friendly and helpful. The location was fantastic very close walking distance to the shops and the beach.

The only downside was the bathroom every single noise could be heard from the bathroom. The bathroom didnt have a wall separating it from the bedroom all that it had was some shutters.

The pool facilities a very nice.

All up we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, AUSTRALIA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

We stayed for 7 nights while we took our two kids to the themeparks during school holidays October 2007. Its all new & very nice. Our 2 bedroom 2 bathroom exec. apartment was very comfortable, on the 9th floor and had great views. The building seemed to tunnel wind into our unit. It really howled & we had to seal the front door with towels to cut the very annoying wind noise. Very high pillows were uncomfortable to say the least & the kitchen utensils were not up to the standard.
Nice lap pool & way too powerfull spa. Average gym equipment with good steam room & sauna.
BBQ facilities were terrific with a neat kitchen area at the pool to boot. The building is very secure & the staff very efficient.
Would stay at Ultra again.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Distance from supermarket & shops
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We found this self contained apartment on the website [--]
This apartment block was built for occupiers/investors and was completed in March 2007. It has spacious and comfortable rooms with free broadband internet. Outdoor dining on room balcony was available with full seating/table for 8 people.

Travelling with children 13 and 10 we had two rooms and a study which had a sofa bed as well. Our room 1604 also had two car spots for visitors if required.

Great outdoor BBQ facilities and good 25meter lap pool and heated spa. The pool however is a bit cool in the mornings as its in shaded by the fence and they seem to run the creepy crawler cleaner for the first 1.5 hours of the opening time which was a bit annoying (from 7am).

The Gym was a bit of let down with the quality of bike/gym equipment but it has a good sauna and shower/change rooms.

Ultra is away from the main drag of Broadbeach but only a 8minute walk to the main street or to Pacific Fair Shopping Mall.

Views were excellent to Broadbeach and it is only 1-block away (200meters) to the beach.

All rooms as far as I can tell face the Ocean with unblocked great ocean views from 5th floor onwards. There were adjoining resorts that may block lower levels. Southside rooms have better views towards Burleigh heads.

On arrival we had a welcome pack of food and there is a local IGA store one block away (10minute walk or 5min car ride).

Ultra is still very new and fresh and aparments have good fittings and appliances. The only let down was we could have much better kitchen utensils (pots, pans, knives and other utensils) to go with the Miele cooktop and oven.

Ultra is also next to a Primary School which had a school oval, tennis courts and outdoor basketball court.

If you are planning a stay here you will be very comfortable and not be disappointed. Our friends stayed at the Waves Resort which is in the main drag of Broadbeach and this was very similar but slighly more expensive for its location and no broadband - The Waves had slightly better layout but in the hustle and bustle of the restaurants.

If you are considering Ultra you may consider Waves as a alternative and similar resort but perhaps closer to amenities.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2007

Stayed at the Ultra Broadbeach for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom executive apartment. I booked directly on their web page and paid $235.00 per night, and wotif.com where charging $280.00 per night, don't call them directly as it was much cheaper on their web page.

Apartment was on the 16th floor so it had nice ocean views, apartment was very clean and lots of room for 4 adults. 2 plasma screens, 1 bigger one in the living area and a smaller one in the main bedroom.

Ultra Broadbeach is very close to everything, 5 minute walk to Jupiters Casino and Pacific Fair (very big shopping centre).

Would recommend Ultra Broadbeach.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ultra Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ultra Broadbeach

Address: 14 George Avenue, Broadbeach, Queensland QLD 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ultra Broadbeach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ultra Broadbeach located at Broadbeach overlooking one of Gold Coast's most beautiful parks, beaches and just a short stroll to the Gold Coast's most contemporary cafe & restaurant precincts. Stylish landscaping and water features surround the resort, and resort facilities include outdoor heated pool and spa with wading area, fitness room, theatrette, tennis court, BBQ facilities and Zen meditation garden. The sophisticated and spacious fully self contained apartments all boast shuttered east facing live-on balconies leading off the open plan living, dining and kitchen area. Tastefully furnished and finished with quality European appliances, these superior apartments are ideal for couples, families or the astute business traveler. Whether you choose a 1, 2, or 3 bedroom apartment you are guaranteed superior service and comfort. All apartments include free wireless internet access, air conditioning, full kitchen and laundry facilities and cable TV. Our location in central Broadbeach is only a short stroll to the CBD and alfresco dining of the Broadbeach area, also located within easy walking distance is the giant Pacific Fair Shopping centre, patrolled surf beach, Jupiters Casino and the Gold Coast Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ultra Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ultra Broadbeach Hotel Broadbeach
Ultra Broadbeach Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultra Broadbeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.