We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello Resort Apartments

Save Saved
You added Portobello Resort Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Portobello Resort Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   2607 Gold Coast Highway, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Far exceeded my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Far exceeded my expectations. The room was clean and bright with room to move, views of the pool and surrounding garden, and the sunset from my balcony. Heavy curtains for privacy were much appreciated, and I had the pool all to myself each evening which was an unexpected treat. As a woman travelling alone, the friendly staff, security gates to the grounds, locked stairwells, and separate room key made me feel very secure. And the location is perfect - public transport, beach, shops all very close, with attractions like 19 Karen Contemporary Artspace a short stroll away, and the resorts just a few minutes drive. The only hiccup was, the cleaners are so fastidious they cleaned the numbers right off the temperature gauge on the oven! Will definitely return, and highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for posting your kind review Rebecca. We are glad to hear that you had a great time on the Gold Coast and that you enjoyed your stay at Portobello. Next time you are planning to come to the coast be sure to contact us direct so that we can offer you your return guest discount. See you next time, MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melton, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a mid year getaway. The rooms were lovely, very clean, nice size with nice kitchen. We had a car and they did not charge us any extra to park here. Its a perfect distance from pacific faire, and the Oasis shopping centre. The pool area is lovely and has a bbq area that we used quite a bit. You can walk to all the nice broadbeach restaurants from here then walk back to the hotel from the beach. The staff were extremely helpful. This was an al around nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us Ashleigh, we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Portobello.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckalnd
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great Gold Coast apartment. Close to shopping malls and restaurants. This apartment was well priced as well. Rooms were nice and place is just perfect.

We recommend this apartment to everyone and we will certainly book with Portobello in our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for posting your review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

See you next time!

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 12 nights in January 2013. We were in the midst of an interstate move and found the apartments to be very relaxing. The pool area was very pleasant. The staff were very helpful and even rang me to tell me that some flowers had arrived for my wife's birthday. Despite the fact that we had arrived in 2 cars, the management let us use a vacant extra space in the secure car park. The apartments are 2 blocks from the beach and walking distance to Pacific Fair and Draculas and the Casino. The only drawback for me was that we had a top floor apartment but there are no lifts. Not so bad for the average traveller, but when you are moving you tend to have a lot more luggage. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor as long as you don't have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

See you again soon.

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent 7 nights in a one bedroom apartment at the Portobello Apartments in Broadbeach (over new years), and it was a great stay.

It had everything we needed - even a laundry, so I didn't have to fill the suitcase up - just did a load of washing every couple of days. My wife was happy to see that there was an iron. The air conditioning got a good workout and was lovely to have after a day out at theme parks or shopping. There was even a ceiling fan in the bedroom to help keep cool. The fridge/freezer was good too, as there was a jug for water to put in the fridge, plus two ice cube trays which were well used.

The pool was a nice way to cool down, and we even used the bbq facilities which was great.

We could walk across to Pacific Fair in about 6 minutes, and especially good if you have a few at Dracula's or the casino, as it was about 2 more minutes walk away. Although we didn't visit it, the Broadbeach shopping and dining was about a 10 minute walk away. The beach was about an 8 minute walk to get between the flags.

We hired a car for our trip, and the apartments had a locked garage for all of the vehicles, so there were no problems with security.

Be aware that because these are non-serviced apartments, if you are staying for more than 2 or 3 days, you'll need to get some toilet paper at Coles, and if you haven't got a towel for the beach or pool, go and get one at Pacific Fair at K-Mart or Target.

I suppose the only things we had to get used to was a little bit of road noise, but after a couple of days (and trips to various theme parks) we were often out to it anyway. The reception was also closed after 11am (which we found weird), but there was access to them via a phone.

Overall, an excellent place to stay! I would recommend it to those people who don't need to spend a lot of money to enjoy their holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Portobello.

We do hope to see you again soon.

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family and I stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed our time. The unit had everything you require and is in a fantastic location close to beach, shops and the casino. God quite a good deal at the last minute and it was the best value we could find

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobelloManagement, Manager at Portobello Resort Apartments, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, much appreciated.

MANAGEMENT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Portobello Resort Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portobello Resort Apartments

Address: 2607 Gold Coast Highway, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 Specialty lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portobello Resort Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portobello Resort Apartments is located in the heart of Broadbeach on the beautiful and world famous Gold Coast. Our spacious Mediterranean style 4 storey walk-up holiday apartments are just a few minutes stroll from the pristine white sand of the beach, and only a stone’s throw from world class shopping at the Pacific Fair Shopping Centre and glamorous all night entertainment at Jupiter’s Casino. With an ideal location, great value for money rates and a full range of facilities that includes a heated pool, soothing spa and barbecue facilities, our apartments are perfect for business stopovers, romantic getaways or family holidays. Please note that Portobello Resort is a 4 storey walk-up building (NO LIFTS) and the apartments are all fully self contained. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Portobello Resort Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portobello Resort Apartments Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello Resort Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.