We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good units” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Carmel By The Sea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   177 Old Burleigh Road, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Broadbeach
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location. Good units”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Walk to shops, restaurants and right across the road from a park and the beach. Location is great. Units are large well maintained and comfortable. Be aware that the term "airconditioned" is a little decieving. In our case a large three bedroom unit had one air conditioner in the lounge area only. Bedrooms have fans. Really at this price and standard we expected all rooms to be airconditioned.

Room Tip: If you want airconditioning in "all" rooms make sure you are specific in your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your recent stay at Carmel by the Sea. Our full time maintenance and housekeeping staff take great care of our apartments and it is lovely to know that you appreciated this. As far as apartments are concerned, there are few as spacious as Carmel by the Sea. No matter what type of apartment you select (e.g. one bedroom, two bedroom or three bedroom) you will find there is plentiful space for all. This makes Carmel by the Sea perfect for long stays or family get-togethers.
I apologise that the air-conditioning in the lounge area was insufficient for your stay and you are correct in saying that if air-conditioning is important to you, a request for air-conditioning throughout the apartment at the time of booking is advisable as we do have apartments that can cater for this. We encourage guests to book direct with our reception team so your requirements can be discussed and also so you can receive the best possible rate with your return guest discount.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    32
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
74
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just returned from our weekend stay. I was very impressed by the cleanliness of the entire place from the room to the pool area. I appreciated the carpets in the living area and bedrooms. So many of these places are full tiled and I end up with sore feet. Our unit had the best range of crockery and glassware of anyplace I have stayed recently. We had enough that I didn't need to wash up once over the weekend.
The unit was large. There were four adults and a baby and there was more than enough room.
It was only a quick five minute walk to the shops and restaurants. The patrolled beach and parks were directly opposite.
The lovely ladies at the reception were very friendly and helpful.
I'm trying to think of a negative..if there was one it would probably be the decor....it was bordering on Italian renaissance overkill. And maybe the beds were a bit hard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Carmel by the Sea.
It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us and that you found the apartment to be spacious and well equipped. Whilst many guests opt to make the most of our close proximity to restaurants and dining, we ensure each apartment is completely self contained so guests can enjoy the same convenience of cooking a meal as you would at home.
The fact that you had to think hard to find a negative is testament to how much you enjoyed your stay! I know exactly which apartment you are referring to and yes, it is a stylised with renaissance feel. Rest assured, we do have more neutral apartments if you prefer. When you make your next booking with us, notify our reception of your preference and we will allocate an apartment accordingly. Also, don't forget to make your next booking direct with our reservations team for your great return guest discount.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Carmel by the Sea. Lets hope that next time you can stay for more than a weekend and enjoy all that we have to offer for longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

when we got in our taxi and told our driver where to go he was very impressed, he said it was one of the best places to stay. however when we arrived at the hotel at 12:30pm (on a Sunday) we discovered the reception was closed. we had no warning of this prior to booking or traveling, even though we called the hotel enquiring about a shuttle bus a week earlier. when we used the phone at the reception to call the hotel, we were told there was no one on site and to come back at 2pm. we also asked if the concierge could hold our bags and were also denied. also discovered that you need a room key to open the main door to the lobby, so if no one had been walking in and out of the hotel we would've been stranded outside in the heat.

after checking into the hotel around 1:30pm (after realising there were people checking in over the phone already) we went up to our three bedroom apartment on the 5th level. our first thought was WOW. we had apartment number 21 and it was decorated in what can only be described as a Greek villa theme. the apartment is humongous, extremely spacious, and mostly facing the pool, with the lounge/living area facing the beach (we requested a beach view when booking). we found it very clean, and while the furniture isn't new, it is certainly homely.

we found the apartment had everything we could possibly need with a full kitchen, laundry, foxtel, two balconies (one off the master bedroom), two bathrooms, etc. we were very comfortable in the apartment and ended up spending a lot of time relaxing in there.

the location is simply amazing. it is literally across the road from the beach (with only a playground in between) and all shops are a 5 minute walk from it, including Oasis and Pacific Fair.

the facilities were satisfactory. the outdoor pool, indoor pool and spa were used fairly regularly by us, while the gym room was a little small. don't rely on the wifi service either as it was way too slow to load much.

the only real downfall of the trip was the customer service. while the staff were friendly, we learned they weren't all that helpful when they gave us the wrong stop to go to to catch the bus to Dreamworld. if it had been an obscure place, we would've understood but this was a tourist destination. it put us a good 20 minutes off schedule while we tried to find the bus stop we needed.

I would recommend Carmel By the Sea if you're looking for a place to relax in and feel comfortable moving around Broadbeach and the Gold Coast by yourself. I would not recommend it if you're looking for a place that will give you directions and information on the surroundings.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of Carmel by the Sea.

I am pleased to hear our location suited you. We have the best of both worlds as we are within walking distance to shops, the beach and restaurants but we are far enough away to maintain a peaceful and relaxing environment. It also sound as though you were very happy with the facilities and your apartment. We are very fortunate to have such spacious and fabulously appointed apartments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Our office hours are published on our website as well as on all booking websites (e.g. Booking.com/ Wotif) but I am sorry you were unaware that reception closes at 12noon on Sundays. I apologise for any distress this may have caused you. We generally do not notify guests of the office hours individually as the intercom system outside the front doors is linked to an after hours service to assist all guests arriving outside of office hours. Check-in time is 2pm and unfortunately early arrival can not always be accommodated but we will certainly always try. When reception is open, we are always happy to store luggage - unfortunately we are not able to do so on Sundays after midday. I do apologise that you had to wait for your room. The after hours service will always allow guests access to the secured, air-conditioned foyer area to wait for the room to be ready.

We usually receive such fantastic feedback regarding our customer service and I am so sorry that you did not find our staff to be helpful. I can assure you that every effort is made to assist our customers to make their stay as pleasant and stress free as possible. The Gold Coast is currently undergoing massive restructuring of public transport due to the introduction of the Light Rail system. This does mean that bus services are constantly changing and being re-directed. It is likely that the staff member who assisted you may have provided you with a bus service that has been affected by these changes. Again, I apologise that this cost 20 minutes of your day. We suggest our guests use the Translink Journey planner site to confirm travel arrangements during this transitional time.

We do offer a tour desk service and have a wall of brochures detailing activities available to fill your time on the Gold Coast. Our staff frequently attend famil services to ensure we are up to date with the local tours and attractions.

Hopefully, by the time you return the Light Rail system will be in place and transportation will be more reliable. It is planned to be operational very soon. We will do everything we can to ensure you have a wonderful stay next time. Don't forget to contact our reception direct for a return guest discount. We will also discuss any concerns you have about your return and will ensure your arrival is smooth.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We were a family of 6 that stayed herefor a week from 15 January and what a perfect place to stay it was. The 3 bedroom apartment was originally booked through Mint but it changed over to Carmel by the Sea at some stage but we had no issues with the changeover honouring the original agreement. Our 3 bedroom was extremely spacious and perfect for the 6 of us that included 4 teenagers. Fantastic views and great balcony space. The pool, spa, sauna and tennis courts were a big hit with the teens. There was plenty of deck chairs and umbrellas around the pool so it was never a hassle getting a place to lounge around. Great bbq area and everything so close, beach across the road and restaurants and shops a short walk. Loved it and would definitely come back and stay at Carmel by the sea.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing Carmel by the Sea.
I am pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay and that we will be seeing you back here.
Our facilities are always popular but maintain a relaxed atmosphere without ever feeling crowded. There is no better way to relax than on the sun lounges by the pool, except perhaps by wandering over the road to the beach. I'm glad your entire family enjoyed the stay.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you all back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Our stay at Carmel by the sea was really memorable and the views of the sea was amazing. My children absolutely enjoyed the extra amenities like tennis courts, swimming pool. I would certainly go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Hi Usha. Thank you so much for your lovely review of Carmel by the Sea.
We are proud to be a family friendly resort and our facilities certainly reflect this. The indoor and outdoors pools, the spa, steamroom, wading pool, gym, BBQ areas and tennis court cater for every member of the family. Being directly opposite the beach means our apartments get wonderful ocean views and I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed them.
We look forward to welcoming you all back to Carmel by the Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location. Room could do with a makeover as decor is dated. We asked for a room with a front balcony and got a room at the side. Had a view, just not the one we were expecting.
Another couple asked if they booked 8 months in advance could they have a room at the front and on a higher floor and were told that specific rooms could not be booked even if booking was made months in advance.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Yes we do have a fantastic location. We are very fortunate to enjoy the best of both worlds as we are far enough out of the dining precinct to be nice and peaceful but close enough to walk in for those who wish to.
I apologise that you were not satisfied with your apartment décor. Each apartment is individually owned and subsequently are individual in style. We have some modern and urban styling and some more beachy and fresh. Whilst we are not always able to lock in a specific apartment, we are happy to take requests and will always make the effort to try to match you with the apartment closest to your request. We avoid locking in specific apartments to avoid disappointing our guests in the case of apartments being sold, owners staying in house or other unforeseen circumstances. Please feel free to contact me at the resort when you make your next booking and I will ensure we are able to provide you with an apartment that suits your needs and taste for your next stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

2 bedroom apartment on 5th floor... older style building so the apartment was absolutely massive!Decor was fine. View amazing. Location was also really good.... right across road from the beach and close to the broadbeach shops. Huge in room spa with view. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for your kind words reviewing Carmel by the Sea.
It sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We are very fortunate to have such spacious apartments. This is one of the benefits of staying with a resort like Carmel by the Sea. I am sure you would agree that the facilities are generous and well maintained. They provide the perfect backdrop to avoid the hustle and bustle if that's what you are looking for. As you mentioned, the Broadbeach hub is a short walk away and the beach is just over the road. There really is no better spot to be!
Contact our reception when making your next booking for the best available rate and your return guest discount. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel By The Sea

Address: 177 Old Burleigh Road, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
#8 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Broadbeach, just paces from the golden sands of the beach, Carmel By The Sea offers spacious and contemporary apartments close to all that the Gold Coast has to offer.With an ideal location and a superb range of guest facilities including two swimming pools, an indoor heated spa, sauna and steam room, our penthouse accommodation Gold Coast has everything you need to relax and recharge.We offer a choice of one, two and three bedroom Gold Coast self contained apartments, each of which features a large balcony with stunning ocean or hinterland views.We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel By The Sea Hotel Broadbeach
Carmel By The Sea Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.