We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay clear ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carmel By The Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Carmel By The Sea to your Saves list
Carmel By The Sea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   177 Old Burleigh Road, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Broadbeach
Shepparton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible stay clear ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Went there in 2008 Was a beautiful room great view within walking distance of the beach very clean and well tended to but after the stuff up with our original room we booked the staff gave us another room but were very rude to us and treated us badly. Defintely wouldn't recommend staying there

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
It sounds as though it has been some time since your last stay with us at Carmel by the Sea and we invite you back to experience the resort as it currently is. The building has a new management team since your last stay and you will find the current management team is highly attentive to guest needs and places customer services as top priority. We are very proud of our wonderful facilities and excellent location and we aim to exceed all expectations for guests staying at Carmel by the Sea.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Carmel by the Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    32
    11
    12
    5
See reviews for
74
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have stayed at Carmel twice now - first time in a three bedroom unit and last time in a two bedroom unit and cannot fault. Units are well equipped, very clean and have awesome views being directly opposite beach (would be up there as one of the best positioned complexes in Broadbeach). The outdoor pool is great with a wading pool for smaller kids and the the indoor pool was a blessing on our first trip due to the worst weather I have ever encountered in 20 years of visiting the gold coast. The general grounds are well kept and BBQ area is immaculate and clean. Staff have always been pleasant and helpful and overall complex is well managed . The park opposite caters for kids of various ages and it is only a short stroll to the Oasis shopping centre (Pacific Fair is also walking distance), restaurants, etc. Having stayed at one of the "kid/family" resorts in the area, there is no comparison for value for money. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
It sounds as though you are a highly loyal guest and we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Carmel by the Sea does have fantastic facilities and we work hard to ensure they are well maintained for our guests.The pools, sauna, steam room, spa, tennis courts and barbecue areas are very popular with families. With the park directly opposite and cafes within walking distance, there is no need to contend with traffic on your Carmel by the Sea holiday.
Thank you once again for your loyalty. Remember to ask our friendly reservations staff for your return guest discount when booking your next stay.
We look forward to welcoming you to Carmel by the Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobram, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

What else do you need. Park across the road. Patrolled beach at your door step. 2 streets walk to Broadbeach cafés and restaurants. 10 minute walk to Pacific Fair shopping.
We had an 16th floor ocean view apartment with amazing views as promised. The apparent was huge we where not squashed in. Clean and modern although signs of wear and tare. We even had an ocean view from our bathroom. I would highly recommend this place for a family you could not go wrong. Perfect. We would not stay anywhere else. Great pool indoor and out. Friendly staff even friendly permanent residents. Don't bother staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Carmel by the Sea.
It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your time here with us. We are certainly fortunate to have such a wonderful location - just far enough away from the hustle and bustle to be peaceful but close enough to walk in to enjoy the wonderful shopping, cafes and restaurants offered by Broadbeach. It is quite a unique feature to have ocean views from your in-room spa bath and I am pleased you enjoyed the views.
We hope you and your family had a safe trip home and we look forward to welcoming you back to Carmel by the Sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I was part of a bucks weekend that stayed in 2 of the 3 bedroom apartments and to be fair I did not book the rooms so I am unaware of the cost or if the management were told it was a bucks weekend but the lady who checked us in was rude and said some of the apartments are privately owned so we must be quiet.

Yes, we were loud, broke a couple of glasses and spilt a drink in the foyer of our level but we did not 'populate' the rooms as we were accused of. There were 6 of us in each room and for the life of us we could not convince her otherwise so it was not a very pleasant experience when we passed her in the complex.

The bathrooms were not very clean and the room looked like a rental but had great views and terrific location especially with the great food at the nearby surf club.

We made sure the lady checked our rooms when we checked out and they were spotless with all rubbish and recycling moved out of the room and she was very surprised.

I don't think I would take the wife there due to bathrooms, we have stayed at caravan parks with lees mould.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Carmel by the Sea. I am glad you made full use of our wonderful location. Thank you for ensuring your apartment was tidy upon your departure.

I apologise if the bathroom was sub-standard in cleanliness. We do take pride in ensuring the apartments are impeccably clean. Anything less will be attended to immediately by our housekeeping staff. We would have gladly re-cleaned the bathroom and eliminated any mould had you advised us of the issue whilst you were in-house.

Carmel by the Sea does have a no party policy which we notify all guests of on arrival so this was in no way a personal attack on your group. We do hope it did not offend anyone. This procedure eliminates any confusion regarding the measures taken if parties do occur. The staff member you spoke with on arrival was correct in saying there are owners, residents and other guests to consider when staying. We simply ask that you respect others as well as the apartment and facilities as Carmel by the Sea is a family friendly environment.

Being loud, breaking glassware, drinking in common areas in general and spilling drinks in the foyer is probably below the expectations we have of our guests so I am sure that you can understand how this may have disappointed management to some degree, particularly given that the staff had notified you of the 'house rules'. Carmel by the Sea offers a comfortable and peaceful environment for all guests and such behaviour does run somewhat contrary to this.

I do thank you for taking the time to review Carmel by the Sea. We appreciate all feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed there for the whole duration of a 4 day conference. The apartment was clean and spacious. All the things we needed were provided. Bathrooms were clean. The furnishing was fresh and practical. There are indoor and outdoor swimming pool and sauna. The see view was fantastic and infinite. I loved being woking up by the rising sun. The location was great and there were many restaurants to choose from. The reception staff were helpful and polite. I shall come back again.

Room Tip: There are sound systems in the apartment which connects and charges iphones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Carmel by the Sea. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We take pride in providing a high standard of cleanliness in the apartments, bathrooms and common area facilities.
Our staff are well trained and enjoy working in such a pleasant and beautiful environment. The ocean views are unbeatable!
We genuinely look forward to welcoming you back whether it be for business or pleasure next time (although we do suggest pleasure!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My experience with this property was absolutely delightful, the management and staff was outstanding, professional, courteous, knowledge of everything to help us enjoy our stay, plus free 8 hours wi fi, room was clean, great views, I would not hesitate to stay there again, heated indoor pool, spa, great tennis court and BBQ area which the kids loved, close to everything in Broadbeach. Loved the spa in the ensuite, great price. This hotel had everything you wanted for a great holiday

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom right in the middle of the building, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Carmel by the Sea.
It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that our facilities & staff met your expectations. We are certainly lucky to have such a wonderful location with the beach right opposite our building. Broadbeach is such a wonderful area to holiday and our staff are always happy to provide local knowledge on activities to highlight the best that the Gold Coast has to offer - that is of course if you can bear to leave the comfort of your apartment!
Deborah we look forward to welcoming you back. Don't forget to book direct with reception to receive a wonderful return guest rate in appreciation of your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Unfortunately, this review will focus predominantly on the actions of the manager during our stay on the 31st August 2013.

Our group had a room booked for the 31st August 2013. The manager was made aware that this booking was for a hen’s night and, by all means, my group and I completely intended on staying respectful in terms of noise level throughout the entire stay.

Upon arrival we parked in the 10 minute loading zone to drop off our belongings and got the lift to our floor. The female manager waited for our group outside of the lift and, to our shock, proceeded to advise us that she has no time for individuals like us, that we must pay her $100 if she is called for a noise complaint AND she will not hesitate to contact the police if the afore mentioned occurs. The disgustingly abrupt manager felt the need to then repeat herself several times, each time with a more condescending and rude tone. The manager then proceeded to advise us that our car must be moved immediately, despite the fact that the space is clearly marked as a 10 minute zone and we had been there no more then 5 minutes.

There are several issues with this incident. Firstly, the fact that the manager felt the need to talk TO us rather then WITH us. Secondly, this was the experience we had within the first 5 minutes of being in the hotel, therefore all previous impressions and delight over the hotel itself had been completely wiped by the actions of this manager. Finally, and more pertinent then the previous two, the fact that the manager made assumptions over the conduct of our group and proceeded to lecture us on said assumptions before we even reached the front door of our hotel room.

Whilst I can appreciate that Hens gatherings are notoriously loud, this; in no way, gave the manager the right to treat our group in the manner and regard as she did.

The outright display and disregard for our group, who had paid a significant sum to stay there, was nothing short of disrespectful, disgusting and unjustified.

As a frequent hotel stayer, particularly in QLD, I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone and would go so far as to say I will be letting friends, family and like minded travellers to stay away from this venue due to the managers lack of respect for paying guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary F, Front Office Manager at Carmel By The Sea, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Carmel by the Sea.

I understand you are not happy with your encounter with one of the managers. Firstly I do apologise that it upset and offended you. It is never our intention to vilify guests however you are correct in saying that Hen’s groups do have a poor reputation.
For that reason, at Carmel by the Sea we do not accept party groups as a rule of thumb. We have guests and residents to consider and find it much more effective to advise groups of our no party policy before they are in the middle of one. The manager saw members of your group with jello-shots and party paraphernalia and thus wanted to ensure you knew that we have a strict NO PARTY POLICY.
The car park is strictly monitored by Body Corporate and as such the managers are required to enforce the strict conditions. You will find this is the case in the majority of resort car parks.
Overall, in this circumstance the manager you refer to did not intend to offend you and does not feel that the steps taken to preserve the peace at Carmel by the Sea were excessive. We pride ourselves on providing a pleasant and enjoyable atmosphere for all and unfortunately this is sometimes to the detriment of party-goers plans.
Again, I apologise for any inconvenience caused to your group however we do take measures to enforce our no party policy for maximum guest comfort. Rest assured Management do respect the rights of all guests and do their utmost best to ensure a peaceful stay for all.
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmel By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel By The Sea

Address: 177 Old Burleigh Road, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#8 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the heart of Broadbeach, just paces from the golden sands of the beach, Carmel By The Sea offers spacious and contemporary apartments close to all that the Gold Coast has to offer.With an ideal location and a superb range of guest facilities including two swimming pools, an indoor heated spa, sauna and steam room, our penthouse accommodation Gold Coast has everything you need to relax and recharge.We offer a choice of one, two and three bedroom Gold Coast self contained apartments, each of which features a large balcony with stunning ocean or hinterland views.We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Carmel By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel By The Sea Hotel Broadbeach
Carmel By The Sea Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmel By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.