We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very smelly apartment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boulevard North Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boulevard North Apartments to your Saves list
Boulevard North Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   35 Broadbeach Boulevard, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very smelly apartment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012 via mobile

It's not worth it, bed sheet & rooms are smelly. Bed sheets covers have alot of pen & texture mark. The photos in the website looks better than what it is. Rooms & bathrooms are very small.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    32
    10
    6
    15
See reviews for
31
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We booked this Hotel online from the hotels own website. Pictures of the units and the Location of the unit looked perfect for us. Good standard, close to the beach. We thought this was going to be a really nice Christmas getaway.

As soon as we unlocked the door to our unit we got a big shock. It felt like you where inhaling air through a vacuum cleaner bag. I have never experienced anything like it. I have been to hostels/hotels/apartments throughout the world with all sort of standards, but this was different. It felt like the place hadn’t had a proper clean for years. The unit had an old carpet
throughout that had a 0.5-1.5 cm layer of dust on it by the walls and in the corners. It was badly stained as well throughout the unit. Walls are badly stained throughout the unit. Dead insects are stuck to windows and walls. Dirty stains are in shelves in bathroom, bedroom,
kitchen and living room. These stains weren’t permanent and could easily be removed by the cleaners. Moldy stains on tables from not being cleaned. Blood stains on shower. Most of the shelves and decorations where full of dust. Dust and dirt on the top part of the couch back.

Toilet smells like old urine.

We didn’t mind that the apartment was older style, this would have been fine as long as the apartment had been clean.

I confronted the manager after our first night and told him that I did not think the carpets had been cleaned for years. He got quite angry and told me that was not true. He was not interested in discussing this further.

We had a check on TripAdvisor, which is something that we wished we had done before we actually booked the hotel. They have some amazing reviews and some bad ones. The bad ones are confirming how our experience has been on Boulevard North.

We believe that this is false advertising you are definitely paying for something that you are not getting. On Boulevard North’s website you can choose between aircon apartments and apartments without.
We where told that if we wanted a refurbished apartment we had to pay more. Nowhere on the website when we booked was this stated.

If I had the choice between dirty, moldy old apartment and new apartment, would have chosen new any day of the week.

My girlfriend had to take 2 antihistamines a day to fight of the dust in the apartment. This place is a health hazard.

We left the place 1 day early without getting a refund because we couldn’t take staying there any longer.

Please look at the posted photographs state of the place.

Room Tip: Do not book this place, but if you do, make sure to contact the managers and MAKE SURE you get a cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Very minimal effort and help provided by managers of these apartmnts on our weekly stay. Nothing was explained on our arrival-we soon worked out that our key also accessed front gate near pool etcc.Who doesn't raise their head and acknowledge guests as they come through the foyer. Truly, the managers are in the wrong business. Had to run out and buy starter pack of dishwash soap and toilet rolls. bit ridiculous really at $400/night. I'd say we much prefer serviced apartments. Stay somehwere else unless the price is slashed!!

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Thanks Ray and margaret for making our stay at Boulevarde North perfect nothing to much trouble and as usual a lovely apartment overlooking the beach and the sportsfield everything in the apt nice and clean and comfortable. We have stayed here many times in the past we like it here because it is easy to get out and about via bus which is a 5 minute walk to on surf parade 10 minutes walk to the Oasis complex via Broadbeach blvd along the sea front easy access from there to Pacific Fair and the Cassino . When we return to the apt after a day out there is the lovely warm pool ,bbq facility, and even a sauna , or tennis to enjoy, or of course just cross the rd to the beach for a swim in the ocean we recommend all to give it a try Ray and Margaret are sure to look after you be it for 2 days or 2 weeks

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I booked a budget two nights, one bedroom apartment. Despite the apartments being older style, they were spotlessly clean, spacious, had everything we needed, close to shops and everything and right on the beach with wonderful views over the ocean.
The couple who manage the apartments were very helpful and polite and went out of their way to change dates for future bookings i had with them.
Overall i was impressed at the price, facilities and position.

Room Tip: i think they all have ocean views but check first. Some apartments have air con and some dont...exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We recently stayed at Boulevarde North at Broadbeach. What a delightful place. Our room had the best views straight across the beach and ocean and the facilities were excellent. Thanks to managers Ray and Margaret for making our stay so enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble for them and we would thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

After staying here numerous times was surprised at some of the comments. I have always found Margaret and Ray helpful, but they arent typical gushy hotel staff. The Pool and grounds are kept impeccable. The apartments are serviced once a week. The apartments are individually owned so some are difinitely better than other. The units have the most spectacular views, its straight across from the beach. 10 minutes flat walk to the shops and 3 minutes walk to surf parade where you can catch a bus to anywhere on the coast

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boulevard North Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boulevard North Apartments

Address: 35 Broadbeach Boulevard, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boulevard North Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Boulevard North Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boulevard North Apartments Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulevard North Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.