We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and perfectly acceptable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadbeach Savannah Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Broadbeach Savannah Resort to your Saves list
Broadbeach Savannah Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   46 Surf Parade, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Savannah)   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Convenient and perfectly acceptable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night for my sons 4th birthday as he wanted a hotel with a spa bath in the room. It was very convenient to jupiters where we met friends for his birthday dinner. It was also close to Broadbeach shops, restrurants, parks and the beach.

The room was set up in a very practical way with a corridor to enter that led either into the bedroom to the left or straight ahead into the living space. The living space included couch seating for three, coffee table, breakfast bench with two stools, full sized fridge, bench space, oven, microwave, flat screen tv. There was also a good sized balcony with table and 4 chairs. It is rare to have all these facilities in a property who do allow one night bookings.

The bedroom could be open to the living space or could also be closed off with sliding doors. It contained bedside tables with lamps (one had a blown bulb but this did not trouble us) and a king zip bed. Bit lumpy in the middle but we slept fine. Plenty of blankets supplied. There was also a small cupboard. Room was quiet.

The bathroom was off from the bedroom and contained a regular size bath with spa jets and shower over, good sized vanity and toilet in a little nook. Again a practical design. The toilet seat was very loose. towels supplied were of a decent size not the midget ones hotels often have. The ventilation must be good as we used the spa 3 times in the 20 hours we were in the room and our towels dried completely each time just hanging in the bathroom.

Service was friendly on checkin and out and at breakfast.

Parking was secure and directly underneath. The hotel was booked out but we had no trouble getting a park and it took less than a minute to get from our room to our car.

Breakfast was quite varied and good in spots. Some of the food was sitting for a long time as it was not very busy. Quite a lot of it could have been hotter but it was fine and included free anyway so I should not complain.

For $130 through wotif it was reasonable (for Australian prices) especially as the two breakfasts are included. Very few hotels at this price offer a spa so that was our main reason for choosing it this time as well as location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    41
    39
    28
    45
See reviews for
25
77
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We to stayed at the savannah.Compared to other places I have stayed at I would not rate this with 4 stars. The Bathroom was very dated and tiles quite moldy the exacter fan did not work. The bed was comfortable and bedding of good quantity. We were cold as no heater and could not get austar or cable on the t.v as advertised.When I rang down to ask I was told not all rooms can get it.We cooked a steak on the stove and did not cause much smoke at all next thing smoke detector went of causing a chain reaction to the rooms beside ours. The receptionist came up to check it out and said when you cook you need to open the balcony door and let the cold air in to prevent smoke alarm reacting. The breakfast was average. The car parking thing was another stress as the car park at the savannah only fitted a certain number of cars as there was alot more cars than parks I had to find off street parking that did not cost money and walk from where I parked to the savannah leaving my car over night in the street hoping it would be safe and not broken into.I would not stay here again would rather pay $40 more and stay somewhere a bit better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Staff seemed a bit 'up themselves'. The room was very outdated but had some good facilities like kitchenette and barstyle bench. Our room price included breakfast was your standard deal including cereal and hot food. The second day the kitchen staff could not keep up with the hot food supply and we missed out on some of our breakfast. Location was good but would not stay here again unless updated.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

We asked for a room with a view and we certainly got it - on the 13th floor! A great location for a moderate cost. Yes the breakfast was not a great standard, but what do you expect for a buffet for $10! The studio room was compact but had everything necessary, including a kitchenette and a balcony with table and chairs. And two showers - one over the spa bath. The lighting in the bathroom was a bit dim, although it gradually brightened as it must have been a power saving lamp, and it could have done with a fan. Minor issues that would not stop me recommending the hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at the Savannah over the recent Queens Birthday long weekend. Location was awesome for the main purpose of the trip[ which was to see the Saints play at Metricon Stadium. 3 min walk to the bus pickup so therefore the same to the centre of Broadbeach. An easy walk also to Pacific Fair
The room? We had a spa studio which was a perfectly adequate size for our stay. Theres been comments previously on the bathroom though and we can only add to those. A weird design and not overly user friendly. Even with a bar to hold, the step down from the spa bath to the floor in a slippery environment is a broken limb waiting to happen. The complete lack of any exhaust fan is also bewildering and will only lead to more lould sooner rather than later
The bed was comfy enough but was only made up with a sheet and (not very clean) bedspread upon arrival. We had to get a blanket from the cupboard and make it up oursleves as the weather wasnt exactly the height of summer.

We read previous reports of the breakfast so opted for heading into Broadbeach.

Service was fine and friendly..BUT..we also had the experience of someone knocking on the door at around lunchtime claiming to be making up the room. I suspect the company contracted to do this knocks on doors in the hope of getting people to say yes, then charging the $15 that the hotel does tell you is the "during stay" room service charge. happy to be shown to be wrong

Overall, the lcoation was great but theres a zillion other options within a fewe hundred meters..will prolly try another should be have the need to stay in Broadbeach again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Savannah is THE resort to stay in if you are on a tight BUDGET. Keep an eye out on wotif for regular speacial deals.

The studio rooms are the smallest in Broadbeach, but have most of what you need for a budget stay, although the televisions are quite old now. Staying here for more than 2-3 nights would start to get claustrophobic.

We experienced one of the hardest beds we've ever slept on, but also 2 other good beds in the last couple of years - it seem hit and miss.

The pool and spa are pleasant, and the breakfast has all you need to get started for the day.

Conveniently located mid-way between the Oasis/Broadbeach shops and eateries and Pacific Fair/Casino, and ashort stroll to the beach - its location is very good.

Room Tip: Get a room above level 7 to ensure an ocean view. A room on the eastern side will minimise the traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We got our room via the internet, good value for what we paid for, however upon reception we decided to opp for the breakfast in the morning....what a mistake! As for the room and location, you can't fault it. Its walking distance to major shopping centres, casino and entertainment spots..The room was clean and cooking amenities where all in good clean order. There's not enough room for all guests to park in the underneath secure parking, so if you dont get there early or have a big car, don't bother..Mind you, when we parked below, next to the elevators was a old washing machine, old bedding and a pile of rubbish, which didn't smell or look very appealing.
Our main disappointment was the breakfast..Although only $10, its not worth it, and was by far the worst one we have ever had. The bacon was a spam/jerky substitute that was uneatable, no one we saw ate it, and left it on their plates.Eggs if you were lucky to get any were runny and tasteless. There was one poor chief doing all the cooking on a single small frying pan, every time you saw him he was running to try and replenish the empty hot plates, or you saw him rinsing out the frying pan to cook something else. ( there were around 30 people in the restaurant when we ate, and everything was constantly empty.) so in hindsight we paid $10 for a glass of juice, luke warm milk and cereal...Eating at the restaurant would have been nice if their weren't so many flies, and cigarette butts floating in the water that ran through the restaurant / reception area. So great location and price, ...just dont get the breakfast.

Room Tip: Get it on the internet to get a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadbeach Savannah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadbeach Savannah Resort

Address: 46 Surf Parade, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Savannah)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Broadbeach Savannah Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah Resort is located at the heart of Broadbeach, the cosmopolitan hub of Queensland's fabled Gold Coast. It is perfectly positioned, and within a short walk are the casino, two big shopping centres, the restaurants and cafes of Broadbeach, and not forgetting one of the Gold Coasts most superb stretches of beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Broadbeach Savannah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadbeach Savannah Hotel Broadbeach
Savannah Hotel Broadbeach
Savannah Resort Broadbeach
Broadbeach Savannah Resort Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadbeach Savannah Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.