We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pools, garden and location, apartment needs maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BreakFree Diamond Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BreakFree Diamond Beach to your Saves list
BreakFree Diamond Beach
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   10-16 Alexandra Avenue, Broadbeach, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Diamond Beach Resort )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Broadbeach
Dalby, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pools, garden and location, apartment needs maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I chose to stay at the Diamond Beach Resort despite the many negative reviews on Trip Advisor. As suggested I requested a ground floor, renovated apartment. Well at least it was on the ground floor (apartment 97). When we were leaving we handed reception a long list of maintenance issues we discovered. Firstly the front screens doors did not close properly and were not able to be locked. We had to fix the toilet lid as it was very loose. The lightbulb above the dining table was blown and needed replacing. The taps in the bathroom were hard to turn off and on (believe they may need new washers). A power point in the kitchen sparked when we turned it off and lastly the fans and the bathroom vents were very dirty and in need of a clean.

However, the location was very nice in a quiet street within a short walk to the beach and the pool facilities including poolside toilets, showers and bbq facilities were excellent. There is one heated and one non heated pool and two spas plus an awesome kiddies wading pool area with water sprayers. The pool facilities are open until 10 pm so you can go night swimming if you wish. I would probably stay here again just for the pool. The apartment was just so so but not totally horrible. In both bathrooms the door opened it onto the toilet and there was stoppers on the door to avoid damage to the toilet! Another thing I thought was a poor idea was glass furniture (table and coffee table) in a two bedroom apartment, not really a great idea for families with kids.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear spenderella2014,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your stay at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I was disappointed to read of your concerns with your accommodation and sincerely apologise that your holiday was not as you had hoped it would be.

There is certainly no excuse for poor maintenance in your allocated apartment and for this I offer our sincere apologies. All of these listed concerns should have been picked up and attended to prior to your arrival and we once again offer our apologies that this has not occurred.

Although we understand your concerns with your apartment it is reassuring that you were still able to enjoy the facilities of the resort and that your holiday was an enjoyable one.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    135
    69
    41
    37
See reviews for
287
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a great time. Great for families. Shops and Restaurants close by, 3 minute walk to the Beach. Unit was very nice (Unit 56). Furniture and unit set up very nice, clean. Security very good as front gates locked. Units are serviced and they will put a letter under the door to let you know when cleaning will take place. Front office friendly and very helpful. I seen some of the reviews before we booked and was not sure what to expect but nothing to worry about we had a great time and had a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Swichef,

Thank you for your great review! I am so pleased that you found our resort to be ideally located and well set up for your family holiday.

Unit 56 is a beautiful apartment to which the owner has recently completed further upgrade works to. Security is important to us here at Diamond Beach as it is imperative that our families feel secure whilst staying with us, thank you for your kind comments regarding this.

Thank you again for your great review and we hope to welcome you back again soon for another great stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach resort.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Pool area is great but kids hog the jacuzzi even though they are not supposed to be in it

Rooms and bathrooms were very outdated as was all the cutlery and crockery. Reception was helpful. Parking was so confusing as it was not in numerical order so we drove around for ages trying to find the right bay

Good place to stay with kids if you are on a budget. View from window was of this seedy block of flats

Room Tip: Pool side rooms were much better quality and up to date
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Jodi R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort. I sincerely apologise that your stay with us was met with challenges and your accommodation did not meet your expectations.

I note your stay was in March of last year and can provide full assurance that since your stay with us the resort had some fantastic refurbishment works to not only our rooms but also the grounds in the resort. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and restore your faith in our beautiful resort.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed with our 9 month old son just before Christmas and cannot complain about anything. The location is perfect, the pool area was great and the staff were all so helpful and polite.
I have seen some bad reviews on here but would have to think that these people are looking too hard for something wrong instead of enjoying all that the resort has to offer.
Will definitely be back

Room Tip: Book in low season not school holidays and Christmas new years
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear jessica0777,

Thank you for posting your great review on your stay with us at BreakFree Diamond Beach Resort.

I must agree, it is disappointing to read some of the mixed reviews on our resort as I truly believe we offer a unique and beautiful property here at Diamond Beach.

I am so pleased that your stay with your 9 month old son was well enjoyed and that you found the location to be well suited for your family.

Thank you again for posting your review and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another great stay with us in the future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goondiwindi, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Upon arrival we had wet bed and carpet due to a window left opened by cleaners. Rubbish left in unit by previous guests. Room dirty and dusty. Stairwell dirty and not vacuumed in some time. Taps that would not turn off. Dated bathrooms. Unable to use dishwasher as it leaked all over carpet and would flick our power off. Complained to reception which was just a waste of time. Had to write a letter to head office to reach the manger, once she was aware of problems was very helpful and apologetic. However I still paid full price for a room that basically was unenjoyable. Most problems were fixed by day 4 of our stay. On the good side the grounds and the pool were AWESOME!!! and the location excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Jenny C,

Thank you for sharing your review on our holiday at Diamond Beach Resort.

I appreciate you allowing me to correspond with you directly during your stay and to provide some reassurance for you. I was so very disappointed to hear of your concerns and appreciated the opportunity to rectify your concerns whilst you were staying with us. I am pleased that the reminder of your stay was enjoyable that you found the location to be excellent and the pools to be ‘awesome’.

Thank you again for sharing your review and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We booked this placed based on the pool and location. Very happy with both of those. The unit was disappointment. Despite being a great size (2 separate bedrooms and living) it was very dated and in need of renovation. Lamps were broken and some mould in the bathrooms. Shower pressure was terrible. There was no air conditioning but we were comfortable with the room fans. For the price paid, I would have expected better.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Murry L,

Thank you for posting your review on your stay at BreakFree Diamond Beach.

It was disappointing to read of your overall dissatisfaction with your apartment and the lack of refurbishment. Items listed in your review of the broken lamp and mould in the bathrooms should have been attended to prior to your arrival under our strict room inspections and I sincerely apologise that this did not occur.

I am pleased to hear that the location of the resort and the facilities were a postive for your stay and can provide assurance that your valuable feedback will be shared with our team to ensure our strict levels are met at all times.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very expensive for what it is.

Reception not as friendly or welcoming as one would think a resort would do to a new guest. Arriving 1hr early seemed to be a very big problem. I was made to feel unwelcome upon arrival, thats probably the best way to say it. Rooms terribly archaic, well past the time needed for refurbishment. When I stayed, the place was full, and my my yes it was full and crowded - almost like there are too many rooms for the facilities and pool area. The various families seem to holiday in "packs", and then seemed to stake their territory at the pool side by 7am by arranging and putting gear ion deck chairs, then disappearing for most of the day without using them. Noisy. Movie channels don't work, TVs old, lights not working or bulbs blown.

What good can I say? The grounds are maintained very well. The pool design and layout is great. Close to the beach and shopping centre.

Room Tip: ask for renovated room poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RebeccaNoyes, General Manager at BreakFree Diamond Beach, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Big T,

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay at Diamond Beach.

I was shocked to read of your concerns encounted on check in with the resort and that reception staff did not make you feel welcome. Our customer service is an area we pride ourselves on and it is alarming that your first interaction with our team was not to a high standard.

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with your apartment and that it did not meet your expectation. Your stay with us was during a very busy school holiday period and our popular pool areas do achieve strong use over these periods. We do discourage guests from reserving lounges in this area, if they are not utilising them they must ensure that they are available for other guest use. I do apologise if this impacted on your stay with us.

I do thank you for your time in sharing your review and once again apologise for your disappointing stay. I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your faith in our beautiful resort.

Kind regards,

Rebecca Noyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BreakFree Diamond Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BreakFree Diamond Beach

Address: 10-16 Alexandra Avenue, Broadbeach, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Diamond Beach Resort )
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BreakFree Diamond Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diamond Beach Resort Broadbeach, the best in Gold Coast holiday accommodation. Our self-contained holiday apartments guarantee all the accommodation comforts of home, our sun drenched lagoon style pools and lush tropical landscapes will provide a fun and relaxing atmosphere for your Gold Coast vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BreakFree Diamond Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfree Diamond Beach Hotel Broadbeach
Diamond Beach Hotel
Diamond Beach Broadbeach
BreakFree Diamond Beach Broadbeach, Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BreakFree Diamond Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.