We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We come here for the views and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceana on Broadbeach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Oceana on Broadbeach to your Saves list
Oceana on Broadbeach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Old Burleigh Road, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Broadbeach
biloela
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We come here for the views and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was our fourth visit and as usual the quality of the sub penthouse with its space, layout and excellent views was very high. However, for the money we pay we do expect the units to be very clean and in our case we had to mop and vacuum the kitchen. The cleanliness of the unit was a problem last time we stayed as well. Our family of 5 prides itself on leaving a unit as clean as possible when we leave and this makes us a bit fussy on the cleanliness of the unit when we arrive. Had some trouble with some flat remote TV batteries and the last tenants having set the A/C to 30 degrees but apart from that we had a very enjoyable family holiday. Did not appreciate the baby in the spa without the nappy but its hard to get some people to respect the rights of others. A big plus for oceana is its location, close to shops, good coffee shop and cafe next door, BWS shop and walking distance to Broadbeach restaurants. Almost absolute beachfront and best for us are the views with regular sightings of whales in the bay. If they get better cleaners the place would be almost perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    68
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
127
68
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Twyford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have stayed at this property 4 times over the past 5 years. Again it exceeded all our expectations. It always impresses us with the very high standard of maintenance around the entire property, the apartments, common areas, pool, car park and BBQ’s are excellent and a credit to the managers.
Our apartment this time was number 15 on the 4th floor, a spacious 2 bedroom apartment with tiled floors for ease of cleaning compared to earlier apartments with fully carpeted floors. The audio visual equipment has been upgraded since our last stay almost 2 years ago. We had 2 minor issues ( no dust pan when I dropped a glass on the patio)with the apartment which were rectified within minutes.
While many booking agents have the Oceania on their books I have found booking directly the most convenient. On this occasion it was during school holidays and we could not meet the minimum stay requirements... one short call and it was all sorted. When searching the web make sure you look for Oceania official web site it is labelled (the official Web site) to get the best attention.

Highly recommended and we will be back........

Room Tip: In my opinion book direct, you can discuss available apartments, floors and views to suit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Oceana was brilliant. We stayed in the sub penthouse which was really lovely. Awesome views from every balcony. Extremely roomy, bright, and comfortable. Would definitely stay again. The apartments are well located to shops, restaurants and the beach. We are a family of five who thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I agree with Luka01 - "mixed bag" - we stayed in the 4 bedroom penthouse which was pricey and therefore expected something special - it didnt really deliver. Penthouse appeared clean if you didnt look closely - cigarette butts down back of couch cushions was not a great find! The barest of amenities were provided and reception assistance was not helpful. On the plus side, great location, quiet, pool area was excellent, bbq area very clean, good restaurant/coffee house, liquor outlet across the road, within walking distance to broadbeach restaurants/shops, well secured premises. I think I could probably get accommodation just as good for a better price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Had a lovely stay at Oceana on Broadbeach . The rooms are very spacious, and have great views of the Hinterland and the ocean. It's only a 10 minute stroll to the Northcliffe Surf Life saving club for good reasonably priced meals. Surfer's Paradise is only a 15 minute walk away. Oceana is well located , it is close to everthing, but the noise level is low enough to have a relaxing holiday. Fantastic heated pool set in beautiful private gardens. Great views of all the surrounding lights at night .Only complaint was the fact that the hotel only gave you 2 bathtowels on check in to last you the week and then expected you to pay $3 each for any extra towels required.I feel that the cost of the tariff should have included fresh towels daily.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room high enough to obtain an ocean view. Take your own towels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I recently spent 8 nights at Oceana on Broadbeach with my 9 year old daughter and a friend and her 12 year old son. We decided on Oceana through favourable reviews on Trip Advisor. We made some direct contact with them to ensure that our apartment was exactly what we were looking for. In general it was what we had asked for, fabulous ocean views, spacious, light and airy. Unfortunately the condition and cleanliness of it was not what we expected for the $$ that we spent. The carpets were in need of a clean, walls were in need of being painted or at least cleaned and whilst on the surface it appeared clean, on closer examination it wasn't - drawers needed a vaccum, curtains had cobwebs etc. The sheets on the bed in the master bedroom were too small for the bed and when we spoke to the reception staff about it we were told that they would try and sort it. When the bedding was changed part way through the stay the sheet size remained the same - very strange.

The pool area is fabulous and the kids thorougly enjoyed every bit of the time that they spent there. A little unfortunate that all the signs around the area are all about don't do this and don't do that. How about something like, 'enjoy these facilities and have a great time".

Our experiences of the receptionist were extremely disappointing. I expected that we would be able to source some advice on the best ways to catch a bus to the theme parks and generally on travelling around the area. The receptionist that we spoke to couldn't even point us in the direction of where to catch the bus from, let alone what would be the best option in buying a travel pass. Further, the same receptionist charged my friend $3 for an extra towel and wanted us to pay $1 for dishwashing liquid, toilet paper, laundry powder etc. When I went to get an extra towel and some dishwashing liquid another receptionist couldn't understand why I had my money out to pay and told me there was no need for that. This has left a very bad taste in our mouth of what is going on in this place. I certainly would expect for the $$ that this apartment cost us that extra towels and basic amenities would be provided and included in the price.

Having said all of this, overall we had a fabulous holiday, but I'm pretty confident that we could source far better value accommodation and service elsewhere and it is unlikely that I would return to Oceana.

Lola's cafe across the road was fantastic, I even managed to prise a recipe out of the owner! Great coffee, food and fabulous friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Oceana for many years, and cannot speak more highly of it.
Courteous staff, warm welcome, exceptionally clean and tidy, quiet, with fantastic views and ease of access to local amenities.

we will go again and again....John

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor with ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceana on Broadbeach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceana on Broadbeach

Address: 100 Old Burleigh Road, Broadbeach, Queensland 4218, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Broadbeach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Broadbeach
#3 Luxury Hotel in Broadbeach
#4 Family Hotel in Broadbeach
#5 Business Hotel in Broadbeach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Broadbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oceana on Broadbeach 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Oceana on Broadbeach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceana On Broadbeach Hotel Broadbeach
Oceana On Hotel Broadbeach
Gold Coast Oceana
Broadbeach Oceana On Hotel
Oceana On Broadbeach Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceana on Broadbeach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.